Leitrim GAA thread

On a side note lads. What was the story with the young lads acting out on the train, drinking cans, getting sick in the jacks and then pulling the emergency cord a few times. My own Dad has stopped getting the train for fear of the likes of this and its hard to convince him otherwise when it makes the news. If any of you know any of them, please tell them to cop on or stay at home ta fk.
https://www.independent.ie/regionals/sligo/news/leitrim-gaa-fans-cautioned-by-gardai-after-anti-social-behaviour-on-sligo-train/a700465251.html

Usually there is a good atmosphere and good chats to be had with fellow supporters on the train to games without fare-weather lads like this ruining a good day out. These aren't Leitrim Gaa fans

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 03/04/2024 16:06:42    2535402

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "You came onto another county's forum to put in a dig that we lost the league final, and that we haven't won a connacht sfc game besides beating NY or LN since 2011. Yes these are facts thanks for stating them to us. Not like everyone in this forum isn't already aware of the state of Leitrim football over the past 15 years.

There is no reason Leitrim can't be optimistic ahead of Sunday. Recent games between us have been extremely close. Albeit we have lost a significant amount of players to emigration since then.

Leitrim and Monaghan haven't crossed paths in years so I don't understand your bitterness towards us. Did some leitrim folk wrong you? That can be the only reason as your input on our forum is very strange indeed. I look forward to meeting Monaghan in division 3 in 2026."
No dig whatsoever... gaelic football and championship is for realists... I only asked a question and you took offence because of its factual content. I laid it out for you and you come back saying Monaghan will be relegated to Div 3 and 4. Oh how dare someone have an opinion eh?

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 392 - 03/04/2024 17:37:55    2535419

Replying To Mugatay:  "On a side note lads. What was the story with the young lads acting out on the train, drinking cans, getting sick in the jacks and then pulling the emergency cord a few times. My own Dad has stopped getting the train for fear of the likes of this and its hard to convince him otherwise when it makes the news. If any of you know any of them, please tell them to cop on or stay at home ta fk.
https://www.independent.ie/regionals/sligo/news/leitrim-gaa-fans-cautioned-by-gardai-after-anti-social-behaviour-on-sligo-train/a700465251.html

Usually there is a good atmosphere and good chats to be had with fellow supporters on the train to games without fare-weather lads like this ruining a good day out. These aren't Leitrim Gaa fans"
As you said, they are fair weather fans that would have no interest in the game, just for the day out.

Likes of them probably do not get too many days out of Leitrim and take it as an excuse to act the fool.

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 460 - 03/04/2024 17:57:13    2535424

And good luck to our U20s tonight. Great start !

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 03/04/2024 18:34:08    2535425

A huge huge achievement for Leitrim Gaa- beating Mayo at any level is huge, but beating them at under 20 level in championship is massive.

I knew the Galway game our under 20s lost was not reflective of the scoreline or talent. Our u20s are capable of winning the rest of their group games and the title.

Great to see. We'll done to Andy and the boys on a fantastic result

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 645 - 03/04/2024 19:50:13    2535432

Replying To Mugatay:  "On a side note lads. What was the story with the young lads acting out on the train, drinking cans, getting sick in the jacks and then pulling the emergency cord a few times. My own Dad has stopped getting the train for fear of the likes of this and its hard to convince him otherwise when it makes the news. If any of you know any of them, please tell them to cop on or stay at home ta fk.

Usually there is a good atmosphere and good chats to be had with fellow supporters on the train to games without fare-weather lads like this ruining a good day out. These aren't Leitrim Gaa fans"
It's been blown out of proportion in my opinion. I was on the train and in my opinion Irish rail are the ones to blame. They seen who pressed the emergency button and instead of asking him to leave the train they sat the train in Edgeworthstown for 2 hours waiting for the Gardai. Yes there was some fans drinking/drunk but that happens with nearly every sporting event. Most on the train were in good spirits singing songs / leitrim chants etc. The main issue was there was no room and we were crammed in like sardines.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 241 - 03/04/2024 19:51:47    2535433

Great win. Fantastic to see the game management by the lads in the last 15-20 mins. We could find ourselves in a semi final spot if we put out two more performances like that.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 241 - 03/04/2024 19:55:43    2535436

Replying To veterngaa:  "No dig whatsoever... gaelic football and championship is for realists... I only asked a question and you took offence because of its factual content. I laid it out for you and you come back saying Monaghan will be relegated to Div 3 and 4. Oh how dare someone have an opinion eh?"
Stoney grey soil of Monaghan. Hopefully Cavan do a number on ye

MylesNaGopaleen (Leitrim) - Posts: 16 - 03/04/2024 20:03:55    2535439

Congratulations on your win over Mayo. You played Galway tough too. Connacht is tough this year.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2126 - 03/04/2024 20:35:30    2535443

What a performance in Ballinamore this evening, Paul Honeyman put in a performance that I have never witnessed at underage, well done Andy Moran for allowing Barry McNulty and Jack Foley play. This is a great confidence boost for Leitrim football.

lecture250 (Leitrim) - Posts: 120 - 03/04/2024 21:01:40    2535452

Replying To lecture250:  "What a performance in Ballinamore this evening, Paul Honeyman put in a performance that I have never witnessed at underage, well done Andy Moran for allowing Barry McNulty and Jack Foley play. This is a great confidence boost for Leitrim football."
Great win. Paul Honeyman has been standing out at underage now for a few years a real gem of play Leitrim have on their hands. Full credit to Andy Moran for putting youth first by playing McNulty,Foley even though playing them tonight now rules them out of the senior match v Sligo now.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 96 - 03/04/2024 21:21:59    2535456

Replying To MylesNaGopaleen:  "Stoney grey soil of Monaghan. Hopefully Cavan do a number on ye"
No . You burgled my bank of youth.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2168 - 03/04/2024 21:37:09    2535459

Replying To lecture250:  "What a performance in Ballinamore this evening, Paul Honeyman put in a performance that I have never witnessed at underage, well done Andy Moran for allowing Barry McNulty and Jack Foley play. This is a great confidence boost for Leitrim football."
Just home from the game.I agree the performance by Paul Honeyman was out of this world on his home turf.

It is hard to believe that he has another 2 years at U20.

Barry McNulty was outstanding too.He is up there with the best.

Well done to Andy for playing himself and Jack Foley.

The pressure for the Sligo game on Sunday is off , but this win will help.

We are blessed to have Andy Moran at the helm of Leitrim football. His positivity is infectious and he is surrounding himself with top class coaches.

The scenes at the end of the game were wonderful and it shows how much football means to the people of Leitrim.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 03/04/2024 21:41:12    2535461

Great win for the U20s tonight, first win against Mayo since 1998, well done to all involved. Good boost heading into Sunday, is it true both Barry McNulty and Jack Foley are ruled out Sunday because they played tonight?

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 03/04/2024 22:29:16    2535471

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "A huge huge achievement for Leitrim Gaa- beating Mayo at any level is huge, but beating them at under 20 level in championship is massive.

I knew the Galway game our under 20s lost was not reflective of the scoreline or talent. Our u20s are capable of winning the rest of their group games and the title.

Great to see. We'll done to Andy and the boys on a fantastic result"
Congratulations to Leitrim on an outstanding performance & victory over Mayo. We haven't beaten them since 1998 & were full value for our victory.Well done Andy on making the right call playing Barry & Jack. What about Paul Honeyman scoring 10 points? Just 18 ,what a talent. Next up Sligo who will be another challenge considering their successes at underage in recent years. However if we turn in another performance like this evening I have to be quietly confident.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 131 - 03/04/2024 23:54:12    2535483

Fair play to the U20s, a great result. When was the last time they beat Mayo?

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1032 - 04/04/2024 00:00:20    2535484

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Fair play to the U20s, a great result. When was the last time they beat Mayo?"
26 years. Would it be fair to say it is Moran's first big win for us?
I know we had a v good win in 22 vs Antrim in TC but they are not really any good. Mayo are Mayo, and are AI contenders at every level they compete at, even if they do find a way to bottle it.
Well done to all involved, by all accounts it was a comprehensive win and not stolen at the death, proves there is some light for the future if we can keep the best of these lads involved and playing.

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 460 - 04/04/2024 10:09:08    2535512

Replying To gaelsboy:  "26 years. Would it be fair to say it is Moran's first big win for us?
I know we had a v good win in 22 vs Antrim in TC but they are not really any good. Mayo are Mayo, and are AI contenders at every level they compete at, even if they do find a way to bottle it.
Well done to all involved, by all accounts it was a comprehensive win and not stolen at the death, proves there is some light for the future if we can keep the best of these lads involved and playing."
It was a huge win for Leitrim, but in fairness getting Leitrim promoted including the win over Laois was huge.

Everyone, expect the usual begrudgers can see the positive influence he is bringing to Leitrim.

His infectious positivity is working players are working harder.Long may it continue.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 04/04/2024 10:47:50    2535526

Replying To gaelsboy:  "26 years. Would it be fair to say it is Moran's first big win for us?
Well done to all involved, by all accounts it was a comprehensive win and not stolen at the death, proves there is some light for the future if we can keep the best of these lads involved and playing."
It was a huge win for Leitrim, but in fairness getting Leitrim promoted including the win over Laois was huge.

Everyone, expect the usual begrudgers can see the positive influence he is bringing to Leitrim.

His infectious positivity is working players are working harder.Long may it continue.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 04/04/2024 10:53:04    2535531

Replying To joeman123:  "It was a huge win for Leitrim, but in fairness getting Leitrim promoted including the win over Laois was huge.

His infectious positivity is working players are working harder.Long may it continue."
agreed. people will say it is only U20 but in ways that is more important for us as we are building for the future, no point expecting the moon and the stars from the current senior setup, they have had a good year but we know their limitations in terms of defense and conditioning.
And well done to Andy on deciding not to play lads that played last Saturday, a win Sunday would be nice but not the be all and end all, reward is a semi final we have not a chance in hell of getting through

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 460 - 04/04/2024 11:34:55    2535559