Dublin GAA thread

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Went down with boots on.

Hopefully nó major inhuries before beating Galway next Sunday and getting anotger crack off the Cats."
Galway shouldn't bother turning up at all, sure you have them beaten already!

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 18/05/2025 16:56:23    2610644

Replying To Crashingwaves:  "Galway shouldn't bother turning up at all, sure you have them beaten already!"
Isnt that what you boys think!

No doubt at all we'll win next week and will be betting accordingly.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3559 - 18/05/2025 17:11:15    2610652

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Isnt that what you boys think!

No doubt at all we'll win next week and will be betting accordingly."
That's what I'd call arrogance!

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 18/05/2025 18:10:27    2610669

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Isnt that what you boys think!

No doubt at all we'll win next week and will be betting accordingly."
That's what I'd call arrogance!

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 18/05/2025 18:58:06    2610710

Replying To Crashingwaves:  "That's what I'd call arrogance!"
Your message was so good you had to post it twice. Now that's what I call persistence.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1994 - 18/05/2025 19:49:49    2610726

Replying To Crashingwaves:  "That's what I'd call arrogance!"
Its called reality.We whipped yous with the big ball yesterday and now we will do the same with the small ball.

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 96 - 18/05/2025 20:12:26    2610741

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Went down with boots on.

Hopefully nó major inhuries before beating Galway next Sunday and getting anotger crack off the Cats."
Fought hard and never gave up.A great comeback.Currie was unreal.

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 96 - 18/05/2025 20:15:22    2610743

Replying To Joxer:  "Fantastic win. I take back my writing off of POCB after the last day. We bossed the middle yesterday and arguably it was the winning of the game for us. Fantastic save from Clucko yesterday but he needs to take some responsibility for their second goal and a point that he side footed to one of their forwards from a kick out. Clap on the back for Lahiff, great composure to pick that point off. Ciaran is a robot, just phenomenal. Let's hope this go to waste in Croker in two weeks. Need a win against the champs to build momentum."
Agree Joxer.Clucko is a Legend and his last kickout was class but he was all at sea for Galways second goal.We need a younger keeper.Kilkenny is a machine and POCB finally came of age.Lahiff took his winning point with great calmness.We are strong all over field now and with the two Smalls no team will want to face us.I think we will go close to winning All Ireland. Donegal with their style might cause us trouble but I think we would beat Kerry .Besides the two Cliffords they are average. I would love a good go at Donegal as they think they have All Ireland won.Murphy still a class player but gets away with alot.Dubs for Sam.

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 96 - 18/05/2025 20:32:40    2610751

Replying To brayballer:  "Fought hard and never gave up.A great comeback.Currie was unreal."
Great fight back. Better team won and Cats will make All Ireland i think.

Dublin teams in past would have lied down. They gave their all and it was in balance for a while.

Need to drive on now. Beat Galway, give the Stripey Men their fill of it in Croke Park and have good go at Munster team.

Proud of them.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3559 - 18/05/2025 21:14:07    2610765

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Great fight back. Better team won and Cats will make All Ireland i think.

Dublin teams in past would have lied down. They gave their all and it was in balance for a while.

Need to drive on now. Beat Galway, give the Stripey Men their fill of it in Croke Park and have good go at Munster team.

Proud of them."
Yes. A great comeback by Dublin in the 2nd half. That showed real character, it will stand them in good stead for the Galway game.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2783 - 18/05/2025 22:19:27    2610798

Replying To brayballer:  "Its called reality.We whipped yous with the big ball yesterday and now we will do the same with the small ball."
1 point win at the death, some whipping !

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 18/05/2025 22:49:33    2610807

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Yes. A great comeback by Dublin in the 2nd half. That showed real character, it will stand them in good stead for the Galway game."
Like yourselves big worry is more injuries after gruelling encounter.

Kilkenny/Wexford for first time is completely inconsequential so day off for some lads.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3559 - 19/05/2025 07:06:21    2610834

Replying To brayballer:  "Agree Joxer.Clucko is a Legend and his last kickout was class but he was all at sea for Galways second goal.We need a younger keeper.Kilkenny is a machine and POCB finally came of age.Lahiff took his winning point with great calmness.We are strong all over field now and with the two Smalls no team will want to face us.I think we will go close to winning All Ireland. Donegal with their style might cause us trouble but I think we would beat Kerry .Besides the two Cliffords they are average. I would love a good go at Donegal as they think they have All Ireland won.Murphy still a class player but gets away with alot.Dubs for Sam."
I agree its unusual to see him hesitant to come for a ball which was very close to the small square. I'd have liked to see him come and clear all and sundry in order to get the ball away from goal/out over the end line and away from danger. I do think he's probably one of 3 keepers in the country that could have arrowed that last kickout to a Dublin man. He was good in general from kickouts all day I thought and good stop from Walsh in the first half when 1 v 1. Can't ask much more than that and I'd be very nervy if someone else was in goal tbh. Obviously main negative of the day was Con's injury and no idea how serious or otherwise that is. If he misses the next two games then so be it once he's right for the knockout game to come. Feeling a bit better anyway in general as like most I was not expecting much from Saturday.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 248 - 19/05/2025 11:36:38    2610902

Replying To brayballer:  "Agree Joxer.Clucko is a Legend and his last kickout was class but he was all at sea for Galways second goal.We need a younger keeper.Kilkenny is a machine and POCB finally came of age.Lahiff took his winning point with great calmness.We are strong all over field now and with the two Smalls no team will want to face us.I think we will go close to winning All Ireland. Donegal with their style might cause us trouble but I think we would beat Kerry .Besides the two Cliffords they are average. I would love a good go at Donegal as they think they have All Ireland won.Murphy still a class player but gets away with alot.Dubs for Sam."
Here comes arrogant dub supporter most are decent but arrogant personified here to be writing off anyone ridiculous

Donegal have chance armagh up there too but write off Kerry is ridiculous ok nit tough group could go either way put they could trott logn nicely and are playing better this year than last.

Average dub played well but if ye hadn't cisran kilkenny and bugler ye wouldn't have beaten galway arguably either?

Laughable to write off Kerry saying they are Average and could still win thing.

Not from any contending county by the way but Laughable to call anyone like that Average.
We will say in late June July where Kerry Dublin at.

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 707 - 19/05/2025 12:29:58    2610924

Replying To brayballer:  "Fionn I know your heart in the right place but you have to admit Dessie got his tactics spot on today and we destroyed the Galway midfield.Dessie is the right man in charge.I was always confident of beating Galway.I think we can beat their hurlers too."
He sure did... Fair play to Dessie and his backroom team on this win.

As for POCB - was that Fenton with a POCB mask on.???? lol
Well played lad - your best performance ever, for club or county imo.
He now needs to follow this up regularly.
It cant be a case of An rud is annamh is iontach

The team performance was certainly a backlash from the Meath shambles...
And by God, did they and the fans need to see that.

I really hope this wasnt a flash in the pan performance.
But some faith has been restored thankfully.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4257 - 19/05/2025 13:18:39    2610948

Replying To Joxer:  "Fantastic win. I take back my writing off of POCB after the last day. We bossed the middle yesterday and arguably it was the winning of the game for us. Fantastic save from Clucko yesterday but he needs to take some responsibility for their second goal and a point that he side footed to one of their forwards from a kick out. Clap on the back for Lahiff, great composure to pick that point off. Ciaran is a robot, just phenomenal. Let's hope this go to waste in Croker in two weeks. Need a win against the champs to build momentum."
Me too but to be honest, did anyone predict him playing that well. I dont know of anyone.
But fair play to him.
Now he needs to back it up v Armagh etc....
It cannot be a 1 game wonder.

Although we will saviour this win, a word of caution...
Were Galway complacent considering the Dubs dismal performance v Meath the last day.?
Perhaps.
But Galway did create more goal chances than us and 18pts is not a massive score with these new rules.
Galway's return of just 14pts (I know it was 2-14) was very poor.
I cannot see them challenging for Sam this year now based on that.
They had a near full strength team, only missing a couple perhaps.
Dubs were missing both Small brothers, Murchin, Eoghan O'Donnell, and of course Lee.

Let's see how we perform against a Top 3 team next.
Kerry, Donegal & Armagh are my top 3.

As I have said many times - Con & CK are our most important players.
What a performance by Ciaran.
Hopefully Con's hamstring injury is not too bad - he left the field after only 45mins.

Delighted to be pleasantly surprised by the result though.
The reaction to the Meath performance was good to see.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4257 - 19/05/2025 13:38:11    2610960

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Great fight back. Better team won and Cats will make All Ireland i think.

Proud of them."
Excellent comeback by the Dubs Barney.
I think it was 14pts down at one stage and then back to only 2pts down.

Conceding too many goals but 3 of them were self inflicted v Kilkenny.

The injuries are catching up on us though and the game v Galway will be ferocious, especially in the Neller.

I like what Niall is doing with them though.

With a full strength team we could have beaten the Cats.

Think the winner of Liam will be ether Cork or Limerick.
Limerick were outstanding yesterday - really left down a marker.

It was great to get to both Dublin games this weekend.
Very happy with both performances.
Lots of driving but a happy drive home. ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4257 - 19/05/2025 13:43:51    2610964

Whoever beats Kerry will win Sam.

They are motoring up through the gears with a clean bill of health and wont really be tested from the Cork game until a semi final I reckon. Perfect way to time a run.

I still dont think we are anywhere near Sam this year.
One swallow does not make a Summer as they say.

Let us see how we go against a formidable Armagh team.
Then I will re-evaluate, if necessary.... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4257 - 19/05/2025 13:48:46    2610967

Replying To Fionn:  "Whoever beats Kerry will win Sam.

They are motoring up through the gears with a clean bill of health and wont really be tested from the Cork game until a semi final I reckon. Perfect way to time a run.

Then I will re-evaluate, if necessary.... ;o)"
Yeah, the fear is that Saturday's performance was a 'dead cat bounce' but only time will tell.

Armagh wiped the floor with us back in March in the League but this is a championship game now against the champions and we need to show up.

Armagh will be hurting having lost to Donegal and will want another crack at them so I'll be amazed if they don't bring their 'A' game to Croker - can we match them?

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 183 - 19/05/2025 14:18:48    2610983

Replying To Fionn:  "Whoever beats Kerry will win Sam.

Then I will re-evaluate, if necessary.... ;o)"
Possibly you could be right but if anything happens to the brothers Kerry are goosed and the Paudie fella was injured the last day. Armagh are going to be a different proposition alrite but we will beat Derry.Its between Armagh and us to see who tops the group.

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 96 - 19/05/2025 15:06:40    2611004