Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To Keephimthere:  "Laois were the better team, but not by 14 points. The Ref I thought was very hard on Leitrim, and the loss of a player like Keith is massive in a game like this. Any Idea when he will return?"
Not by 14 points? Yea closer to 20.

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 342 - 31/03/2024 13:28:59    2534788

Coach Morans contract needs to be extended further after yesterday

MylesNaGopaleen (Leitrim) - Posts: 16 - 31/03/2024 13:31:07    2534789

Replying To Keephimthere:  "Laois were the better team, but not by 14 points. The Ref I thought was very hard on Leitrim, and the loss of a player like Keith is massive in a game like this. Any Idea when he will return?"
God knows. Have been told he won't be back. Personal issues

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 460 - 31/03/2024 13:49:54    2534791

Replying To veterngaa:  "I had a good chuckle at that too! Realistically what teams in Div 3 will you best next year and are better than ?"
How are we not. We've beat them 2 out of 3 of the last three games played. Beating a team of the level of Laois should be the expectation we put on this Leitrim team.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 241 - 31/03/2024 16:04:07    2534807

Replying To williesboy:  "Not by 14 points? Yea closer to 20."
The amount of wides Laois kicked yesterday was embarrassing. We never looked like winning the game. No good having hot forwards if we can't defend. Division 3 is going to be tough next year.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 31/03/2024 16:04:47    2534808

Replying To veterngaa:  "I had a good chuckle at that too! Realistically what teams in Div 3 will you best next year and are better than ?"
Teams we are capable of beating in division 3 next year are Fermanagh, Kildare, Laois, Clare, Sligo, Antrim and Offaly. We are capable of beating them all. It's not that long ago that I remember playing Monaghan in Cloone in a league game also.

Leitrim football is in the up- our underage teams winning cups lately is great to see, senior team getting promoted great to see. Under 20s on Wednesday can beat mayo, here's hoping. Seniors can beat Sligo Sunday, here's hoping.

Our football fortunes turning coinciding with restructuring of our club leagues and championships over the past few years can't be a coincidence. Wait till the next few changes kick in over the next few years it will help too

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 645 - 31/03/2024 17:13:05    2534821

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "How are we not. We've beat them 2 out of 3 of the last three games played. Beating a team of the level of Laois should be the expectation we put on this Leitrim team."
Yous are a Div 4 team. 14 points in a league final …

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 392 - 31/03/2024 17:37:46    2534823

Replying To veterngaa:  "Yous are a Div 4 team. 14 points in a league final …"
Stop trolling on every forum

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 31/03/2024 18:04:04    2534828

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "Funny thing about sports is that you can bounce back from even the worst defeat.Sure Leitrim were off their game against a team who their homework done on us but in the overall scheme of things we are promoted which for a Amy County with a limited pick & several key players either injured or unavailable we aren't doing too badly. While I want Us to defeat Sligo where do you go from there.? a bad beating against Galway & then the Tailteann Cup. ?
A good performance on Sunday will wipe out the Croke Park disappointment. As for our U20 game against Mayo on Wednesday I hope Barry & Jack play ,we could make an impact in this Competition 3 teams in the mix for honours.Despite todays poor performance the Leitrim football Cup is still half full! A good team doesn't become a bad one overnight."
My dad is a die hard Leitrim fan and hasn't ever put much weight on how we do in league football. He is old school. "Championship is championship, never mind the league" he always says. He will be in carrick on Sunday to watch Leitrim vs Sligo and fully expects Leitrim to win.

Championship is championship after all, different ball game m. No one will care we lost to Laois if we beat Sligo

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 645 - 31/03/2024 18:07:59    2534829

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "Teams we are capable of beating in division 3 next year are Fermanagh, Kildare, Laois, Clare, Sligo, Antrim and Offaly. We are capable of beating them all. It's not that long ago that I remember playing Monaghan in Cloone in a league game also.

Leitrim football is in the up- our underage teams winning cups lately is great to see, senior team getting promoted great to see. Under 20s on Wednesday can beat mayo, here's hoping. Seniors can beat Sligo Sunday, here's hoping.

Our football fortunes turning coinciding with restructuring of our club leagues and championships over the past few years can't be a coincidence. Wait till the next few changes kick in over the next few years it will help too"
I needed a good laugh.
Thanks.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 31/03/2024 20:36:36    2534867

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "My dad is a die hard Leitrim fan and hasn't ever put much weight on how we do in league football. He is old school. "Championship is championship, never mind the league" he always says. He will be in carrick on Sunday to watch Leitrim vs Sligo and fully expects Leitrim to win.

Championship is championship after all, different ball game m. No one will care we lost to Laois if we beat Sligo"
With the utmost respect to your Dad I happen to think he's wrong on this one, Championship for Leitrim means generally an opening round exit to the lesser competition and an eventual exit from that. well before the business end.
I've looked back on yesterday's debacle and concluded that :

A). We lacked the required level of fitness,
B). We're unable to carry the ball through tackles.
C). We are expecting lads who have never as much as played senior club football to perform at this level.
D). We need immediately to find a half back line with an experienced pivot at 6.
E). The criticism of Nevin O'Donnell is unwarranted. The problems weren't his making.

Realistically our year is over (it's still March) . We're promoted, unlikely to secure the Nestor trophy, unlikely to make a charge at the Tailtean and reduced to the county championship.

But Hey! They're (the dreaded them) are going to redevelop Pairc Séan.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 689 - 31/03/2024 20:56:12    2534874

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "I needed a good laugh.
Thanks."
Wait til our under 20s play ye in championship this year !

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 645 - 31/03/2024 21:17:20    2534880

Very disappointing day yesterday we are better than we showed that's the frustrating thing. Also in the wide open spaces of croke Park our midfield and defensive issues were very much exposed which is worrying as sligo would have similar forwards to Laois , its something we're going to have to try and rectify if we're going to stay up in division 3 yesterday. Forward line didn't click at all but at least you know there is room for improvements there. Fantastic support for us yesterday easily the biggest of the 4 teams. It's going to be tough but we have to forget about yesterday try and learn some lessons and go again next Sunday. We'll done to the lads on their promotion hard luck yesterday

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 31/03/2024 21:36:05    2534887

Replying To Square_B:  "The amount of wides Laois kicked yesterday was embarrassing. We never looked like winning the game. No good having hot forwards if we can't defend. Division 3 is going to be tough next year."
Hot forwards when your goalkeeper is your top scorers in a league final I've heard it all haha

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 01/04/2024 02:32:00    2534928

Saturday
I'll be straight up here I have been a massive critic of Andy but getting that team out of division 4 is massive. BUT anyone there Saturday would see how far behind on s and c we are. It was like a minor team against a senior team. Mark Plunkett aside the boys were Mile's off the pace. Ryan had a few fancy flicks but how many times was he turned over and his reaction to the tur overs watch it back he just threw his hands in the air. His posts showed he has stood potential but needs to get strong. I seen someone here giving out about Riordan being taken off, after his second point he never touched the ball and then his man scored the first goal. We got turned over and over and over again. We need serious strength training to be able to compete properly next year. Look at Derry yesterday and how they've conditioned over the last 4 years compared to us. That's the difference and I know people will say they've better players bla bla bla, yeah they do, but we lost by 4 against them in league final in 19 and drew with them the following year. This team is done I'll say it again they've flatlined in there conditioning. Forget about the senior team and start conditioning and looking after our younger teams. Get a proper man/woman over the coaching in leitrim not a fella that's been there and won't change anything for the last 20 years. It's the hope that killed me Saturday I was optimistic going to croker Saturday but we couldn't compete at all. Sligo is glong to be tight, but the boys need us all there roaring them on this weekend, we've no defenders really to man mark any of sligos forwards but just to at it see where we go. We need to start building for the next 10 years now. Ballinamore Wednesday is where we need to have a good performance and get a scalp underage. God be with the days of Philly Mc Guinness and Gavon Mc Weeneys underage teams where Sligo snd Roscommon were givens wed beat easy and Mayo and Galway was 50/50 we need to get back to those days

Taytofoley83 (Leitrim) - Posts: 13 - 01/04/2024 09:35:04    2534940

Replying To Leitrim_12:  "Hot forwards when your goalkeeper is your top scorers in a league final I've heard it all haha"
There was 7 games in the league.... 8 including the final. Did you forget that?

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 01/04/2024 09:42:07    2534941

From reading the past few comments about the final and our defensive unit, all I'm seeing is calls for "better defenders"! But realistically who else playing club football could be brought in to match the standard of our lads? I can't think of too many at the moment.

I do believe the lads have it in them, but Saturday was not our finest showing I think we all can agree. Nonetheless it's fruitless to dwell on the loss, the lads need to go again and do a job against Sligo. Hopefully the club championship this year can reveal a hidden gem or two, or even give the younger lads some more time to develop!

LeitrimAbu543 (Leitrim) - Posts: 2 - 01/04/2024 10:44:56    2534946

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Stop trolling on every forum"
Speaking facts. We will see how chirpy you are next Sunday night

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 392 - 01/04/2024 11:44:59    2534958

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "My dad is a die hard Leitrim fan and hasn't ever put much weight on how we do in league football. He is old school. "Championship is championship, never mind the league" he always says. He will be in carrick on Sunday to watch Leitrim vs Sligo and fully expects Leitrim to win.

Championship is championship after all, different ball game m. No one will care we lost to Laois if we beat Sligo"
Like New York last year

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 392 - 01/04/2024 11:47:22    2534960

Right then. ( Nice to see a Leitrim team in Croke Park and all that.......but leave that to one side - there is a bigger picture )

I did say I wasn't that pushed about he Div 4 final. At the start of the year the objective was not to win Division 4, it was to get promoted, so that's where that came from, as far as I was concerned - job done.

Next priorities - beat Sligo, run in Tailteann Cup ( which by the way is greatly helped by promotion, i "think" we are probably 2nd seeds), and of course, next year stay in Division 3.

Was afraid of injuries and fatigue as a result of this final ( its going to be 4 big matches in 4 weeks !!) . Looks like Casey and Reynolds have hamstring injuries, but that's unconfirmed. Plus Sligo get a good look at out strengths and weaknesses. Well, they've seen how to negate our forwards, plus defensively we are loose and can be run at. Plus given the bad second half performance is there a feeling of deflation?

I don't think so. If the team has any cajones - which they have proven they have ( miserable performance vs Longford, followed by 2 good performances ( one excellent, one competent)) - then you'd expect a reaction. I think we'll get one. The team couldn't get a better opportunity to exorcise last Saturday. beat Sligo then in my view, progress is real.

Few issues though -
>> Sligo look good, more developed than us ( on league form, look formidable - themselves, Westmeath, Down and Clare were the contenders in Div 3 and they were well able for them - so they are a level above us currently)
>> Injuries and fatigue
>> u20s match on Wednesday - no way should McNulty or others play

On the other hand, it's in Carrick, Sligo need to guard against over-confidence, lower expectations may lead to less pressure,

Solo_Run (Leitrim) - Posts: 209 - 01/04/2024 14:42:54    2534995