Galway V Mayo Connacht Final

Replying To club51:  "
Replying To Fionn:  "That was a league game - I am talking about knock out championship games... eh hello....!

You are the same poster coming onto the Dublin forum starting a topic - 6 in a Row in the Bag by the way, so less of your nonsense... well, you didnt get anyone falling for your trap then either.... so cop on...!"
It was league game that was directly after the Mayo game 2 weeks before championship against the 5 in a row all Ireland champions, Leitrim and an Ross team that failed to perform are hardly comparable .
To say they are undercooked is ridiculous and Padraig Joyce said so in an interview this week"
I think what he said from the piece I read and heard was that a team could be either undercooked or fresh. Can be one or the other and you won't know until the day. In fairness to PJ unlike some other managers he speaks as it is as opposed to sitting on the fence engaging in small talk during interviews which tells us nothing. Even for the league when we had a full deck largely he named his team early and it always lined out as is. Can't do that currently as apart from the notable absentees a few will be last minute named.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 11/11/2020 08:04:54    2307431

Replying To Fionn:  "That was a league game - I am talking about knock out championship games... eh hello....!

You are the same poster coming onto the Dublin forum starting a topic - 6 in a Row in the Bag by the way, so less of your nonsense... well, you didnt get anyone falling for your trap then either.... so cop on...!"
Yes and I see your the same poster who proposed Meath to win the all Ireland, Really?"
OMG - read my post again - I clearly said it was tongue in cheek...
Not wasting my time on you anymore.... you havent a clue...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3715 - 11/11/2020 09:11:41    2307435

Replying To giveitlong:  "Dead Rubber shadow boxing, both out of running for League Title, Both safe in Div 1, Championship 2 weeks away, nothing more than a chall game."
Exactly....!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3715 - 11/11/2020 09:14:50    2307436

Great video on Damien Comer to get you in the mood for this game Sunday. pity he will be out for it. He has had a tough couple of years with his father passing and secondary to that many injuries. [url=]https://youtu.be/nbUGpCcsje8

SlipperyDodger (Cork) - Posts: 93 - 11/11/2020 10:26:20    2307466

Replying To Fionn:  "
Replying To club51:  "[quote=Fionn:  "That was a league game - I am talking about knock out championship games... eh hello....!

Yes and I see your the same poster who proposed Meath to win the all Ireland, Really?"
OMG - read my post again - I clearly said it was tongue in cheek...
Not wasting my time on you anymore.... you havent a clue...!"]Shocked to find out that was tongue in cheek! Was really started to believe Meath would do it this year, lol

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 11/11/2020 10:52:44    2307475

It was league game that was directly after the Mayo game 2 weeks before championship against the 5 in a row all Ireland champions, Leitrim and an Ross team that failed to perform are hardly comparable .
To say they are undercooked is ridiculous and Padraig Joyce said so in an interview this week"
I think Galway need Gordon Ramsey to help out
He is great at sorting out undercooking issues
Hel read the riot act and sort out any performance issues
Perhaps turning up the heat before the Connacht final banquet
id imagine some primadonnas wil get upset
it might be hot and heavy
but if you cant stand the heat
GET OUT OF THE KITCHEN

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 11/11/2020 11:40:16    2307503

Hard to see past a 5-6 point win for Mayo, coming in with form and Galway will be undercooked, no doubt about it. It's still the auld lads doing it for Galway and although we have had underage success in the past few years, you wouldn't know from watching our senior games. All the pundits going for Mayo, which is fair, don't think they even know any Galway player other than Comer who does the media circuit more than the rest of the team.
Galway win in the hurling but the footballers, I am not so sure,

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 182 - 11/11/2020 12:05:28    2307524

There is similarities to Kerry and Mayo in the build up to this game.
Kerry beat a very poor Monaghan team and a Donegal team resting 9 players in the last two league wins for Kerry. They were tagged as the team to topple the Dubs etc. They couldn't match the intensity shown by Cork, were sloppy and got rightly beat.
Mayo had to win their last two games in the league to stay up and were flying into games fully needing wins but the reality again is that the only top team they have played in the last four games that needed a win was Tyrone and Mayo lost.
Galway were nursing players back and showed no enthusiasm for the Mayo league game as they were safe anyway. The Dublin game was a warm up match so I think Galway are sitting well at the minute. All the talk since last weekend is that Mayo are poised to meet Dublin in the AI and the possibility of them finally getting over the line but If Shane Walsh has a good game this weekend then I think Galway will win.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 11/11/2020 12:29:07    2307536

As always Meath people have a affinity to galway football dating back to the 60s. So I would like them to prevail, that been said the match against Meath this year shows me that they were not the new messiah in football, I still think this galway team are two or three years away from the pinnacle, therefore I think mayo will prevail for one last hurrah and reach a all ire final.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/11/2020 12:59:32    2307561

Replying To royaldunne:  "As always Meath people have a affinity to galway football dating back to the 60s. So I would like them to prevail, that been said the match against Meath this year shows me that they were not the new messiah in football, I still think this galway team are two or three years away from the pinnacle, therefore I think mayo will prevail for one last hurrah and reach a all ire final."
How can you say one last hurrah?

This is a completely new Mayo team this year.

Tizcold (Galway) - Posts: 239 - 11/11/2020 13:15:53    2307567

Replying To Tizcold:  "How can you say one last hurrah?

This is a completely new Mayo team this year."
Clarke, Keegan, Barrett, Boyle, Parsons, Vaughan, O Shea, Hennelly, Mc Loughlin, Higgins, are 10 players involved with Mayo this year and all have over 10 years playing now, some a lot more. I would say after this year at least 6 of above will retire.

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 391 - 11/11/2020 13:56:16    2307594

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Clarke, Keegan, Barrett, Boyle, Parsons, Vaughan, O Shea, Hennelly, Mc Loughlin, Higgins, are 10 players involved with Mayo this year and all have over 10 years playing now, some a lot more. I would say after this year at least 6 of above will retire."
Most not starting. 2 of above named are keepers. The starting 15 from 2017 final will have maybe 8 or 9 max. That's a huge turnaround of players.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7882 - 11/11/2020 14:06:54    2307599

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Clarke, Keegan, Barrett, Boyle, Parsons, Vaughan, O Shea, Hennelly, Mc Loughlin, Higgins, are 10 players involved with Mayo this year and all have over 10 years playing now, some a lot more. I would say after this year at least 6 of above will retire."
Goodman, name 10 players half of whom have not kicked a ball since the resumption.

Why not name the 10 new players who have played since football returned. - McBrien, Brickeden, McHale, Moran, Flynn, Mullin, McLaughlin, Conroy, Walsh or O'Donoghue.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 11/11/2020 14:11:05    2307603

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Most not starting. 2 of above named are keepers. The starting 15 from 2017 final will have maybe 8 or 9 max. That's a huge turnaround of players."
Exactly. This is a much-changed Mayo team from the past 5 years. The new lads seem to have brought a real freshness, while some of the main players seem to be finding their best form in a good while.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2030 - 11/11/2020 15:57:17    2307650

Replying To Tir Conaill Abu:  "There is similarities to Kerry and Mayo in the build up to this game.
Kerry beat a very poor Monaghan team and a Donegal team resting 9 players in the last two league wins for Kerry. They were tagged as the team to topple the Dubs etc. They couldn't match the intensity shown by Cork, were sloppy and got rightly beat.
Mayo had to win their last two games in the league to stay up and were flying into games fully needing wins but the reality again is that the only top team they have played in the last four games that needed a win was Tyrone and Mayo lost.
Galway were nursing players back and showed no enthusiasm for the Mayo league game as they were safe anyway. The Dublin game was a warm up match so I think Galway are sitting well at the minute. All the talk since last weekend is that Mayo are poised to meet Dublin in the AI and the possibility of them finally getting over the line but If Shane Walsh has a good game this weekend then I think Galway will win."
I understand what you are saying but one man won't win this game for Galway, I think Mayo are a better team now than the team of 4 or 5 years ago, they have better forwards despite losing Andy Moran,
how they deploy Aidan O'Shea will and how he plays will have a big influence on the game, I'd leave him in at the edge of the square and fire in plenty of high ball for him, he'd cause havoc in there, out the field he's not near as effective.
Mayo to win here and could be by ALOT.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2733 - 11/11/2020 16:27:55    2307667

First Galway v Mayo Connacht final for 6 years and that was a very comfortable 7 point win for Mayo who was up against a Mulholland managed Galway team that was easy to score against and easy to beat.

A lot of hype about P Joyce as manager, brought a lot of it onto himself by saying Galway will be training for All Ireland final when appointed but Sunday will prove if he's any better than Mulholland especially defensively. I think the answer will be no and Mayo will win comfortably scoring in the region of 3-14 again.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 11/11/2020 17:13:53    2307682

Replying To Yondu:  "First Galway v Mayo Connacht final for 6 years and that was a very comfortable 7 point win for Mayo who was up against a Mulholland managed Galway team that was easy to score against and easy to beat.

A lot of hype about P Joyce as manager, brought a lot of it onto himself by saying Galway will be training for All Ireland final when appointed but Sunday will prove if he's any better than Mulholland especially defensively. I think the answer will be no and Mayo will win comfortably scoring in the region of 3-14 again."
I would think every counties goal would be the All Ireland. I like them so far under him. I'd give him a bit more time due to this weird year.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2111 - 11/11/2020 17:42:51    2307693

I'd expect Mayo to make 1 change from their deserved win against us. James Carr to start in place of O Donoghue because he was the only 1 one of the 4 new lads that struggled to make impact last week and Carr was one of Mayo best players in the win against Galway last year. While Mullin, McLoughlin,Conroy have been given their chance to impress it shouldn't be forgotten that they are playing on very experienced and seasoned team. Keegan, Barrett, Durcan, O Connor brothers, O Shea etc have all competed against the best in All-Ireland semi finals and finals.

Hard to know where Galway are at, started the year off well in the NFL. John Daly a big loss as Galway don't seem to have a like for like replacement for him at centre half back. Covid came at a wrong time for Galway, and you really have to wonder how match fit their main and most important player Shane Walsh is after his injury. Galway will hardly be lack the intensity in their play and make as many errors as we did last Sunday but if they are to win they will have to be well organised defensively though I have strong doubts if that is possible under attacking minded Pádraic Joyce?

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 11/11/2020 17:48:29    2307695

Replying To Tizcold:  "How can you say one last hurrah?

This is a completely new Mayo team this year."
It's always one last hurrah for mayo :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/11/2020 18:19:20    2307712

Replying To Trump2020:  "I would think every counties goal would be the All Ireland. I like them so far under him. I'd give him a bit more time due to this weird year."
Galway haven't played in All Ireland final for 19 years, goals are fine among the panel of players but coming out to the media and saying it raised plenty of eyebrows.

He'll be given at least 2 years, longer if he turns out as successful, Sunday is PJs first big test at senior County management against James Horan who has managed Mayo in 4 Connacht finals and produced 4 wins in those finals.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 11/11/2020 19:02:21    2307734