Minors 2017

Replying To seanorinn:  "Not a good start. Too open. When you play with no game plan what do you expect.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts:1011 - 16/07/2017 12:17:40 20

Ah would go and take a walk fella the black card changed everything seems you like you enjoy it every time a Cavan team is beaten. They are still there another match next week write them off at your peril. A small error turned the tide but he will have learnt from it. Well done on getting to the Ulster Final and the best of luck in the All Ireland 1/4 final. The majority os the genuine people are behind you."
Sean, black card had no bearing on it. Smith was getting wiped out at midfield. You clearly weren't at the game if you think that was a changing point. Dora is right. No tactics, no short kick out plan - total off the cuff stuff. That said, Derry were exceptional and their conversion rate was very high.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 16/07/2017 17:17:29    2017506

Cavan at Minor level the last few years have tried to play more open man to man football. Looks well when attacking, but opened up when teams ran . In 2015 Antrim if they were more clinical could have had a few goals against Cavan in the semi.
Derry were clinical

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 16/07/2017 17:51:26    2017527

Tactically inept. Very disappointing because thats a decent team . The warning signs were there prior to today a good team was going to walk through that defence. Like our seniors and probably are under 21s question marks over management. We had a good thing going in the first half of this decade right people need to be put back in the right places.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 16/07/2017 18:14:54    2017546

Replying To blueskies:  "Tactically inept. Very disappointing because thats a decent team . The warning signs were there prior to today a good team was going to walk through that defence. Like our seniors and probably are under 21s question marks over management. We had a good thing going in the first half of this decade right people need to be put back in the right places."
Funny thing is against Galway we probably have a chance as they'll probably play open football too.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 16/07/2017 18:43:59    2017575

Replying To blueskies:  "Tactically inept. Very disappointing because thats a decent team . The warning signs were there prior to today a good team was going to walk through that defence. Like our seniors and probably are under 21s question marks over management. We had a good thing going in the first half of this decade right people need to be put back in the right places."
Cavan got 2-12 despite getting trashed at midfield. That's what is so annoying. Manager banked on us winning mid and in fairness to keeper he put good kicks out to the two lads but they won nothing. If we had a plan b we would've won more ball and could've really had a go at them. However it can be no surprise to anyone who watched the u17 final where they were equally given no chance due to no clear game plan. Madden on the 40 and Pierson inside look like two definite county men for the future.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 16/07/2017 18:47:57    2017578

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "Funny thing is against Galway we probably have a chance as they'll probably play open football too."
Roscommon had a good minor team this year and we lost by 7 points to Galway.That's a fine Galway minor team.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 16/07/2017 19:07:56    2017603

Is it only a cavan thing to run down our own teams? No wonder we never get anywhere, Some posters here hope we fail so they can have a good auld whinge and politics take over. We are in an all Ireland quater final so get behind the team, management and real supporters. UP CAVAN

BreffniBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 277 - 16/07/2017 20:13:54    2017657

Replying To BreffniBlue:  "Is it only a cavan thing to run down our own teams? No wonder we never get anywhere, Some posters here hope we fail so they can have a good auld whinge and politics take over. We are in an all Ireland quater final so get behind the team, management and real supporters. UP CAVAN"
It's not whinging or politics. It's about getting the best out our teams. We were in two ulster finals, lost both badly and clearly had no game plan. You think we should be celebrating that? We have people in charge of our teams that are not good enough. It's a sad state of affairs.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 16/07/2017 20:22:22    2017665

We had a good thing going in the first half of this decade right people need to be put back in the right places.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts:84 - 16/07/2017 18:14:54

LIKE WHO??
And please don't mention the person I am thinking you are thinking off???

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 16/07/2017 21:39:41    2017715

Replying To seanorinn:  "We had a good thing going in the first half of this decade right people need to be put back in the right places.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts:84 - 16/07/2017 18:14:54

LIKE WHO??
And please don't mention the person I am thinking you are thinking off???"
Is it time to get Val Andrews back lads?

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 844 - 16/07/2017 22:06:36    2017731

Replying To seanorinn:  "Not a good start. Too open. When you play with no game plan what do you expect.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts:1011 - 16/07/2017 12:17:40 20

Ah would go and take a walk fella the black card changed everything seems you like you enjoy it every time a Cavan team is beaten. They are still there another match next week write them off at your peril. A small error turned the tide but he will have learnt from it. Well done on getting to the Ulster Final and the best of luck in the All Ireland 1/4 final. The majority os the genuine people are behind you."
Hard luck to the minors today. Thought they battled hard against a very good Derry team that had size & athletism in abundance. Some of the Derry subs would be bigger than most of our senior team. 2-12 a cracking score to record when we were comprehensively bet in midfield. Black card had zero bearing on the game. Problems that were evident in the Monaghan game cost us today as we were very exposed throughout. One thing that is encouraging is the potential of the forwards & hopefully that can be carried through to the senior set up in 2/3 years time. Unfortunately as I mentioned here on a post last week that got deleted the jinx struck again

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 16/07/2017 23:53:45    2017779

Just reading the various different headlines and posts.
Earlier on in the campaign we beat Monaghan who according to some were strongly fancied to win Ulster.
Next we came from behind to beat Down and then racked up a big score against Derry all be it a defeat.
Now I read that Derry management say tougher tasks lie ahead.
Doesn't say much for our lads.
Also Hogan stand say that Galway will be looking forward and fancy their cahances when playing Cavan
!!!

Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 17/07/2017 11:19:44    2017975

Replying To Virginia:  "Just reading the various different headlines and posts.
Earlier on in the campaign we beat Monaghan who according to some were strongly fancied to win Ulster.
Next we came from behind to beat Down and then racked up a big score against Derry all be it a defeat.
Now I read that Derry management say tougher tasks lie ahead.
Doesn't say much for our lads.
Also Hogan stand say that Galway will be looking forward and fancy their cahances when playing Cavan
!!!"
Now that the dust has settled and the bedgrudgers have had their say it's not all over until the fat lady sings. First week in August our next day. It was a pity that John failed to bring home the cup like Garry Donohoe did a few years back but we are still involved so get behind them. A couple of errors when the wind was behind our sails sealed this match. We got to within two points and a couple of errors but we are all human let's hope they forget it and get back to training for their next match. Minors are minors and they blow hot and cold. One day they could conquer the world the next day they could win nothing so please god come the 1/4 final we will be up for it. I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate John his management team and all the player's for getting to the final in the first place. Commiserations on loosing but there is another day and the wind is still blowing. Lift your spirit forget the past for tomorrow is another day.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 17/07/2017 16:40:34    2018257

Replying To seanorinn:  "Now that the dust has settled and the bedgrudgers have had their say it's not all over until the fat lady sings. First week in August our next day. It was a pity that John failed to bring home the cup like Garry Donohoe did a few years back but we are still involved so get behind them. A couple of errors when the wind was behind our sails sealed this match. We got to within two points and a couple of errors but we are all human let's hope they forget it and get back to training for their next match. Minors are minors and they blow hot and cold. One day they could conquer the world the next day they could win nothing so please god come the 1/4 final we will be up for it. I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate John his management team and all the player's for getting to the final in the first place. Commiserations on loosing but there is another day and the wind is still blowing. Lift your spirit forget the past for tomorrow is another day."
Yesterday it was the black card that cost us and today it's a few mistakes. Were you at the game Sean?? It doesn't read like you were.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 17/07/2017 18:06:36    2018318

Replying To fredflint:  "Yesterday it was the black card that cost us and today it's a few mistakes. Were you at the game Sean?? It doesn't read like you were."
Yesterday it was the black card that cost us and today it's a few mistakes. Were you at the game Sean?? It doesn't read like you were.
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts:818 - 17/07/2017 18:06:36 2018318

The black card happened it had a bearing on the game off course and yes the few errors. Unfortunately I was not at the game and if you can view what was on in Breiffni up to 1330hrs you would see why I was not at it along with another issue. You see I am the groundsman of the park and when there are things on there well I have to be there it's that simple BUT you may not be aware I had heart procedure and I was not well enough to go to the match as a result even if I wanted to.
I listened to the match as it was all I could do I hope that explains things to you not that I have to explain myself to anyone.
I watched the full match on video and I saw enough to tell me the lad's were unlucky. They will still be a team to be very weary off.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 17/07/2017 19:44:04    2018344

Replying To fredflint:  "Yesterday it was the black card that cost us and today it's a few mistakes. Were you at the game Sean?? It doesn't read like you were."
Is getting a black card not a mistake?

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 17/07/2017 20:16:31    2018357

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Is getting a black card not a mistake?"
Not in this case as it wasn't a black card at all. Derry were by far the better team on the day but you wouldn't know anything about it as you didn't go either, probably too busy on Facebook trying to find a successor.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 17/07/2017 21:58:56    2018395

Replying To fredflint:  "Not in this case as it wasn't a black card at all. Derry were by far the better team on the day but you wouldn't know anything about it as you didn't go either, probably too busy on Facebook trying to find a successor."
Not in this case as it wasn't a black card at all. Derry were by far the better team on the day but you wouldn't know anything about it as you didn't go either, probably too busy on Facebook trying to find a successor.
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts:819 - 17/07/2017 21:58:56 2018395

With respect flint I explained why I was not there and it's reason enough for you to exclude me from your above reply I have highlighted ?? Be a man and speak to me face to face I am sure you and I can sort our differences man to man what do you think. You know who I am and where to find me. 7 evening's a week almost 365 evenings a year for the last 21 years.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 17/07/2017 22:22:05    2018405

Replying To seanorinn:  "Not in this case as it wasn't a black card at all. Derry were by far the better team on the day but you wouldn't know anything about it as you didn't go either, probably too busy on Facebook trying to find a successor.
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts:819 - 17/07/2017 21:58:56 2018395

With respect flint I explained why I was not there and it's reason enough for you to exclude me from your above reply I have highlighted ?? Be a man and speak to me face to face I am sure you and I can sort our differences man to man what do you think. You know who I am and where to find me. 7 evening's a week almost 365 evenings a year for the last 21 years."
That reply was to our friend dean Martin tynan, aka in around the house. Now the reason I pulled you up on not attending is you attacked another poster for daring to have an opinion on the game. I thought that a cheap dig from someone who hadn't attended himself. You said smith black was the key turning point when anyone at the game knows it wasn't.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 17/07/2017 22:36:11    2018409

Commiserations to Cavan, without doubt the best Derry minor side we have produced in awhile however. Derry seemed to be able to score or create a scoring chance whenever it was required, they had the Cavan backline under severe pressure. But I have no doubt that the Cavan team can trouble Galway big style if ye tighten up the defence. Some of the Cavan lads would definietely grace the derry team, I was very impressed by Cavans number 10 Kiernan who slotted into midfield after the black card, linked the play well with a great engine and range of passing, number 11 Madden also tried his heart out and played some nice football throwing the ball around the forward line and kicking some good scores as did number 13 Pierson, a traditional Cavan corner forward with great feet. The boys can regroup and go again and who knows we might meet again in the year. All the best, keep the conveyor belt going.

LongBallPete (Derry) - Posts: 1 - 17/07/2017 22:44:13    2018414