Galway V Mayo Connacht Final

Replying To Yondu:  "First Galway v Mayo Connacht final for 6 years and that was a very comfortable 7 point win for Mayo who was up against a Mulholland managed Galway team that was easy to score against and easy to beat.

A lot of hype about P Joyce as manager, brought a lot of it onto himself by saying Galway will be training for All Ireland final when appointed but Sunday will prove if he's any better than Mulholland especially defensively. I think the answer will be no and Mayo will win comfortably scoring in the region of 3-14 again."
The reason it's the first Galway-Mayo Connacht final in 6 years is because they were regularly drawn earlier against each other in the Connacht championship, with Galway winning most of those matches. It's actually Mayo's first Connacht final in 5 years, which is pretty remarkable given they've been one of the top-3 or 4 teams in the country for much of that time.
As for Joyce, I'd much prefer a manager who actually gives his honest thoughts on a question, rather than someone who just gives the usual boring soundbites. He said his aim is to win an All-Ireland. That would be James Horan's aim too, as well Declan Bonner's and Mickey Harte's.
Why would he say anything different?

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 11/11/2020 19:04:21    2307737

Replying To Yondu:  "First Galway v Mayo Connacht final for 6 years and that was a very comfortable 7 point win for Mayo who was up against a Mulholland managed Galway team that was easy to score against and easy to beat.

A lot of hype about P Joyce as manager, brought a lot of it onto himself by saying Galway will be training for All Ireland final when appointed but Sunday will prove if he's any better than Mulholland especially defensively. I think the answer will be no and Mayo will win comfortably scoring in the region of 3-14 again."
Too simplistic. PJ has better talent at his disposal than we had in 2014. At least he is honest and does not talk out of the side of his mouth like some managers. A breath of fresh air and a born winner. Of course he needs his players to be of the same mindset. Sunday won't define him though.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 11/11/2020 19:41:14    2307758

Replying To WanPintWin:  "The reason it's the first Galway-Mayo Connacht final in 6 years is because they were regularly drawn earlier against each other in the Connacht championship, with Galway winning most of those matches. It's actually Mayo's first Connacht final in 5 years, which is pretty remarkable given they've been one of the top-3 or 4 teams in the country for much of that time.
As for Joyce, I'd much prefer a manager who actually gives his honest thoughts on a question, rather than someone who just gives the usual boring soundbites. He said his aim is to win an All-Ireland. That would be James Horan's aim too, as well Declan Bonner's and Mickey Harte's.
Why would he say anything different?"
Yeah I hate that, people and media do give out when managers or players arent honest and then when they do give honest opinions there jumped on, that there too cocky, getting ahead of themselves..
Far better to able to give and hear honest opinions from them

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 11/11/2020 19:56:12    2307762

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kml0Lc8ZpCs

Discussing the game here

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 11/11/2020 19:59:33    2307765

Replying To kiloughter:  "Too simplistic. PJ has better talent at his disposal than we had in 2014. At least he is honest and does not talk out of the side of his mouth like some managers. A breath of fresh air and a born winner. Of course he needs his players to be of the same mindset. Sunday won't define him though."
Debatable if better talent at his disposal than Galway had in 2014 as back then Galway had the pick of three underage All-Ireland winning teams and Corofin was strong then also won Connacht 2014 and the All-Ireland in 2015.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3346 - 11/11/2020 20:36:08    2307781

Replying To kiloughter:  "Too simplistic. PJ has better talent at his disposal than we had in 2014. At least he is honest and does not talk out of the side of his mouth like some managers. A breath of fresh air and a born winner. Of course he needs his players to be of the same mindset. Sunday won't define him though."
Let's not kid ourselves Mulholland had plenty talent at his disposal, he didn't cut it as a senior County manager. Sunday won't define PJ as Galway manager but how good or poorly PJ sets Galway up defensively on Sunday will define the result.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 11/11/2020 21:03:52    2307793

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Debatable if better talent at his disposal than Galway had in 2014 as back then Galway had the pick of three underage All-Ireland winning teams and Corofin was strong then also won Connacht 2014 and the All-Ireland in 2015."
Couple of things. Some of those players who are part of our senior squad from that underage era were very raw and light yrs behind Mayo in S&C. Well known fact. No gap there now. Was same with Ros but all three teams are on par on that front. Also a number of talented players have emerged from the 2017 u21 team equally as gifted as the 2011 and 2013 winning teams. One of those Peter Cooke who is in the US as part of his medical studies was our best performer in the qualifier in Limerick last year among a rather chaotic set up on that particular day. On the Corofin thing this is a good example of the club county disconnect in that fantastic club players may not cut it at county and in reality only a few will come through.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 12/11/2020 08:18:03    2307851

4 debutants for Galway on Sunday? big game to make your debut in, Galway have to be better than they were in the league game, for prides sake if nothing else.
Mayo must be hot enough favs here but they can't take Galway too lightly either.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 13/11/2020 18:36:01    2308449

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "4 debutants for Galway on Sunday? big game to make your debut in, Galway have to be better than they were in the league game, for prides sake if nothing else.
Mayo must be hot enough favs here but they can't take Galway too lightly either."
Nothing hot about Mayo with the bookies priced at 5/6, Galway are at Even odds!
People here are only tipping Mayo because Galway haven't played well in their games thus far.
Galway are a very dangerous opponent because of the unpredictably....nobody knows what to expect, they could be brilliant or brutal!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 13/11/2020 20:51:53    2308500

I be thinking that Mayo had Galway bet after 15 minutes in Tuam and Galway were very flat but credit to Mayo they were on the up. The following week when it mattered they were not able to beat Tyrone. No disrespect to letrim but Mayo were always going to win here and last week roscomon were not the team we taught they would be. If Galway had played Sligo and won as would be expected then more people would be tipping Galway. I am hopeful of a Galway win but would not begrudge poor Mayo people some happiness.

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 13/11/2020 23:24:04    2308573

Hard one to call.
Hoping for a Mayo win but it's far from certain.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 14/11/2020 07:38:17    2308601

Replying To heartbroken:  "I be thinking that Mayo had Galway bet after 15 minutes in Tuam and Galway were very flat but credit to Mayo they were on the up. The following week when it mattered they were not able to beat Tyrone. No disrespect to letrim but Mayo were always going to win here and last week roscomon were not the team we taught they would be. If Galway had played Sligo and won as would be expected then more people would be tipping Galway. I am hopeful of a Galway win but would not begrudge poor Mayo people some happiness."
Mayo have only 7 starters from the game in Limerick last year. Galway only have 8. Thats is a huge turnaround in players, some forced through injury and others with new lads pushing through.

Bookies and pundits always go for the team "in form" and that's Mayo but of course Galway didn't have a game and before the Covid interruption we're flying. The weather tomorrow suggests this could be a low scoring slog...I'd bite your hand of for a one point win right now.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 14/11/2020 10:24:06    2308620

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo have only 7 starters from the game in Limerick last year. Galway only have 8. Thats is a huge turnaround in players, some forced through injury and others with new lads pushing through.

Bookies and pundits always go for the team "in form" and that's Mayo but of course Galway didn't have a game and before the Covid interruption we're flying. The weather tomorrow suggests this could be a low scoring slog...I'd bite your hand of for a one point win right now."
I would as well.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 14/11/2020 14:57:39    2308699

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo have only 7 starters from the game in Limerick last year. Galway only have 8. Thats is a huge turnaround in players, some forced through injury and others with new lads pushing through.

Bookies and pundits always go for the team "in form" and that's Mayo but of course Galway didn't have a game and before the Covid interruption we're flying. The weather tomorrow suggests this could be a low scoring slog...I'd bite your hand of for a one point win right now."
4 debutants for Galway to one for Mayo shows how changed Galway are , constantly evolving.

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 396 - 14/11/2020 16:55:00    2308766

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "4 debutants for Galway to one for Mayo shows how changed Galway are , constantly evolving."
nonsense.
If anyone constantly evolving its Mayo over the years,

Galway haven't had a say or come within a sniff of an All Ireland final in over 25 years.
Modern game passed them by.. living off the Good old days.

Years behind Mayo in strength conditioning, coaching ect , and only started closing the gap recently when they
decided to leave the 1990s behind them...

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 14/11/2020 18:07:43    2308809

Replying To BeJasus:  "nonsense.

Galway haven't had a say or come within a sniff of an All Ireland final in over 25 years.

Years behind Mayo in strength conditioning, coaching ect , and only started closing the gap recently when they
decided to leave the 1990s behind them..."
Count again. It was a fantastic team.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 14/11/2020 18:33:51    2308823

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "4 debutants for Galway to one for Mayo shows how changed Galway are , constantly evolving."
You mean Mayo actually have more debutants than Galway or do you only take it weekend by weekend?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7889 - 14/11/2020 18:33:53    2308824

Replying To BeJasus:  "nonsense.

decided to leave the 1990s behind them..."
You may count again, in the last 25 years Galway have won two, Mayo remain on zero since 1951. It doesn't matter how you comfort yourself it is 69 years and the only stat that matters is 9 to 3, no matter what you think and do you what we will reach our "Décimo" well in advance of ye. Your grandchildren may not even see it.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 721 - 14/11/2020 18:46:52    2308827

Mayo have played 4 games since the return to play. The only decent side they played was Tyrone and they lost. Galway in the league and Roscommon last week were extremely disappointing. Not sure if Galway will improve enough to beat Mayo tomorrow but if they're up for it you might find Mayo aren't as good as we think.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 14/11/2020 18:54:39    2308832

Replying To GDL:  "You may count again, in the last 25 years Galway have won two, Mayo remain on zero since 1951. It doesn't matter how you comfort yourself it is 69 years and the only stat that matters is 9 to 3, no matter what you think and do you what we will reach our "Décimo" well in advance of ye. Your grandchildren may not even see it."
You've had no say in the modern era ,yesteryears team similar to meath , let's be honest about it....
Games changed so/so much since those days,, rugby boot days...and this guy is on about evolving ))

Mayo challenged for 10 years non stop losing out to the greatest team of all time..
You need a team with the ability to evolve in order to challenge for over a decade. .

Let's be honest youre galway buddy was talking out of his backside.
Finding a player here or there necessarily doesn't make you an evolving team..

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 14/11/2020 19:26:20    2308851