The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage

All the good boys & girls will read from their pre prepared cue cards today. The first aid room at TSG must be packed with injuries from sitting on the fence, some will need reconstruction down there soon.
If bores grew on trees, RTE & TSG would be an orchard. Now that the questioning voice has been silenced, it will all be nice & safe, happy clappy, let's give them all a medal.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 14/09/2019 09:08:46    2235152

Replying To moc.dna:  "All the good boys & girls will read from their pre prepared cue cards today. The first aid room at TSG must be packed with injuries from sitting on the fence, some will need reconstruction down there soon.
If bores grew on trees, RTE & TSG would be an orchard. Now that the questioning voice has been silenced, it will all be nice & safe, happy clappy, let's give them all a medal."
He's not a questioning voice, he just thrives on the attention. He's more than capable of doing good analysis, having the craic but allowing presenter and fellow analysts a say too but prefers his own voice.

I agree with everything else you say though. But it's RTE and will remain conservative and boring until someone shakes them up. The Sunday Game factory gets the raw material of an ex-county player who might look good on TV, put a suit on him and stick him on the show, regardless of how he comes across to an audience. Seeing as they're guaranteed the bulk of the licence money and get government subsidies, despite losing money, their cosy arrangement means that won't happen anytime soon.

It needs good analysis, a sense of humour and probably a few gimmicks to entice the next generation to watch it and actually make money for RTE through ads. Buff Egan hit the nail on the head when he says most young people today have no interest in how GAA is presented. The GAA should also have an interest. In business terms the kids today are their potential customers and The Sunday Game is part of their marketing strategy. Looking in at a few auld lads squabbling won't entice them to buy what the GAA is selling. It's 2019, who knows if there will be a Sunday Game or RTE in 2029.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 14/09/2019 14:04:55    2235196

Joanne is boring, panel is boring, hope the game is decent, rare atmosphere about it by the looks of it, Dubs could give them a hiding here. How many times has Pat mentioned there were 13 Kerry debutants the last day?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 14/09/2019 17:27:38    2235222

Bland - Uninteresting, boring, tedious, dull, monotonous, dry, drab, dreary, wearisome, unimaginative, insipid, lacklustre. Just some of the words to describe the Sunday Game now.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9701 - 14/09/2019 17:58:31    2235235

Ah Jaysus who dressed Whelan.?

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 14/09/2019 18:49:02    2235244

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Bland - Uninteresting, boring, tedious, dull, monotonous, dry, drab, dreary, wearisome, unimaginative, insipid, lacklustre. Just some of the words to describe the Sunday Game now."
Same with the night show, very dull auld stuff.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 14/09/2019 23:22:06    2235395

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Bland - Uninteresting, boring, tedious, dull, monotonous, dry, drab, dreary, wearisome, unimaginative, insipid, lacklustre. Just some of the words to describe the Sunday Game now."
What do you want Morris dancers and eunuchs? What would you do to liven it up? Imagine if you were a panellist.. Talking about a sports game and going through tactics, scores is not comedy. There's only so much you can do without turning analysis into farce. Colm O'Rourke seemed nervous as he approached the analysis pad tonight. Feeling a bit of pressure from all the talk of clearing out more of the old crew. He shouldn't. There's a role for a man of his experience in his early 60s as there is for the 30 somethings with the flashy suits.

Hearty congrats to Dublin on the 5 in a row. Serious achievement. Ciaran Kilkenny's speech from the hotel was excellent. His pride in his heritage (language, games) and remembering those who helped him in his formative years. Class player, class man.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 15/09/2019 00:57:22    2235429

Replying To greysoil:  "Ah Jaysus who dressed Whelan.?"
Got that suit on hire from a 70s vintage store

Halfdinnerandraspberrycheesecake (Leitrim) - Posts: 48 - 15/09/2019 08:58:31    2235465

I loved Sean Cavanagh as a player but just can't warm to him as a pundit...maybe it's his constant jibes at Mayo (again last night) but he comes across smuck. I'd have Brolly before him ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 15/09/2019 15:09:59    2235635

I find it irritating all the people from other countries praising Dublin. Almost latching on to them. Have you no pride in your own counties?

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 16/09/2019 01:12:19    2235893

Let's be honest and cut the bulls*t. The Sunday Game this weekend was a bland, boring, dull, grey, yawning load of mince. Brolly, Spillane and O'Rourke together in tune with Michael Lyster was the only thing that made the programme watchable. Political correctness and gender quotas have destroyed it and I don't care who that offends because it is the TRUTH.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9701 - 16/09/2019 01:40:23    2235899

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Let's be honest and cut the bulls*t. The Sunday Game this weekend was a bland, boring, dull, grey, yawning load of mince. Brolly, Spillane and O'Rourke together in tune with Michael Lyster was the only thing that made the programme watchable. Political correctness and gender quotas have destroyed it and I don't care who that offends because it is the TRUTH."
Sounds like you're talking about yourself.

Automatic response to defend him because he's from Ulster.

He's a clown. Look at me I had 4 pints before the match yesterday, I'm a great lad, then some fella he name dropped let him into the snug to write his article. John McCarthy, James' dad, gave him a shoulder dig and they had great craic. He's an attention seeking little gombeen.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 16/09/2019 12:33:12    2236049

Replying To gahfan:  "I find it irritating all the people from other countries praising Dublin. Almost latching on to them. Have you no pride in your own counties?"
Nail on the head. But it is driven into them by all sectors of the media. People that question Dublin's success are considered cranks and sore losers. The aul chesnut 'the GAA needs Dublin' used to be wheeled out by every barstooler when they'd be beaten (remember those days?)
Now Dublin's dominance has seen attendances fall leading to the GAA top brass scrambling to make up the numbers with an utterly useless super 8 series.
The replay will inflate the attendance figures this year however and all will be rosy for the top brass in Croke Park.
The penny will drop some time

Halfdinnerandraspberrycheesecake (Leitrim) - Posts: 48 - 16/09/2019 13:30:02    2236078

Replying To Halfdinnerandraspberrycheesecake:  "Nail on the head. But it is driven into them by all sectors of the media. People that question Dublin's success are considered cranks and sore losers. The aul chesnut 'the GAA needs Dublin' used to be wheeled out by every barstooler when they'd be beaten (remember those days?)
Now Dublin's dominance has seen attendances fall leading to the GAA top brass scrambling to make up the numbers with an utterly useless super 8 series.
The replay will inflate the attendance figures this year however and all will be rosy for the top brass in Croke Park.
The penny will drop some time"
How the F do you keep up with all these usernames Leg End?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 16/09/2019 17:21:20    2236236

Replying To gahfan:  "I find it irritating all the people from other countries praising Dublin. Almost latching on to them. Have you no pride in your own counties?"
Praising a great team irritates you? I bet you're fun to live with. And what has that got to do with pride in your own county?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 16/09/2019 18:02:08    2236261

You sound easily irritated though to be fair.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 17/09/2019 20:43:02    2236822

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Sounds like you're talking about yourself.

Automatic response to defend him because he's from Ulster.

He's a clown. Look at me I had 4 pints before the match yesterday, I'm a great lad, then some fella he name dropped let him into the snug to write his article. John McCarthy, James' dad, gave him a shoulder dig and they had great craic. He's an attention seeking little gombeen."
A bit like yourself Mr Multiple County man?? I wouldn't be surprised if you're posting as a Dub in here too. Or perhaps you are the one and only ....ta dah....Leg End!!!!!!

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 17/09/2019 21:04:06    2236840

Replying To avonali:  "A bit like yourself Mr Multiple County man?? I wouldn't be surprised if you're posting as a Dub in here too. Or perhaps you are the one and only ....ta dah....Leg End!!!!!!"
Yerrah it's been great fun winding you up!

You posted that the Dubs perform fellatio on the GAA recently to get more money?

Beidh an Riocht ar ais... Is treise dúchas ná oiliúint.

Defaulter1831 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 40 - 17/09/2019 21:51:14    2236867

Replying To Defaulter1831:  "Yerrah it's been great fun winding you up!

You posted that the Dubs perform fellatio on the GAA recently to get more money?

Beidh an Riocht ar ais... Is treise dúchas ná oiliúint."
So now you're a Kerryman. Well most of the Kerryman I know here are passionate and defend their county but you are just a nasty piece of work.
Lynn publications have the evidence that you doctored that. And you know what you did. I reported your post and got an apology. I'm surprised they continue to allow you to post on here.
As for being wound up. Cop onto yourself. Sorry pal but you're the boy that absolutely lost it and forgot to switch accounts.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 17/09/2019 22:15:43    2236882

Replying To Defaulter1831:  "Yerrah it's been great fun winding you up!

Beidh an Riocht ar ais... Is treise dúchas ná oiliúint."
Shouldn't this be removed. Is Lynn publications allowing casual references to felletio on here now? Wake up moderator.
Family friendly my eye.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 17/09/2019 22:21:52    2236887