Leitrim GAA thread

I was about to buy tickets for the Sligo Match and again Connacht council charging €30 Stand €20 terrace and €5 Juvenile
Munster Adult €15 under 16 free
Ulster and Leinster €25 St €18 Tce and €5 Julv
I am seriously thinking about not attending what is in reality a very expensive challenge as the winners of this game have no real of progressing in this competition.
Does anyone else feel that this is unreasonable considering the product and stakes on offer?
would €15 and free juv attract more spectators?

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 05/04/2024 11:29:17    2535790

After a disappointing display on Saturday we got a great boost with the u20s in their awe inspiring display against Mayor.

This is what I needed.

I like this.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 39 - 05/04/2024 11:40:13    2535791

Replying To Backheel:  "I was about to buy tickets for the Sligo Match and again Connacht council charging €30 Stand €20 terrace and €5 Juvenile
Munster Adult €15 under 16 free
Ulster and Leinster €25 St €18 Tce and €5 Julv
I am seriously thinking about not attending what is in reality a very expensive challenge as the winners of this game have no real of progressing in this competition.
Does anyone else feel that this is unreasonable considering the product and stakes on offer?
would €15 and free juv attract more spectators?"
Yes, you are probably better off staying at home.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 05/04/2024 12:43:05    2535806

Replying To eoinog:  "Yes, you are probably better off staying at home."
You are usually a fairly balanced poster, but that snide remark is a bit out of line with your usual comments. As someone who spends a fair bit of money bringing my family to intercounty league an championship and club adult and underage. I was trying to make the point that the Connacht championship is the least value for money and there is a big difference between €50 and €30 for tickets on top of all the other expenses involved with travelling to a game that has no real significance. I was wondering if any other genuine supporters felt the same toward the Connacht Championship, not advice on what I should do. Thanks

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 05/04/2024 13:25:48    2535816

We have met the big two at u20 level, one win, one loss. We should be reasonably confident of getting a second or third spot now and make the semis now.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 39 - 05/04/2024 13:36:11    2535818

Replying To Backheel:  "You are usually a fairly balanced poster, but that snide remark is a bit out of line with your usual comments. As someone who spends a fair bit of money bringing my family to intercounty league an championship and club adult and underage. I was trying to make the point that the Connacht championship is the least value for money and there is a big difference between €50 and €30 for tickets on top of all the other expenses involved with travelling to a game that has no real significance. I was wondering if any other genuine supporters felt the same toward the Connacht Championship, not advice on what I should do. Thanks"
Nothing snide at all. If you are not prepared to pay the admission fee then stay at home. I often choose not to go to a game for different reasons. There's a pile of fixtures to be played in Leinster and they are all wasting their time because Dublin will win Leinster at a canter . According to you the winner's of the Sligo /Leitrim have no hope against Galway so why bother going? Stay at home as I said originally

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 05/04/2024 14:05:04    2535831

I see the leitrim team for sunday has been announced, I have serious concerns with the lack of pace in the half back line and midfield.

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 66 - 05/04/2024 15:57:09    2535864

It's a funny one. Initially I'm taken aback. But then it's championship, its local derby, we are both Div 3 now so it should be up a cog.
I was at most of the league games and brought the 3 weanlings. A 10r in and they were free.
We got promoted and entertained (Portlaoise case in point - what a day!) so naturally, it feels like money well spent.

We ask for the same TV coverage, the same newspaper space, the same grants /funding and respect as the 'bigger' counties so we should be careful what we wish for as we then get hit with the same championship price at the gate.
Unfortunately we won't make the All Ireland, so for now, I'm ok with the €35 (20 & 3x5) and the team and management deserve our support for what will be a home coming of sorts after the league. Croke Park aside, I think the mood among supporters will be buoyant following promotion and that savage win against Mayo so I'm looking forward to the walk in and build up. You can't get that on the TV, radio or a phone screen !

Hopefully we get a bit of good weather and a good crowd.
I know people are under financial pressure but I can see eoinogs point.

I spoke to 2 different people who said they didn't bother going to Portlaoise having hummed and hawed and regretted it. It was one of those 'you had to be there' games. Don't let that happen..

I can remember back to a time in the 90s when they charged extra for getting into the old stand ( a shed). Imagine!
So on Sunday, as per other games, I'll have my terrace tickets - clothes for every eventuality, and back pack with flask of tae, sandwich, choc bars and jellies bought in tesco (not at the ground). Then she won't be on to you (as much) about all the money you're spending going to Leitrim matches 

Best of luck to team and management.
See ye there.
Liatroim abú

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 05/04/2024 16:15:41    2535876

Team named no Donal Casey as expected and the two under 20 lads can't play , think Donal Wrynn might go full back on Niall Murphy probably more suited physically than Diffley , were very light on the bench a lot of inexperienced players who didn't feature too much in the league that's a worry for me.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 05/04/2024 16:16:39    2535877

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "It's been blown out of proportion in my opinion. I was on the train and in my opinion Irish rail are the ones to blame. They seen who pressed the emergency button and instead of asking him to leave the train they sat the train in Edgeworthstown for 2 hours waiting for the Gardai. Yes there was some fans drinking/drunk but that happens with nearly every sporting event. Most on the train were in good spirits singing songs / leitrim chants etc. The main issue was there was no room and we were crammed in like sardines."
OK good to hear a bit of perspective thanks - Obviously not good to hear ye were crammed in like that and the trouble the group caused however small but hopefully Iarnród Éireann will learn from it for our next trip to Croke Park!

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 05/04/2024 16:29:20    2535880

Replying To Backheel:  "You are usually a fairly balanced poster, but that snide remark is a bit out of line with your usual comments. As someone who spends a fair bit of money bringing my family to intercounty league an championship and club adult and underage. I was trying to make the point that the Connacht championship is the least value for money and there is a big difference between €50 and €30 for tickets on top of all the other expenses involved with travelling to a game that has no real significance. I was wondering if any other genuine supporters felt the same toward the Connacht Championship, not advice on what I should do. Thanks"
Has to be said I've been to all our hurling and football games this year, except Parnell Park in the O Byrne Cup and Carrick in the League. I felt a little put out with paying 25 euro to see 2 div4 teams play eachother, along with another 20 for the 4 kids. So I know how you feel getting charged 30 plus kids to watch what will probably be a pretty similar standard game. It's not as if we are paying more to see Kerry playing Derry standard of Football.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11917 - 05/04/2024 17:09:55    2535884

Replying To meathbasedfan:  "I see the leitrim team for sunday has been announced, I have serious concerns with the lack of pace in the half back line and midfield."
Perhaps

That is all who are available due to a litany of injured players and unavailable U20 players

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 05/04/2024 17:18:36    2535886

There's no concession for children or pensioners into the stand so they have to pay full whack to avoid getting a potential ducking from the elements. So if you're a family of 5 you'll have to pay 150 quid for the pleasure of half avoiding the rain in order to watch two div 4 standard teams playing each other in a game that will involve progressing to another game that will involve a heavy beating for either teams.

And sure pensioners have lots of money and don't mind getting soaked.

Connacht Council need to do better in future I think.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 39 - 05/04/2024 20:34:04    2535922

Will we be the laughing stock if Pairc Sean is not playable Sunday??

lecture250 (Leitrim) - Posts: 120 - 05/04/2024 20:50:29    2535926

Replying To lecture250:  "Will we be the laughing stock if Pairc Sean is not playable Sunday??"
Why the laughing stock of Connacht.

Such sensationalism.!

The pitch is being developed.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 05/04/2024 21:33:09    2535934

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "There's no concession for children or pensioners into the stand so they have to pay full whack to avoid getting a potential ducking from the elements. So if you're a family of 5 you'll have to pay 150 quid for the pleasure of half avoiding the rain in order to watch two div 4 standard teams playing each other in a game that will involve progressing to another game that will involve a heavy beating for either teams.

Connacht Council need to do better in future I think."
The stand Carrick doesn't really shield you from the elements. Rain generally goes in on top of you.

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - Posts: 395 - 06/04/2024 07:09:07    2535953

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "There's no concession for children or pensioners into the stand so they have to pay full whack to avoid getting a potential ducking from the elements. So if you're a family of 5 you'll have to pay 150 quid for the pleasure of half avoiding the rain in order to watch two div 4 standard teams playing each other in a game that will involve progressing to another game that will involve a heavy beating for either teams.

Connacht Council need to do better in future I think."
Keep your comments about division 4 to yourselves…won't be long until yer back in it

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 06/04/2024 09:51:40    2535961

If we have wind at our backs like this tomorrow coach Moran will instruct the players to tire themselves out handpassing it up the field.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 39 - 06/04/2024 10:15:34    2535966

Replying To lecture250:  "Will we be the laughing stock if Pairc Sean is not playable Sunday??"
You would be the laughing stock if you played the game in the Hyde and no works done in Carrick. The weather has played f..K with all pitches and is the primary reason that work didn't commence before now in Carrick

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 06/04/2024 11:23:56    2535975

Has there ever been less interest in a championship game involving Leitrim & Sligo before. Maybe it's because of the players we are missing or the fact that the pressure was off after gaining promotion. Maybe it's just the weather but it seems like it's a matter of playing this game getting it out of the way and get the team ready for the Tailteann cup next month. Obviously next Wednesdays games v Sligo is far more important to Leitrim than tomorrow.

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 06/04/2024 14:36:33    2536027