Advertisement

Mayo V Galway

Replying To Belclare:  "Do you know that you constantly reply to all my comments?
Ease up lad.. looking forward to the weekend and the good natured banter"
I've left you off a few months now seen you have been getting accused of obsession recently in my absence. To be fair it wouldn't be the same if your weren't here ;)

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 01/07/2019 11:39:36    2203429

Limerick be the best place to have it, big crowd and great atmosphere.
Galway will be favourites, Mayo have struggled past Down and Armagh. Mayo are wide open at the back and now no Keegan they have no one to mark Shane Walsh. Keith Higgins is a weak link in the full back line, cant have him marking anyone hes way to loose, he needs to be a sweeper or out the field.
I think Galway would win the Mid Field battle and that will be the difference.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 693 - 01/07/2019 11:41:38    2203431

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "And the rest of the Mayo population are paying rent in Galway."
I think you will find Mayo people have bought property in Galway and now renting back to galway people..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 693 - 01/07/2019 11:43:39    2203433

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Ha ha you have to love the GAA. Wouldn't be surprised if they go for a double header in Croke Park, Tyrone v Cavan and Mayo v Galway."
Westlife are poncing about Croker this weekend, she's a non runner

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 01/07/2019 11:45:31    2203436

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "And the rest of the Mayo population are paying rent in Galway."
We are yer Mexicans!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8760 - 01/07/2019 11:46:02    2203437

Mayo will win this I reckon.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13671 - 01/07/2019 11:48:48    2203441

Replying To moros:  "The Hyde is perfectly capable of hosting this game. And we'd put on a huge welcome for our Connacht neighbours too. Traffic not an issue..perfect match location imo...JUST GET IT ON IN THE HYDE"
It's not a perfect location though. There's no public transport out of it on a Sat eve. It's awkward to get there. There's feck all accommodation in the town and the less said about the nightlife the better. And thats before we even mention the capacity issues or "facilities" there

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 381 - 01/07/2019 11:50:48    2203446

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "They'll probably move yer game to crokepark.

Out of interest Would thurles be fairly close to both teams?"
Christ no, I've heard nothing but bad things from hurling fans travelling there. Apparently semi-final between Galway and Clare was terrible for traffic last year.

Limerick is a sensible option, motorway direct from Tuam.

FallenStar (Galway) - Posts: 442 - 01/07/2019 11:55:50    2203449

Replying To tommy132:  "I think you will find Mayo people have bought property in Galway and now renting back to galway people.."
Nice to see that Mayo folk are actually buying property at last.

Ye may take our land, but you'll never take Sam.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1352 - 01/07/2019 12:02:41    2203458

Replying To tommy132:  "I think you will find Mayo people have bought property in Galway and now renting back to galway people.."
Bought it with what? The tarmac industry dried up there during the crash. Is there good money now in sweeping sheds and cutting grass or whatever other jobs Galway people give to the Mayo influx?

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 381 - 01/07/2019 12:11:11    2203462

If they play it at Roscommon they give the Connacht council a major issue as they deem it not suitable for big Connacht games. I personally like The Hyde but Mayo and Galway county boards will dictate what happens. All stadiums reduced due to H&S, The Hyde is circa 19k, Pearse Stadium circa 26k and McHale park now at 32k. They will go to Salthill as per the home and away arrangement. Galway will conceed the next home Connacht championship.Mayo have no fear of playing there. It offers 7k extra places. They should also put the Connacht minor final on with it is currently set for Friday night in Tuam.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 376 - 01/07/2019 12:24:58    2203472

Replying To tommy132:  "Limerick be the best place to have it, big crowd and great atmosphere.
Galway will be favourites, Mayo have struggled past Down and Armagh. Mayo are wide open at the back and now no Keegan they have no one to mark Shane Walsh. Keith Higgins is a weak link in the full back line, cant have him marking anyone hes way to loose, he needs to be a sweeper or out the field.
I think Galway would win the Mid Field battle and that will be the difference."
Tommy, How will Galway be favourites? We are coming off a terrible loss, ye have two great wins, and are league champions...

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 01/07/2019 12:27:51    2203474

Replying To PressureKick:  "It's not a perfect location though. There's no public transport out of it on a Sat eve. It's awkward to get there. There's feck all accommodation in the town and the less said about the nightlife the better. And thats before we even mention the capacity issues or "facilities" there"
I don't think the GAA will consider the night life when deciding. Voted in top 3 pitches in the country again this year.

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 01/07/2019 12:37:35    2203486

il classico Great draw for Galway at least this game will have them fully focused. Both teams have their backs against the wall and will come out fighting. The buzz for this game out west is already in full flow the banter is great feels more like a friday evening then a monday morning lol

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 01/07/2019 12:52:56    2203500

Replying To Douglas_44:  "I don't think the GAA will consider the night life when deciding. Voted in top 3 pitches in the country again this year."
A brilliant pitch. The issue is the toilets, shops, disabled access/viewing area and that thing the GAA love...cash. it only holds 19k. Other venues hold more. It will get squeezed. The GAA must be kicking themselves. They would have had a full house at Croke Park with Tyrone/Cavan and Galway/Mayo double header at €30 a head.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 376 - 01/07/2019 12:56:37    2203502

Replying To Belclare:  "Tommy, How will Galway be favourites? We are coming off a terrible loss, ye have two great wins, and are league champions..."
Mayo are odds on favs with the bookies. They lost to Roscommon because of missing several of the many chances they created. We were well beaten by the Ross in all departments, remember 2 points in 43 minutes. Mayo despite injuries have been doing enough against tough Ulster teams.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 01/07/2019 12:59:00    2203505

Replying To PressureKick:  "Bought it with what? The tarmac industry dried up there during the crash. Is there good money now in sweeping sheds and cutting grass or whatever other jobs Galway people give to the Mayo influx?"
Sorry but how are mods letting rubbish like this through?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 497 - 01/07/2019 13:18:39    2203526

Replying To PressureKick:  "It's not a perfect location though. There's no public transport out of it on a Sat eve. It's awkward to get there. There's feck all accommodation in the town and the less said about the nightlife the better. And thats before we even mention the capacity issues or "facilities" there"
What towns have public transport on Saturday evening? By road it's probably the most accessible county ground in Connacht. As for accomadation, it's Galway v Mayo, not Guatemala v Malaysia, most supporters could drive home in about an hour.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8760 - 01/07/2019 13:27:11    2203534

Replying To Belclare:  "Tommy, How will Galway be favourites? We are coming off a terrible loss, ye have two great wins, and are league champions..."
Don't mind the League. Cavan relegated reached Ulster final. Roscommon relegated, beat both of us to win Connacht. Division 2 Donegal won Ulster. Dublin lost 3 games in the league. We'll be lucky to have 15 players and the weather is set to be bad, not to mention the ref whenever he's named. Galway are red hot favourites.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8760 - 01/07/2019 13:35:04    2203546

Ye fell apart in the 2nd half yes but were going well in first half, 5 points up at half time.
Ye have good record against us recently.
Mayo players dropping like flies, Keegan big loss now for man marking and attacking. Durcan will have to man mark Walsh now and hes not as good at attacking when in a man marking roll as Keegan.
Mayo cant handle speedy forwards and Galway have plenty of it.
Our Mid-field is weak enough, and Galway will get joy there with long kickouts, just kick to side Aidan I Shea isnt.
Down and Armagh games they were expected to win it and they just about did in both, so not a huge amount of confidence from it. A few lads getting more expierence tho which is good

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 693 - 01/07/2019 13:37:37    2203549