Dublin GAA thread

I certainly had little faith, well done lads, great win.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8755 - 17/05/2025 19:25:34    2610322

Replying To MesAmis:  "Can see the footballers struggling in Salthill. Would be surprised if they keep with Galway.

Hopefully the hurlers can give the Cats a rattle in Nowlan Pk."
Oh me of little faith!

Bleedin' deadly

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13802 - 17/05/2025 19:36:43    2610328

Surprised me how many people had dublin written off when they were missing players didn't seem fussed about peaking for leinster. They still have lads with enough all ireland medals nearly as loose change. Beware a wounded animal there was always going to be a response from a team like that

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1890 - 17/05/2025 19:46:37    2610333

Couple of lads came of age a bit today, McGinnis, O Dell, Clancy - POCB caught airplanes.

Kilkenny put in one of the displays of the year.

Great response and performance by the Dubs and a super away result.

Wonder will all the take Dublin out of Croke Park headbangers be around tonight.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4517 - 17/05/2025 19:57:32    2610339

Replying To MesAmis:  "Oh me of little faith!

Bleedin' deadly"
Fair play to the Dubs ! Well done..

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 163 - 17/05/2025 20:06:15    2610350

Replying To MesAmis:  "Oh me of little faith!

Bleedin' deadly"
You are not alone nor the only one eating humble pie!

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 17/05/2025 21:41:05    2610410

Never have I been happier to eat humble pie!!! What a win! Coming of age for a few lads - POCB, O'Dell, McGinnis to name but 3 and the old guard all stood up in a big way.

Special mention for Clucko for his top save from Walsh and arguably only he would have arrowed the last kickout like he did today to the bread basket of a blue shirt to set up the final attack.

Unreal to get the win in such a daunting group. Derry will be licking their lips at Galway coming to town in 2 weeks...

Only negative was the injury to Con but fingers crossed it's not a bad hamstring pull.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 248 - 17/05/2025 22:42:11    2610441

Well done Dublin, battled hard for that win and fully deserved it, the boys in blue haven't gone away ye know lol.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3201 - 17/05/2025 23:59:38    2610463

Replying To arock:  "You are not alone nor the only one eating humble pie!"
Humble pie never tasted so good!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13802 - 18/05/2025 08:23:34    2610486

A brilliant win for Dublin with Kilkenny outstanding.. Galway never really got going apart from a couple of bursts like the start of the second half.. Dublin still looked a bit vulnerable when run at but overall worked very hard… The one thing I didn't understand was how Basquel was left on… he had some terrible wides…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3901 - 18/05/2025 08:41:37    2610492

A brilliant win for Dublin with Kilkenny outstanding.. Galway never really got going apart from a couple of bursts like the start of the second half.. Dublin still looked a bit vulnerable when run at but overall worked very hard… The one thing I didn't understand was how Basquel was left on… he had some terrible wides…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3901 - 18/05/2025 09:02:32    2610505

Fantastic win. I take back my writing off of POCB after the last day. We bossed the middle yesterday and arguably it was the winning of the game for us. Fantastic save from Clucko yesterday but he needs to take some responsibility for their second goal and a point that he side footed to one of their forwards from a kick out. Clap on the back for Lahiff, great composure to pick that point off. Ciaran is a robot, just phenomenal. Let's hope this go to waste in Croker in two weeks. Need a win against the champs to build momentum.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 18/05/2025 09:55:14    2610512

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "A brilliant win for Dublin with Kilkenny outstanding.. Galway never really got going apart from a couple of bursts like the start of the second half.. Dublin still looked a bit vulnerable when run at but overall worked very hard… The one thing I didn't understand was how Basquel was left on… he had some terrible wides…"
We heard you the first time LOL

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 901 - 18/05/2025 09:59:40    2610514

Dublin now back in pole position with huge advantage with Armagh only getting a week turnaround for game 2.

All Ireland semi final now very much in sight minimum.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 335 - 18/05/2025 10:14:49    2610521

The team will need to build on this and not let this be a once-off performance that came about because of the bad loss against Meath - this has to be the standard now, become consistent and see where it brings them.

Up the Dubs !!

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 183 - 18/05/2025 10:31:32    2610527

Is Lee Gannon injured.? The Dubs were being written off prematurely. They still have about half of their starting team from the All Ireland final of 2023. Theo Clancy looks like he has the makings of a fine full back. Paddy Small was missing yesterday. He'll come back in. Don't know about Eoin Murchin. Brian Fenton's retirement ( unexpected) was probably Dublin's biggest loss but they won plenty of ball at midfield yesterday. Ciaran Kilkenny outstanding of course. The last kick out from Cluxton was crucial and he nailed it. The Dubs aren't far away.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2419 - 18/05/2025 10:34:17    2610529

Replying To endgame:  "Is Lee Gannon injured.? The Dubs were being written off prematurely. They still have about half of their starting team from the All Ireland final of 2023. Theo Clancy looks like he has the makings of a fine full back. Paddy Small was missing yesterday. He'll come back in. Don't know about Eoin Murchin. Brian Fenton's retirement ( unexpected) was probably Dublin's biggest loss but they won plenty of ball at midfield yesterday. Ciaran Kilkenny outstanding of course. The last kick out from Cluxton was crucial and he nailed it. The Dubs aren't far away."
You will not be seeing Lee Gannon again I suspect, Unfortunately, as he had turned into a serious player, Big loss,

A match fit Smalls duo would be a big addition. Having said that I was pretty harsh on Costello and Ó Cofaigh Byrne so am obviously in position to be second guessing anyone.

All eyes and roads lead to Kilkenny now for what should be an interesting match. Can't make it unfortunately. A chance of a win there probably not even reflected in the longish odds, but need to put in a better shift than the Leinster final last June. I think they will but the Stripey Men on a going day expose even the best.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3559 - 18/05/2025 10:53:14    2610532

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "You will not be seeing Lee Gannon again I suspect, Unfortunately, as he had turned into a serious player, Big loss,

A match fit Smalls duo would be a big addition. Having said that I was pretty harsh on Costello and Ó Cofaigh Byrne so am obviously in position to be second guessing anyone.

All eyes and roads lead to Kilkenny now for what should be an interesting match. Can't make it unfortunately. A chance of a win there probably not even reflected in the longish odds, but need to put in a better shift than the Leinster final last June. I think they will but the Stripey Men on a going day expose even the best."
I'm really looking forward to the match. Not sure what to expect. Kilkenny have won all of their games so far with ease, but haven't been tested. I think Dublin, at least, will give KK their toughest game so far.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2783 - 18/05/2025 11:57:57    2610552

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I'm really looking forward to the match. Not sure what to expect. Kilkenny have won all of their games so far with ease, but haven't been tested. I think Dublin, at least, will give KK their toughest game so far."
We need to at least make a game of it. Be happy with recompense for last time to be honest

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3559 - 18/05/2025 13:26:32    2610571

Went down with boots on.

Hopefully nó major inhuries before beating Galway next Sunday and getting anotger crack off the Cats.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3559 - 18/05/2025 16:38:45    2610625