Replying To yew_tree: "Typical Mayo way to lose a game. Laughing stock of the country yet again. Until we find a ruthless steak we will for ever be stuck in "the house of pain"
I like many other lot my father recently..never seen Mayo win Sam. Not good enough considering the amount of finals we get to…heartbreaking" In fairness the armchair forwards and managers talking about playing to the buzzer are talking nonsense.
You don't get time when to pick when you take an equalising shot - and it was a difficult one - with large Donegal lads swarming about you.
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3607 - 16/06/2025 08:58:29
Replying To gaeltacht81: "Mayo very very unlucky today, patton kicking the ball back into play with seconds left was madness, both teams qualifying....it was a crazy risk that worked for him this time but if mayo had have got t ball and kicked the winner...how could he have defended himself after. Anyway it worked out for him. Hard luck to mayo, but their day will come, keep the head up." Why was it madness? If he kicked it out the over the sideline Mayo would have a sideline ball. The hooter hadn't gone before the kick out was taken...
Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 577 - 16/06/2025 09:05:38
Replying To Belclare7: "You know what, I like you Yew... no messing , or sob stories, you call it as it is... Unfortunately there is very few like you in Mayo.. For what it's worth , commiserations on today" So you like yourself?
Cumann1 (Mayo) - Posts: 78 - 16/06/2025 09:18:16
Replying To yew_tree: "Typical Mayo way to lose a game. Laughing stock of the country yet again. Until we find a ruthless steak we will for ever be stuck in "the house of pain"
I like many other lot my father recently..never seen Mayo win Sam. Not good enough considering the amount of finals we get to…heartbreaking" You really are obsessed with Mayo Belclare. It must be what that Galwayman said on here before, some Mayo lady must have really broken your heart
Cumann1 (Mayo) - Posts: 78 - 16/06/2025 09:20:52
Replying To Scenicparish: "Why was it madness? If he kicked it out the over the sideline Mayo would have a sideline ball. The hooter hadn't gone before the kick out was taken..." Could he not have delayed kicking the ball out until the buzzer went? And then kicked it dead? It's what I thought he was going to do.
Great for Donegal they went on to win the game but had it been a draw Donegal would be in the same place - so to my mind it was an unnecessary risk.
Anyway, I see Cavan have been drawn away to Kerry - maybe conceding that late point wasn't the worst thing to happen.
Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 364 - 16/06/2025 09:42:27
Well done to Donegal, deserved win, too much pace and power for this current Mayo team to handle. Another frustrating mayo game, the players are honest and give it there all but lack in too many departments. Same as last year, naive and no cuteness to win a big game, but also mentality isnt right overall. The performances in the Tyrone and Donegal games mean nothing really after the Cavan performance, the lack of consistency in performance has been very poor.
Yesterdays game was an ok game quality wise, both teams were making errors maybe that was the pressure being put on by defenders, but Mayo lacked an attacking plan, everything was too slow, even when they turned over Donegal high up the pitch it was handpassed around. Why was O Shea tracking back so much, should have been left inside and O Donoghue should have been out the field with the wind. Carney was disappointing with his finishing, needed to be finishing his goal chances.
tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 645 - 16/06/2025 09:51:35
Replying To BarneyGrant: "In fairness the armchair forwards and managers talking about playing to the buzzer are talking nonsense.
You don't get time when to pick when you take an equalising shot - and it was a difficult one - with large Donegal lads swarming about you." Agree with you there. If Boland had shovelled it off to another player in order to eat up a few more seconds who is to say that a shooting opportunity would have presented itself? It was a very tricky effort into a good breeze with the outside of the foot. A great score all things considered. You could argue that maybe Mayo were a wee bit naive in not hauling Ciaran Moore down. But once he got up a head of steam he was hard to catch. Even if they did, with the game Murphy was having, I'd have been confident Murphy would have landed any subsequent free kick.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9812 - 16/06/2025 09:56:35
Replying To S1234: "Sure you wanted the game in Cavan hardly fair to Mayo either. You can hardly calm Rossie land a home game for us that's quite insulting !
Thought you were meant to beat us out the gate by half time . You are not that good and won't be winning Sam. It will go to Armagh again .
You can't even be graceful after winning a match and knocking us out by saying hard luck to mayo . No you have to moan about the venue again!
We are a young team and will be better next year with Durcan having more game time & Tommy C back also hearing Oisin Mullin will be back.
Not going to say best of luck to you lot after McGuiness and your comments on here up Armagh !" We could have said Up Mayo and you'd still be writing absolute drivel. No one cares what you think.
Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 273 - 16/06/2025 10:00:55
Replying To S1234: "Sure you wanted the game in Cavan hardly fair to Mayo either. You can hardly calm Rossie land a home game for us that's quite insulting !
Thought you were meant to beat us out the gate by half time . You are not that good and won't be winning Sam. It will go to Armagh again .
You can't even be graceful after winning a match and knocking us out by saying hard luck to mayo . No you have to moan about the venue again!
We are a young team and will be better next year with Durcan having more game time & Tommy C back also hearing Oisin Mullin will be back.
Not going to say best of luck to you lot after McGuiness and your comments on here up Armagh !" That's a sore loser post if ever I saw one.
But you have plenty of experience at this stage, 74 years and counting.
As Brolly once said "Celebrity losers"
peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1233 - 16/06/2025 10:14:31
Not going to say best of luck to you lot after McGuiness and your comments on here up Armagh !" Don't say good luck then, we don't need or want your blessings. Sore loser mentality.
Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1446 - 16/06/2025 10:14:57
Unlucky to be out of championship, Donegal could just have easily kicked for touch as a draw was fine. It was a risky thing Donegal did going for winning point. You would have to tip your hat at them for that. Plenty of positives for Mayo to build on though.
suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1749 - 16/06/2025 10:42:44
Replying To BarneyGrant: "In fairness the armchair forwards and managers talking about playing to the buzzer are talking nonsense.
You don't get time when to pick when you take an equalising shot - and it was a difficult one - with large Donegal lads swarming about you." without a doubt, and Mayo people around me had been complaining all game about their lads constantly recycling and not taking on the shot (with some justification I thought). It was the right decision from Boland and a great score. They switched off at the kickout and let McCole go free, and then just that lack of cuteness to stop Moore as soon as he had the ball rather than letting him turn and get up a head of steam
there is great character in Mayo footballers but they are lacking that bit of nous up front I think, there is a lot of pressure on O'Donoghue
CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 204 - 16/06/2025 10:48:48
Not going to say best of luck to you lot after McGuiness and your comments on here up Armagh !" Clare. You show your true colours here, ye were beaten by the better team, so take it , be gracious and move on with your life.. And as for you hearing that Oisin Mullen will be back , ffs as if you have some inside information.. Laughable....
Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 299 - 16/06/2025 11:08:06
ROD performance disappointing against the big 3 Galway Tyrone Donegal he was kept quiet.
Top scorer in championship but not in 10 from play.
Positives are Coyne had a great year one of best corner backs in country now.
Mchale Dawson have 2 scoring forwards.
Negatives not a great midfield.
Carney continuous selection is mind boggling.
Flynn form has fallen of a cliff and what's happened callanan was one of best young backs in country
jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1579 - 16/06/2025 11:09:30
Replying To Cumann1: "You really are obsessed with Mayo Belclare. It must be what that Galwayman said on here before, some Mayo lady must have really broken your heart" I'm not Belclare…I've been posting here for over 20 years lad.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11647 - 16/06/2025 11:19:19
And there goes another year and another disappointing year with that.
Our year didn't unravel yesterday though, the damage was done long before that in the CF and v Cavan. In fact, the last 2 performances, v Tyrone and Donegal were probably the best we've seen of Mayo in a few years.
Where to from here - well we can enjoy the championship safe in the knowledge that it doesn't affect us at all.
As for next year - I am taking it that Kevin Mc and all the backroom team will move on.
AOS might well call it a day, he owes Mayo nothing at this stage. Other than that I wouldn't see too many changes from the starting team.
It's hard to be positive on days like today but I do believe there are the bones of a very decent team there if guided by the right manager.
Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 364 - 16/06/2025 11:20:33
Not going to say best of luck to you lot after McGuiness and your comments on here up Armagh !" Cavan would have been more central. Can you not work tht out? Roscommon is over 3 hours for most travelling Donegal fans where is only an hour from most of Mayo. Young team? Don't know about that. Jim was totally correct in his comments. You are a sore looser...
Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 577 - 16/06/2025 11:24:39
Not going to say best of luck to you lot after McGuiness and your comments on here up Armagh !" im glad we didn't beat yous out the gate, the way we did end up winning was far far more sweeter.
ModernMaharaja (Donegal) - Posts: 96 - 16/06/2025 11:27:08
Replying To Scenicparish: "Why was it madness? If he kicked it out the over the sideline Mayo would have a sideline ball. The hooter hadn't gone before the kick out was taken..." Plus ye want to put us out. Ye were ruthless as you would expect a McGuinness team to be and a win is better for the confidence for games ahead. A great point to win it but defending should have been better. We switched off a bit after the equaliser. Best of luck for remainder of the Championship.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8093 - 16/06/2025 11:46:35
I like many other lot my father recently..never seen Mayo win Sam. Not good enough considering the amount of finals we get to…heartbreaking" Sorry to hear about your Dad Yew.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8093 - 16/06/2025 11:49:06