National League

Desperate stuff

McGiolla (Cavan) - Posts: 42 - 02/04/2017 15:40:58    1974094

We got exactly what we deserved today. That was an unbelievably poor performance. A division 2 performance. Very very disappointing.

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 02/04/2017 15:42:32    1974097

Wow! Mayo turn it around and fair play to them, but to lose from being a goal up early in the 2nd half against a team who had nothing to play for is sickening! There'll be questions asked of the mental toughness of this team and rightly so. It's worrying that the bulk of the team is now on the go for 4 or 5 seasons and still looks to have so much to learn.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 02/04/2017 15:45:33    1974103

Draw with Monaghan,Kerry and beat Mayo in their own back yard.
We can't beat the worst team in division 1.
What the hell is going on!!!

Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 02/04/2017 15:47:07    1974108

Ah sure we don't have the players. We'll be grand in division 2.
Gutted for the lads that's worked so hard.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 02/04/2017 15:51:41    1974116

Yeah right. Following on radio today and it just sounds like a complete shambles.
Why,why, why all the changes.

Dr.who (Cavan) - Posts: 24 - 02/04/2017 15:59:31    1974124

I said it a few weeks. This team will never win anything, they have been in countless finals this decade and Lost every single one. A losers mentality in this group. .Seeing monaghon today i cant see us beating them in brefni so this year could prove to be disastrous. Terrible day.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 02/04/2017 16:43:13    1974164

If you can't beat this Roscommon team you don't deserve to stay up. Poor from management and the players too. We have to be very careful about thinking that we will bounce back up next year because we were reasonably competitive this year. It simply doesn't work that way, look what's happened Down, Derry, Cork.

Time to put the league out of our minds now. Take the lessons learned and try come up with a plan to beat Monaghan (presuming they'll come through the Fermanagh game)

Let's hope the U21s can get a win on Wednesday night and salvage something from the week!

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 02/04/2017 16:59:16    1974180

absolutely terrible stuff - why is it we can never win a game that we are favourites for ? Its obvious we re not a division 1 team anyway , very doubtful if we re even good enough for division 2 . Why all the changes ? What better was Niall Clerkin going to be than Joe Dillon ? Also bringing on two players ( Jack Brady and McEnroe ) who haven't played a minute of league football between them and expect them to instantly perform. And once again bringing on all six subs and have no one left to replace the black carded player second time this has happened.

tenyearplan (Cavan) - Posts: 147 - 02/04/2017 17:16:30    1974197

Very poor display. Roscommon knew what they were doing when they attacked, . Cavan stop and lateral pass for a duration.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 02/04/2017 17:25:10    1974205

Why did ye have so many changes today.Haven't seen some of your subs at all in the league.Roscommon were under serious pressure to perform today so result didn't surprise us.a lot of cash was put on at the bookies too....ye had a very good league compared to us and if ye avoided donegal and managed to beat monaghan ulster is there for ye.Tyrone have been shown up big time.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 517 - 02/04/2017 17:48:01    1974225

Replying To Ros2013:  "Why did ye have so many changes today.Haven't seen some of your subs at all in the league.Roscommon were under serious pressure to perform today so result didn't surprise us.a lot of cash was put on at the bookies too....ye had a very good league compared to us and if ye avoided donegal and managed to beat monaghan ulster is there for ye.Tyrone have been shown up big time."
I don't know and nobody else seems to know either.

McGleenan has been talking down out survival chances all year and kept insisting that the first round of Ulster is the focus.

I think we'll look back on the league campaign as a whole and regret that there was an opportunity to stay up which we didn't take.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 02/04/2017 18:12:43    1974258

Have a read of Joe Brolly lads in the indo today. Sounds like we in Cavan are afflicted with the same OCD system. Another 6 months of this and we won't have a county standard player left in a blue jersey. Hon the club till we see a bita real football. This is gone beyond a joke. Heard Monaghan were mighty today. Look forward to seein it on the telly.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 02/04/2017 18:17:10    1974264

That was dire. We're miles off the top teams in Ulster.

The style of play is depressing. Why do we retreat like a basketball team behind our own 45 when the opposition have possession? It then takes us ages to win the ball back, it was astonishing to see Roscommon players in our half literally walking around with the ball and our lads standing 5 yards away waiting for them to attack. You're chasing a game, your division 1 status is at stake, advance and tackle high up the field, jaysus wept I never seen the likes of it. The supporters were rightly annoyed at that.

I understand that McGleenan is new in the job, and I wouldn't be too harsh on him for getting relegated, but for some reason when our lads see a Roscommon jersey their mindset just falls apart. I've lost count of how many times we've lost to these guys in recent years.

As for the championship, I expect Monaghan to easily beat Fermanagh, and it appears they've unearthed a new talent up front in Jack McCarron to take the pressure of McManus, which is exactly what they needed to move them to the next level. So I can't see a win for us there either.

Hopefully the u21's can give us something to cheer about this week.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 02/04/2017 19:02:48    1974311

Tipperary promoted from Division 3 today have better forwards then Cavan in Sweeney and Quinlivan.

Cavan are quite limited, if Mckiernan is well marked, the scores are hard to come by.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 02/04/2017 19:03:15    1974312

Replying To shannon414:  "Have a read of Joe Brolly lads in the indo today. Sounds like we in Cavan are afflicted with the same OCD system. Another 6 months of this and we won't have a county standard player left in a blue jersey. Hon the club till we see a bita real football. This is gone beyond a joke. Heard Monaghan were mighty today. Look forward to seein it on the telly."
Monaghan mighty today? Depends who you talk to I suppose. They harried, pulled and dragged Dublin for an hour, got themselves in a great position to win the game then fell apart, completely bottled it. They have a mental block when it comes to making that next step against the big teams when it really matters (remember the losses to Tyrone in Croker?).
The problem is, we have that same problem too but it doesn't matter who we play - if there's something there to be won we bottle it.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 02/04/2017 19:09:17    1974317

Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "That was dire. We're miles off the top teams in Ulster.

The style of play is depressing. Why do we retreat like a basketball team behind our own 45 when the opposition have possession? It then takes us ages to win the ball back, it was astonishing to see Roscommon players in our half literally walking around with the ball and our lads standing 5 yards away waiting for them to attack. You're chasing a game, your division 1 status is at stake, advance and tackle high up the field, jaysus wept I never seen the likes of it. The supporters were rightly annoyed at that.

I understand that McGleenan is new in the job, and I wouldn't be too harsh on him for getting relegated, but for some reason when our lads see a Roscommon jersey their mindset just falls apart. I've lost count of how many times we've lost to these guys in recent years.

As for the championship, I expect Monaghan to easily beat Fermanagh, and it appears they've unearthed a new talent up front in Jack McCarron to take the pressure of McManus, which is exactly what they needed to move them to the next level. So I can't see a win for us there either.

Hopefully the u21's can give us something to cheer about this week."
Good post Ned. How we set ourselves up, conceding kick outs to a team with no midfield and a dodgy back line was just ridiculous. Manager had team in a decent place last two games and went messing with the line out again. Very depressing stuff. Throwing in 2 players that haven't kicked a competitive ball all year. Mackey fitness is not coming up either worryingly.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 02/04/2017 19:28:06    1974331

Hi Guys.. Chatting with a Roscommon man on the way back into Dublin. He was very surprised at the way Cavan allowed his team to play. If you play that kinda game you don't deserve to win, you get punished.It's disappointing to see how much possession was handed over to the opposition. Some Cavan players had their hands on their heads. !! Blowing hard!! 25 mins into the game !! I would fear for Cavan fcotball going forward.

Management have to take responsibility for the players fitness levels , game plan and what happens on the field of play on the day..

At the end of this year's campaign, we will surely loose another 3 - 4 players from this team. What players are coming through the system?

Believe it or not.. It destroys me to see a Cavan team go back so far, so soon.....

upandcomingblue (Cavan) - Posts: 37 - 02/04/2017 19:40:39    1974352

I was expecting the team to be really up for this game today but alas and maybe predictably it again didn't happen. They bottled it big time.
Very disappointed and this does not auger well for the Championship.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 02/04/2017 20:26:03    1974390

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "I was expecting the team to be really up for this game today but alas and maybe predictably it again didn't happen. They bottled it big time.
Very disappointed and this does not auger well for the Championship."
Starting Killian Clarke at midfield, that experiment didn't work earlier in league and best result's were got with him in defence.

No fight in them.

No urgency in getting the ball up the field.

Sitting deep and letting Roscommon keep the ball when time running out and 3 points down.

Playing with goalkeeper around middle of field for the last 5 minutes when didn't bother going man for man the whole game up to that.

I wouldn't have much hope for championship lads.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 845 - 02/04/2017 21:10:05    1974426