National League

By the look of things, the manager has a lot to learn. Too big of a step up for him into div 1, killian Clarke back midfield is a classic when he clearly plays better at either CB or FB

McGiolla (Cavan) - Posts: 42 - 02/04/2017 21:39:20    1974447

Killian clarke isn't a mid fielder
Stop letting teams win there own kick outs
Stop changing a winning team
Play players in there posistion
Let the ball into the forwards
Theses are simple things we aren't doing

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 02/04/2017 21:57:11    1974466

Replying To blueskies:  "I said it a few weeks. This team will never win anything, they have been in countless finals this decade and Lost every single one. A losers mentality in this group. .Seeing monaghon today i cant see us beating them in brefni so this year could prove to be disastrous. Terrible day."
Have you posted in the wrong thread accidentally? Our Seniors have been in COUNTLESS finals this decade and I never know about it??
Others can't count the amount of times we've lost to Roscommon in recent years, if you can't count to 4 or 5 step away from the computer.

Jesus lads the old trait of Cavan fans overreacting is perfectly captured on here today. A bit of balance wouldn't go amiss.

We had ups and downs in the campaign, we've found an option inside in McVeety, we've found that Feargal Reilly can cut it at this level. The team aren't complete walkovers, we salvaged 2 points from games that looked like they had slipped away. However, there's also a lack of consistency in the team's desire, Donegal walked all over us on our home patch and we barely put up a fight, with something to play for today we didn't go after the game.
We're not as potent in attack as we were last year. Management have shown naivety, twice by my count we've been left with 14 because the management emptied the bench too early. They overcooked the pudding today. They're still learning.

It's been a mixed bag from both players and management. Relegation was disappointing, but deserved. There's no room for error come championship and we still look like we're a decent bit behind Monaghan, Donegal and Tyrone. Beating Monaghan will require a top class performance but it's not an impossible task by any means.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 02/04/2017 21:59:07    1974468

Some players have been listed in the 26 for every league game and not used, ie Colm Smith, what's that about?

Like the Donegal game Cavan had to finish with 14 men as all the subs were used before Maddens black card.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 02/04/2017 22:01:09    1974469

Replying To JonSmith:  "Have you posted in the wrong thread accidentally? Our Seniors have been in COUNTLESS finals this decade and I never know about it??
Others can't count the amount of times we've lost to Roscommon in recent years, if you can't count to 4 or 5 step away from the computer.

Jesus lads the old trait of Cavan fans overreacting is perfectly captured on here today. A bit of balance wouldn't go amiss.

We had ups and downs in the campaign, we've found an option inside in McVeety, we've found that Feargal Reilly can cut it at this level. The team aren't complete walkovers, we salvaged 2 points from games that looked like they had slipped away. However, there's also a lack of consistency in the team's desire, Donegal walked all over us on our home patch and we barely put up a fight, with something to play for today we didn't go after the game.
We're not as potent in attack as we were last year. Management have shown naivety, twice by my count we've been left with 14 because the management emptied the bench too early. They overcooked the pudding today. They're still learning.

It's been a mixed bag from both players and management. Relegation was disappointing, but deserved. There's no room for error come championship and we still look like we're a decent bit behind Monaghan, Donegal and Tyrone. Beating Monaghan will require a top class performance but it's not an impossible task by any means."
Dr mc kenna cup final a few years ago when we forgot there were two halves in a game. Div 3 league final, div 2 league final last year are three that come to mind.
We flatter to deceive !! Div 2 is our level
We haven't no top class forwards. We have average players and I can't see anything changing over the next 10 years.
We caught Mayo, Kerry and Monaghan on off days !

FrDougalMaguire (Cavan) - Posts: 152 - 03/04/2017 09:33:44    1974596

Replying To FrDougalMaguire:  "Dr mc kenna cup final a few years ago when we forgot there were two halves in a game. Div 3 league final, div 2 league final last year are three that come to mind.
We haven't no top class forwards. We have average players and I can't see anything changing over the next 10 years.
We caught Mayo, Kerry and Monaghan on off days !"
?????????????????????????????????? Sad ??????????????????????????????

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 03/04/2017 10:04:17    1974618

Very easy to blame the new manager in his first season - but, he can only pick the team, and from then on, its up to the players on the pitch to perform and they didn't. They're simply not good enough, Ive heard criticism of Brady and McEnroe being brought on for the first time this year, they've been training, they've played challenge games so they should be fresh and ready to go.

Ive faced criticism before on this, but unless you have lads playing regular league football with their clubs, league football thats competitive, they are not going to cut it at County level when it comes to games like Roscommon. I'll ask the question, when was the last time any of our County Players played a competitive fixture for their club? Unless the Cavan County Board fix the league in Cavan, we will face numerous years of disappointment, and the last few years of Cavan Football is proof of this.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 03/04/2017 10:08:28    1974620

I didn't make the game yesterday so all i'm going on for an honest assessment is on here. The Killian Clarke debacle has been going on throughout the league. I fully understand the concept of match ups for any particular game but why was he put back in to a position he's clearly uncomfortable with for what was our most important game. the man of the match in our last two games in their respective positions was Gearoid and Killian so why were they moved. now i understand Gearoid hadn't the greatest game last week but against roscommon who's midfield is average at best was he not the option.
Regardless of what positional changes were made i'd have been expecting cavan to die in their boots yesterday. Roscommon may be a boogie team and cavan inconsistent or whatever you'd say but my god. is it true cavan went 35 minutes without a point form play in the second half? not the hallmark of a team battling relegation. We've seen in the last couple of games that when the attitude is right cavan are a match for anyone. so what happened yesterday. is it confidence, fear, complacency. what is the problem. it doesn't bode well for the championship. if they cant win a must win game against an already relegated roscommon how can a win against Monaghan (presumably)

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 03/04/2017 10:09:04    1974621

Like everyone else left Roscommon yesterday very disappointed with the performance. In the end we could have been beaten by 6 or 7 points.

I don't want to always be complaining about referees but can someone please tell me why he continuously called Galligan back to retake his kickouts in the first half and again when Gearoid was blatantly dragged down in the first half how is that not a black card? Again in the second half I was sitting right in front of Conor Madden when he was black carded for essentially running into a Roscommon player along the side line whom he couldn't avoid and if anything exaggerated the contact. At worst it was a yellow card. I feel sorry for the players because there is absolutely no consistency in the decision making.

Lastly! games can change on small margins and when Cavan got the goal at the beginning of the second half for us to allow Roscommon up the field virtually unopposed was very disappointing. Killian Clarke needs to be in our full back line and had he been there Roscommon most certainly would not have scored the goal and most likely we would have kicked on and won the match. I know Mattie is looking at midfield and the need for a consistent ball winner there but don't cut off your nose to spite your face. Good defence breathes confidence, bad defence drains it and you could see yesterday when the goal went in confidence drain out of the players.

Joebe (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 03/04/2017 10:14:28    1974628

why does he change a team that played so well against kerry for most of the game and also if any of you where at the game yesterday you could clearly see the attitude from the players was brutal mckeirnan was standing with his hands on his head half way through the first half we are clueless up front really

cavan14 (Cavan) - Posts: 32 - 03/04/2017 10:17:29    1974630

Replying To JonSmith:  "Have you posted in the wrong thread accidentally? Our Seniors have been in COUNTLESS finals this decade and I never know about it??

It's been a mixed bag from both players and management. Relegation was disappointing, but deserved. There's no room for error come championship and we still look like we're a decent bit behind Monaghan, Donegal and Tyrone. Beating Monaghan will require a top class performance but it's not an impossible task by any means."
I think they have been in four finals this decade. McKenna Cup 2014 , 2015 Division 3 Final 2014, Division 2 2016. The point i was making is this says a lot about a teams mental edge and ours seems to be very weak. We have no leaders in this group If you look at roscommon a similar team to ourselves they have been a couple of finals in recent times and won them . Its not just about these final days bar mayo this year on the big days Cavan let you down. Semi Finals, games that they should be winning we lose by a point or too. I firmly believe Cavan need someone to work on the mental side of there game.
When are we gonna man up and do the business its 2017 this transition has been in place since 2012 and im getting sick of the whole thing. The time is now so go and do it.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 03/04/2017 10:36:31    1974646

Sick today. Yesterday will take time to get over, no doubt about it. I was fully sure when McVeety planted his goal that survival was on. Donegal were in the driving seat in Castlebar at that stage of the game too which makes the collapse from that point on even harder to take. It was there for Cavan but still we couldn't drive it on!

Looking back over the last week I think that most in the county were guilty of writing off Roscommon. The team looked to be in the same frame of mind. We can point the finger at management, but the spine of the team was close to what many on here have been calling for- Galligan, Rory Dunne, McKiernan all in position, McDermott, Mackey, Dillon all getting good game time. Was Killian Clarke at midfield instead of centre half back really the difference in winning and losing? Or was it the collective failure of senior players to grab the game when it was there to be won? The latter I think. Some big names went into hiding for the last 20 minutes.

A few weeks club time will do the panel a lot of good, clear the slate and build again in training. No way looking forward to championship at this stage, it will most likely be Monaghan and they looked very strong against the Dubs yesterday by all accounts. That said, we always have the beating of them or Fermanagh on any given day. The closer it gets the more we will believe- will we ever learn!?

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 03/04/2017 10:37:42    1974648

One of the poorest games i have been at in a while. There were Roscommon lads beside us asking what's wrong with Cavan do they not know mayo are 4 points down (they were at that stage). Roscommon were there for the taking they fluffed a couple of goal chances in the first half and hit some bad wides from way out the field but we were even worse.

Our lads looked slow, burned out even and our full back had a nightmare yesterday. Was bad for the goal, got lucky in the first half with a one on one and also hand-passed to a Roscommon forward when under pressure which luckily they could not convert.

There was no fight, leadership or direction which was summed up by McDermott's 40 meter free near the end which hit the clouds. Also how many shots did we hit into the keepers hands ..? a serious failing that hasn't be addresses in a few seasons probably longer...

I agree with posters on here in that players are played out of position but i would never have played mcvitty in the full forward line yet it works well so players have to be tried out in different positions but not several times when its clearly not working.

I thought madden was sent off and then i heard it was a black card and all subs were used ... im mean come on again ..? after the same thing with Donegal ..? Also when we were 3 points down, Roscommon had the ball and were passing over and back on our 45 meter line and not a glove was laid on a player - it was awful to watch and the fans were just holding their heads ...

The Monaghan game (sorry Fermanagh!) is at home which is worth a few points but by god we have work to do. Positive points are reilly in defence and mcvitty in attack but we need more from the rest

sidelineview (Cavan) - Posts: 109 - 03/04/2017 11:11:34    1974683

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Sick today. Yesterday will take time to get over, no doubt about it. I was fully sure when McVeety planted his goal that survival was on. Donegal were in the driving seat in Castlebar at that stage of the game too which makes the collapse from that point on even harder to take. It was there for Cavan but still we couldn't drive it on!

Looking back over the last week I think that most in the county were guilty of writing off Roscommon. The team looked to be in the same frame of mind. We can point the finger at management, but the spine of the team was close to what many on here have been calling for- Galligan, Rory Dunne, McKiernan all in position, McDermott, Mackey, Dillon all getting good game time. Was Killian Clarke at midfield instead of centre half back really the difference in winning and losing? Or was it the collective failure of senior players to grab the game when it was there to be won? The latter I think. Some big names went into hiding for the last 20 minutes.

A few weeks club time will do the panel a lot of good, clear the slate and build again in training. No way looking forward to championship at this stage, it will most likely be Monaghan and they looked very strong against the Dubs yesterday by all accounts. That said, we always have the beating of them or Fermanagh on any given day. The closer it gets the more we will believe- will we ever learn!?"
Or was it the collective failure of senior players to grab the game when it was there to be won? The latter I think. Some big names went into hiding for the last 20 minutes.
i have to agree..........and unfortunately this is becoming a recurring theme

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 03/04/2017 11:48:13    1974713

Replying To Joebe:  "Like everyone else left Roscommon yesterday very disappointed with the performance. In the end we could have been beaten by 6 or 7 points.

I don't want to always be complaining about referees but can someone please tell me why he continuously called Galligan back to retake his kickouts in the first half and again when Gearoid was blatantly dragged down in the first half how is that not a black card? Again in the second half I was sitting right in front of Conor Madden when he was black carded for essentially running into a Roscommon player along the side line whom he couldn't avoid and if anything exaggerated the contact. At worst it was a yellow card. I feel sorry for the players because there is absolutely no consistency in the decision making.

Lastly! games can change on small margins and when Cavan got the goal at the beginning of the second half for us to allow Roscommon up the field virtually unopposed was very disappointing. Killian Clarke needs to be in our full back line and had he been there Roscommon most certainly would not have scored the goal and most likely we would have kicked on and won the match. I know Mattie is looking at midfield and the need for a consistent ball winner there but don't cut off your nose to spite your face. Good defence breathes confidence, bad defence drains it and you could see yesterday when the goal went in confidence drain out of the players."
I fully agree with everything you said joebe. I cannot understand why Killian Clarke is not been played in defence. He's a back . not a midfielder, and not a forward. Mattie said in interview last Sunday evening I asked k Clarke are you going to let p Falkner take your no 3 jersey and he said not a chance.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 03/04/2017 11:56:40    1974726

Replying To blueskies:  "I think they have been in four finals this decade. McKenna Cup 2014 , 2015 Division 3 Final 2014, Division 2 2016. The point i was making is this says a lot about a teams mental edge and ours seems to be very weak. We have no leaders in this group If you look at roscommon a similar team to ourselves they have been a couple of finals in recent times and won them . Its not just about these final days bar mayo this year on the big days Cavan let you down. Semi Finals, games that they should be winning we lose by a point or too. I firmly believe Cavan need someone to work on the mental side of there game.
When are we gonna man up and do the business its 2017 this transition has been in place since 2012 and im getting sick of the whole thing. The time is now so go and do it."
Roscommon had 2 bites against Galway in the Connaught final (and Galway played terribly the 1st day) last year and didn't win.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 03/04/2017 12:00:18    1974728

Well, that's the league over, a disappointing end to a mediocre campaign.
Thought first half was a good game of football. We were in a good position at half time and I thought we would use the wind to our advantage second half. Great start to second half with the goal but unfortunately it was a false dawn. Fair play to Roscommon, they were the better team. Set themselves up well. Left 5 men back all the time so weren't exposed to our counter but still had the much better forwards to penetrate Cavan's defense even though there wasn't much space as our defenders heavily outnumbered their attackers. We became very panicked and our decision making was poor. I thought at times we were confused in defense with too many men marking space and not knowing who was supposed to tackle the runners. Our support play in attack was terrible in general. Our runners constantly came to the middle offering no width to attacks and drawing defenders to the man in possession. We invariably always made the wrong decision when we did get into nice attacking positions. Our shooting wasn't good either. Last 15 minutes it looked like Roscommon were the team chasing the game and there was a total lack of on field leadership. Galligan in the middle of the field at the end summed up our day. Got the ball he was looking for but missed the square with his delivery. Right idea, terrible execution.
So back to Division 2 for next year. Very tough looking Division promotion wise and hard to pick 2 to go up. We will have our work cut out with plenty of tough games which is good. Probably suits us better as we are going to have to learn how to break teams down that are about our level and set up against us. But it is vital we don't drop any more.
What have we learned this campaign? I think we have plenty of battlers but not many leaders. We are good counter attacking but get it hard to break teams down that set up defensively. Our defense is organised but very susceptible to pacy direct forwards. CHB is still an issue. Midfield is an issue. We need a couple of forwards that are more direct and pacier. We need a target man up front for an extra option at times. We need a free taker.
Hard to know where we're at going into Championship. It's definitely not all doom and gloom but I feel we need an injection of something. Hopefully the U21s might provide a few extra bodies.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 03/04/2017 13:39:44    1974792

We are prob back playing were we belong . We just dont have good enough players .. i think we are carrying alot of players also . I cant understand y he changed the team around killian clarke is the best fb u have . Killian brady isnt good enough i duno y jason mc isnt taking that place . Conor moynagh is no good at center back .. we need a midfeild i dont think either of them are good enough . I also think we lack a leader and have done since alan clarke left the panal . I have watched the u21s and think c bradley and c reilly will b in other than that i dont no .

cavanlawd123 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 03/04/2017 15:38:41    1974872

Replying To FrDougalMaguire:  "Dr mc kenna cup final a few years ago when we forgot there were two halves in a game. Div 3 league final, div 2 league final last year are three that come to mind.
We caught Mayo, Kerry and Monaghan on off days !"
Taking d barkey of that day was a hugh mistake .. his man was scorless took barkey off wit 15 to go and he fisnished wit 1.4 killian the gunner on him

cavanlawd123 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 03/04/2017 15:42:35    1974875

Replying To cavanlawd123:  "We are prob back playing were we belong . We just dont have good enough players .. i think we are carrying alot of players also . I cant understand y he changed the team around killian clarke is the best fb u have . Killian brady isnt good enough i duno y jason mc isnt taking that place . Conor moynagh is no good at center back .. we need a midfeild i dont think either of them are good enough . I also think we lack a leader and have done since alan clarke left the panal . I have watched the u21s and think c bradley and c reilly will b in other than that i dont no ."
Agreed. This time last year after the Galway match the Celt ran a banner headline 'Back Where We Belong'.
They may reprint it this week

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 03/04/2017 17:11:42    1974921