Minors 2017

Replying To LongBallPete:  "Commiserations to Cavan, without doubt the best Derry minor side we have produced in awhile however. Derry seemed to be able to score or create a scoring chance whenever it was required, they had the Cavan backline under severe pressure. But I have no doubt that the Cavan team can trouble Galway big style if ye tighten up the defence. Some of the Cavan lads would definietely grace the derry team, I was very impressed by Cavans number 10 Kiernan who slotted into midfield after the black card, linked the play well with a great engine and range of passing, number 11 Madden also tried his heart out and played some nice football throwing the ball around the forward line and kicking some good scores as did number 13 Pierson, a traditional Cavan corner forward with great feet. The boys can regroup and go again and who knows we might meet again in the year. All the best, keep the conveyor belt going."
That reply was to our friend dean Martin tynan, aka in around the house. Now the reason I pulled you up on not attending is you attacked another poster for daring to have an opinion on the game. I thought that a cheap dig from someone who hadn't attended himself. You said smith black was the key turning point when anyone at the game knows it wasn't.
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts:820 - 17/07/2017 22:36:11 2018409

Show me where I attacked another poster for having an opinion is it regarding the black card if yes it did change things for it meant management had to make a change sooner than anticipated. Cavan were missing two very strong players and if they are back for Galway I expect Cavan to do well there. What annoy's me is when these lads are training two or three evenings/day a week I don't see anyone watching them training it speaks volumes for the arm chair critics or those that turn up for one match and know it all. Try and find out what is happening in the back room with injuries ect at all levels from minors upwards and maybe people might not be so quick to point fingers and know peoples efforts to field a quality team and I am sure they are fielding a team to win I hope we agree with this. If I am free for the Galway match I will go to it please god. I expect we will not sot see a repetition of what we saw a few years ago against the same county in Longford when all you could hear from one person was kick it into Finnegan I think who had three men on him. Man of the match the number 7 for Galway.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 17/07/2017 23:39:13    2018433

Replying To seanorinn:  "That reply was to our friend dean Martin tynan, aka in around the house. Now the reason I pulled you up on not attending is you attacked another poster for daring to have an opinion on the game. I thought that a cheap dig from someone who hadn't attended himself. You said smith black was the key turning point when anyone at the game knows it wasn't.

Show me where I attacked another poster for having an opinion is it regarding the black card if yes it did change things for it meant management had to make a change sooner than anticipated. Cavan were missing two very strong players and if they are back for Galway I expect Cavan to do well there. What annoy's me is when these lads are training two or three evenings/day a week I don't see anyone watching them training it speaks volumes for the arm chair critics or those that turn up for one match and know it all. Try and find out what is happening in the back room with injuries ect at all levels from minors upwards and maybe people might not be so quick to point fingers and know peoples efforts to field a quality team and I am sure they are fielding a team to win I hope we agree with this. If I am free for the Galway match I will go to it please god. I expect we will not sot see a repetition of what we saw a few years ago against the same county in Longford when all you could hear from one person was kick it into Finnegan I think who had three men on him. Man of the match the number 7 for Galway."
Not one person has attacked the players. The players are being praised.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 18/07/2017 08:54:43    2018484

Replying To seanorinn:  "That reply was to our friend dean Martin tynan, aka in around the house. Now the reason I pulled you up on not attending is you attacked another poster for daring to have an opinion on the game. I thought that a cheap dig from someone who hadn't attended himself. You said smith black was the key turning point when anyone at the game knows it wasn't.

Show me where I attacked another poster for having an opinion is it regarding the black card if yes it did change things for it meant management had to make a change sooner than anticipated. Cavan were missing two very strong players and if they are back for Galway I expect Cavan to do well there. What annoy's me is when these lads are training two or three evenings/day a week I don't see anyone watching them training it speaks volumes for the arm chair critics or those that turn up for one match and know it all. Try and find out what is happening in the back room with injuries ect at all levels from minors upwards and maybe people might not be so quick to point fingers and know peoples efforts to field a quality team and I am sure they are fielding a team to win I hope we agree with this. If I am free for the Galway match I will go to it please god. I expect we will not sot see a repetition of what we saw a few years ago against the same county in Longford when all you could hear from one person was kick it into Finnegan I think who had three men on him. Man of the match the number 7 for Galway."
Sean, in reply to doratheexplorer you said..,

"Would you go and take a walk fella the black card changed everything seems you like you enjoy it every time a Cavan team is beaten"

I consider that attacking the man. He only spoke the truth about the total lack of any tactics.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 18/07/2017 11:13:12    2018535

These lads are 18 years of age who were in probably there biggest game of their lives so far last Sunday.
They will improve for the experience as players.
It's not about winning at that age.
It's about developing as players and working hard to improve their weaknesses.
God know we won 4 u21 titles and where did it really get us at Senior level.
Some of those players on those winning teams are no better players today than they were then.
It should be about player development , and players developing their own individual skills to use later at Senior level.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 18/07/2017 11:17:41    2018537

Replying To fredflint:  "Sean, in reply to doratheexplorer you said..,

"Would you go and take a walk fella the black card changed everything seems you like you enjoy it every time a Cavan team is beaten"

I consider that attacking the man. He only spoke the truth about the total lack of any tactics."
Last year Fredflint when people questioned tactics you called that whinging?

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 18/07/2017 11:20:45    2018539

Replying To fredflint:  "Sean, in reply to doratheexplorer you said..,

I consider that attacking the man. He only spoke the truth about the total lack of any tactics."
Fredflint we had 5 years of no tactics at Senior level but you were happy enough then

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 18/07/2017 11:35:09    2018550

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Fredflint we had 5 years of no tactics at Senior level but you were happy enough then"
They had tactics. Maybe limited and at times unattractive but they had a plan.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 18/07/2017 12:28:05    2018576

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Fredflint we had 5 years of no tactics at Senior level but you were happy enough then"
Replying To fredflint: "Sean, in reply to doratheexplorer you said..,

Yes I did and if he is who I think he is he knows why I replied as such. I make no apology for that reply.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 18/07/2017 12:40:20    2018588

it's very confusing here. the reply's seem to be tagged on to the end of the wrong posts.

I remember that previous quarter-final v Galway. it was a good game and we were not far behind them. I can't remember what the final score was but it was close. I agree with Seanorinn though about the "tactics" used in that game and some of the decisions made on the line. I think we had a very good team that year and were well capable of beating that Galway team. I don't know anything about this current Galway crop but they must be good having just won Connacht. I would imagine they would be favourites to beat us but This Cavan team have some excellent players and I like their attitude so they wont go down without a fight. A few of the lads seem to be struggling with an injury which is a pity but hopefully they will be fit for the Galway game. Nevertheless there are some excellent footballers on the panel and perhaps they can get a chance to shine.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 18/07/2017 12:52:02    2018597

Saw the highlights of the game last night and Cavan played some good football and got some great scores.... The Derry goal which took the game away totally from Cavan was a total camality....first one sub ( looked tiny ) soloed the ball straight into 3 Derry players who unsurpriseingly took the ball of him ...worked in to our defence where the keeper left it behind him and another Cavan sub somehow managed to throw the ball into his own net while trying to pick it up..... Hope they can now pick themselves up and give Galway a good rattle...

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 18/07/2017 21:22:03    2018944

Replying To Sean.66:  "Saw the highlights of the game last night and Cavan played some good football and got some great scores.... The Derry goal which took the game away totally from Cavan was a total camality....first one sub ( looked tiny ) soloed the ball straight into 3 Derry players who unsurpriseingly took the ball of him ...worked in to our defence where the keeper left it behind him and another Cavan sub somehow managed to throw the ball into his own net while trying to pick it up..... Hope they can now pick themselves up and give Galway a good rattle..."
Felt sorry for them kids involved in that goal. However I think game was fine before then. Best chance we had was direct after our goal we missed a great chance to reduce to 1 point. That would've really got us back in it and asked a lot of questions of Derry. AbywY hopefully the lads can pick it up against Galway

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 18/07/2017 21:51:50    2018962

Replying To fredflint:  "Felt sorry for them kids involved in that goal. However I think game was fine before then. Best chance we had was direct after our goal we missed a great chance to reduce to 1 point. That would've really got us back in it and asked a lot of questions of Derry. AbywY hopefully the lads can pick it up against Galway"
That 1/4 final score I think was 1-09 to 9 points. I stand corrected however.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 19/07/2017 17:05:13    2019424

Lads didn't look too disappointed in the 5th avenue bar in Cavan Town that night....you'd think they won it!

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 19/07/2017 17:13:09    2019429

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Lads didn't look too disappointed in the 5th avenue bar in Cavan Town that night....you'd think they won it!"
You are very sad and bitter. Should they have entered a monastery for a week whilst beating themselves?

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 20/07/2017 08:53:09    2019736

we appeared to have no plan, but that aside we were simply out performed !
We were cleaned out of it at mid field and their forwards had the better of our backs.
When you analyse it it was 23 scores to Cavan's 14 scores. 9 scores more !
Some say the black card changed the game, but to be honest it was only ever going one way. It might have reduced the margin of victory but the result was never in doubt

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 20/07/2017 13:40:25    2019952

It is fairly clear that a lot of posters on here were not at the game. I left the game last Sunday very proud of our minor team this year ,and the football they played. That included the final , we were right in the game with 10 mins to go. I also tought the switches made before half time on kickouts worked really well . Derry were the better team ,we all knew this coming into the game. So start knocking people for playing positive football is wrong . We got a very harch black card . James Smith was after scoring a goal ,and was going to be a big player in the second half. Also we scored the Derry goal for them. The lucky breaks all went Derrys way. Yet cavan never gave up . Great credit to all involved. Roll on to Galway. Hope your holidays went well doratheexplorer. Great to be able to give comments from Europe.

Countrywide2 (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 22/07/2017 15:07:29    2020927

Replying To Countrywide2:  "It is fairly clear that a lot of posters on here were not at the game. I left the game last Sunday very proud of our minor team this year ,and the football they played. That included the final , we were right in the game with 10 mins to go. I also tought the switches made before half time on kickouts worked really well . Derry were the better team ,we all knew this coming into the game. So start knocking people for playing positive football is wrong . We got a very harch black card . James Smith was after scoring a goal ,and was going to be a big player in the second half. Also we scored the Derry goal for them. The lucky breaks all went Derrys way. Yet cavan never gave up . Great credit to all involved. Roll on to Galway. Hope your holidays went well doratheexplorer. Great to be able to give comments from Europe."
absolutely 100% correct these lads can be very proud of their performances throughout the championship so far , despite many setbacks during the
3 games where heads could have dropped and they could have been bet out the gate they have always shown courage bravery & no little skill, they
deserve ONLY encouragement from EVERY true Cavan supporter not like some of the stuff thats been written on other posts.
Remember these are still young lads and are entitled after all their effort to have a night off, I don't know any of these lads personally but they have brightened up my summer with their displays and I have no doubt they are preparing as we speak for the Galway game and wont be surprised if they topple the westerners.

spiritof97 (Cavan) - Posts: 36 - 22/07/2017 16:05:39    2020955

These bunch of lads have heart and guts. They never give up and that's half the battle. Give them fair play . They are fully entitled to a night out after putting in many hours in training.

Kilnaleck Blue (Cavan) - Posts: 25 - 22/07/2017 22:35:59    2021247

Replying To Kilnaleck Blue:  "These bunch of lads have heart and guts. They never give up and that's half the battle. Give them fair play . They are fully entitled to a night out after putting in many hours in training."
Two weeks to the Galway match let's hope the cobwebs are cleared and all the lads are fit and rearing to go. Best of luck to John and his team.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 23/07/2017 11:13:35    2021559

Replying To seanorinn:  "Two weeks to the Galway match let's hope the cobwebs are cleared and all the lads are fit and rearing to go. Best of luck to John and his team."
Galway by 10+

kupa (Monaghan) - Posts: 281 - 23/07/2017 12:19:05    2021621