National League

Thanks for ye'r hospitality today Cavan lads. I got talking to some lovely people in the stand and on the field after the game , I couldn't miss my chance to walk on to the breffni pitch.
Anyway after a shocking bad first half by both our teams the second half was a lot more exciting and in all honesty ye were the better team and if ye won we could have had no complaints.
Anyway I was well happy with the draw and best of luck to ye for the rest of the year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/03/2017 23:36:02    1971556

even if we end up level on 6 points with Kerry and mayo we can still survive. a 7 or 8 point swing could do it. ( we win by 8 and mayo lose by 7).

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 27/03/2017 00:23:55    1971565

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Thanks for ye'r hospitality today Cavan lads. I got talking to some lovely people in the stand and on the field after the game , I couldn't miss my chance to walk on to the breffni pitch.
Anyway after a shocking bad first half by both our teams the second half was a lot more exciting and in all honesty ye were the better team and if ye won we could have had no complaints.
Anyway I was well happy with the draw and best of luck to ye for the rest of the year."
Fair play KingdomBoy1 nice post.
Hopefully ye will do us a favour by getting a result against Tyrone at home as I feel Donegal have a league final place at stake against Mayo so should be well up for it.
That just leaves us having to beat our bogey team of the last few years.
Roscommon will be no pushover at home and scoring 1-14 against the Dubs is probably enough to win most games.
Morale seems good within the setup , we have a few months now to improve on a few things like our composure in front of goal and our shooting.
Regardless of what happens we have held our own with 3 Div1 teams and most people would have settled for that at the start of the league.
Mattie has given new players a fair crack at it during this league.
We are improving with each game .
An Ulster final appearance is not out of the question if we can keep everybody fit.
No stupid straight red cards next Sunday is a must as this will affect the 1st round of the championship.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 27/03/2017 08:28:23    1971603

Replying To s goldrick:  "even if we end up level on 6 points with Kerry and mayo we can still survive. a 7 or 8 point swing could do it. ( we win by 8 and mayo lose by 7)."
Oh yeah but if be amazed if Mayo are beat by more than 3 or 4. I do think Donegal will win tho. A win puts them in a league final so they'll go all out hopefully.

Kerry Tyrone is always a big game. Kerry won't want to be beaten at home in their final league game.

Theres every chance both results will go our way. We need to make absolutely sure we do our own job first and foremost. If we do happen to be 6 or 7 up at half time then by all means go hell for leather but as bad as roscommon have been, they're still very dangerous. They made 3 goal scoring chances in the 1st half alone against dublin.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 27/03/2017 08:48:00    1971608

Replying To s goldrick:  "even if we end up level on 6 points with Kerry and mayo we can still survive. a 7 or 8 point swing could do it. ( we win by 8 and mayo lose by 7)."
We won't win by 8 and Mayo won't lose by 7 at home that definitely won't happen.
But I still feel results could go our way IF we do our own job properly .
It would be great achievement to stay up as we seem to be growing in confidence with every game.
But it won't be the end of the world if we go down because looking at Div 2 we are well capable of bouncing straight back up.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 27/03/2017 09:33:21    1971629

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "We won't win by 8 and Mayo won't lose by 7 at home that definitely won't happen.
But I still feel results could go our way IF we do our own job properly .
It would be great achievement to stay up as we seem to be growing in confidence with every game.
But it won't be the end of the world if we go down because looking at Div 2 we are well capable of bouncing straight back up."
How many more scores would we need if it was a three way tie like last year with Cork being relegated with six points to be ahead of Mayo or Kerry????.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 27/03/2017 09:51:17    1971636

Replying To seanorinn:  "How many more scores would we need if it was a three way tie like last year with Cork being relegated with six points to be ahead of Mayo or Kerry????."
We are -20 and Mayo are -5 Kerry are +6 so they are safe .
We would need to win by 8 and Mayo to lose by 7 then we would both be -12 but we would win on the head to head.
Can't see Mayo losing by 7 or us winning by 8.
So the best we can hope for is Kerry to get a result against Tyrone. Donegal to beat Mayo. Us to win , that would relegate Mayo on the 2 way head to head with us.
If we do our job I think the other results will run to suit us.
After all Donegal are 1 win away from a league final so they will be up for the Mayo game.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 27/03/2017 10:34:26    1971663

I know we need other results to go our way but the team need to concentrate on beating Roscommon and by god we owe them one.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 27/03/2017 10:44:12    1971674

I thought if we beat Roscommon and Donegal beat Mayo that we go above Mayo on the head to head and score difference is irrelevant? No?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 27/03/2017 10:58:06    1971680

I don't know will Donegal actually want to beat Mayo and get into a league final against Dublin before Championship.
They played 6 U21's yesterday who also played last wed v Tyrone and will play Cavan U21 this week. Will he play them again if they are in an Ulster Final?
Unfortunately I feel this one will suit Mayo although you never know.

gowna02 (Cavan) - Posts: 99 - 27/03/2017 10:58:30    1971681

Replying To seanorinn:  "This match today I thought had some quality but really there is loads of room for improvement. This is a match that we gave away a point that could well haunt us.
7 wides on the trot to allow Kerry a two point lead was pure sacrilege . I know Kerry ended up with more wides in the whole match but I feel players need to be aware of the runners either on their left or their right. Two occasions Joe Dillion was running of a player with tons of room and had the option been taken he would have buried both. We need to work on this and realise there are other options. We took two shots for goals when the better option would have been to punch the ball over the bar. We need to get this killer instinct. Overall the substitutions were spot on but we lost a quality player this has to stop. I know his heart is in the right place but he needs to be more subtle when going into attack. Mackey came on in just the right time great move. One thing that annoyed me was we started to mess about with this passing back and across the pitch and the clock was ticking down this needs to stop move forward plenty options. Maybe a few were below par today but overall everyone worked hard. Great 45 scored by Raymond as well. Unfortunately our faith is not in our hands but please god Donegal will beat Mayo and Tyrone draw with Kerry and we will be playing division 1 next year I think it will be fantastic if this happens. It was a great atmosphere today on our county pitch and I can tell you as a Cork man I was never so proud of a Cavan team in all my years as I was today they are a credit to the jersey. I can now say without fear of contradiction they are a credit to the jersey and mean it. Well done to all and it was great to see Joe Dillion play today as well for this lad loves his roots dearly and has a solid heart. Congratulations to all the players also the management team. Roll on the next match Roscommon let's get rid of the monkey."
Pitch looked great yesterday Sean

TheFean (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 27/03/2017 11:16:04    1971695

Replying To TheFean:  "Pitch looked great yesterday Sean"
Pitch looked great yesterday Sean
TheFean (Cavan) - Posts:4 - 27/03/2017 11:16:04 1971695

Thank you a lot of work and the good weather was a great help to have our county pitch looking great again. Lined it three times to give it a good stand out effect. Weather means a lot on a day like yesterday as well.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 27/03/2017 11:27:35    1971704

Replying To Breffni39:  "I thought if we beat Roscommon and Donegal beat Mayo that we go above Mayo on the head to head and score difference is irrelevant? No?"
Only if Kerry don't lose.

If Kerry lose they'll stay on 6 pts too and with 3 teams on 6 pts head to head doesn't matter. It'll be score difference.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 27/03/2017 11:35:57    1971709

Great day & even better occasion. Good to be a cavan supporter again after the performances in castlebar last week & breffni yesterday. We have settled in division 1 & have stability in our team again. Even if results go against us next weekend we have to accomplish what's under our control & beat Roscommon. If that's not good enough to keep us up we will have momentum in preparation for the championship. Thought Killian Clarke put one of the best forwards in the country in his back pocket yesterday & mcvitty showed his class again. Mackey & Mcdermott played exceptional well with mackeys vision for a pass & McDermott's coolness with the free's vital. Also credit to Johnson for nailing the final free. Negatives have to be our complete inability to win our own kick-out especially in the second half , erratic shooting & concession of free's especially in the last qrt that would normally have cost us the point. I said it last week after the mayo game but we have reverted to our defensive game again and while difficult to watch at times the players are obviously exceptionally comfortable with it and performances have improved. Congrats to players & management

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 27/03/2017 12:01:14    1971724

Replying To gowna02:  "I don't know will Donegal actually want to beat Mayo and get into a league final against Dublin before Championship.
They played 6 U21's yesterday who also played last wed v Tyrone and will play Cavan U21 this week. Will he play them again if they are in an Ulster Final?
Unfortunately I feel this one will suit Mayo although you never know."
How do you know it's going to be against Dublin??
If Monaghan beat Dublin in clones it will be Monaghan v Donegal if they both win.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 27/03/2017 12:28:33    1971733

Replying To bond:  "Great day & even better occasion. Good to be a cavan supporter again after the performances in castlebar last week & breffni yesterday. We have settled in division 1 & have stability in our team again. Even if results go against us next weekend we have to accomplish what's under our control & beat Roscommon. If that's not good enough to keep us up we will have momentum in preparation for the championship. Thought Killian Clarke put one of the best forwards in the country in his back pocket yesterday & mcvitty showed his class again. Mackey & Mcdermott played exceptional well with mackeys vision for a pass & McDermott's coolness with the free's vital. Also credit to Johnson for nailing the final free. Negatives have to be our complete inability to win our own kick-out especially in the second half , erratic shooting & concession of free's especially in the last qrt that would normally have cost us the point. I said it last week after the mayo game but we have reverted to our defensive game again and while difficult to watch at times the players are obviously exceptionally comfortable with it and performances have improved. Congrats to players & management"
Agree with you on Killian who also managed to score himself. Thought he did a good job the previous week on Cillian O' Connor too.

TheFean (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 27/03/2017 13:05:52    1971771

Congratulations to team and management on a great point yesterday. Despite what a lot of people were saying about the Mayo team losing their last two, that was always going to be a game that we absolutely had to take something from. That's the real positive from our point of view that the lads fought it out till the end even though the performance left a lot of room for improvement. It was hard to watch at times thanks in no small part to Maurice Deegan.
I suppose it was a strange match in a way. Kerry might say they left it after them with bad wides but we opened them up better and looked more dangerous when we did get up in their half. We could say we left it after us despite getting absolutely annihilated at midfield and in the kick outs. I cannot remember us winning a single kick. I only remember us picking up the odd break. We looked hesitant at times and a lot of the lads may have let the occasion and opposition jersey get to them. Our support play was non existent sometimes too and we struggled to work the ball up the field. But in fairness to Kerry they are very strong tacklers and put serious pressure on the man in possession picking up all free men and leaving absolutely no room. Only a couple of our outfield players looked capable or confident of breaking the tackle. But we grew into the game and the lads that came on had a big impact which is very very encouraging to see.
I thought Kerry played on the edge at times and IMO were very lucky not to pick up quite a few black cards. They constantly block the run of the man as soon as he releases the ball. They are also brilliant at buying frees and Deegan fell for it every single time. As for the take down on Dara McVeety when in on goal, that was farcical.
For the most part I though we were reasonably disciplined in our tackling and defensive structure and we do seem to have learned quite a bit this campaign. As for Mattie, he is really starting to grow on me. Look it, there is huge room for improvement and our kick out strategy is a big worry but he is obviously getting a lot of things right and Rome wasn't built in a day. I'm sure he has something up his sleeve in that regard for further down the road but for now he seems content to concede kick outs. But it cannot last. When we were on the up yesterday the kick outs kept Kerry in touch and there was a spell where if we could have got our hands on the ball a bit more we could have turned the screw a bit. The players seem to like him and you get the feeling he is trying to build something. Lets hope he's with us and Mickey Harte stays in his job for the foreseeable future. It would be nice if he can add to the squad with returning players and U21 for our Ulster campaign. Kerry seem to be struggling a bit but they have players to come back and it will be interesting to see what exactly Jack O'Connor is holding back regarding their U21s. I think they will be a very different animal come summer and will have a big say in the destination of Sam.
Roscommon next week is another opportunity to push on. Survival is now out of our hands so all we can do is try and win and go into Championship on a positive note. But it won't be easy and they will want to take something from their league campaign too. They are a decent team and despite one or two results their overall results wouldn't be too dissimilar to ours.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 27/03/2017 13:38:46    1971793

I hope I'm wrong but I think the Roscommon game is going to be a very difficult away fixture.
We are averaging 12 points a game and although we only conceded 1 goal so far in 6 games I feel Roscommon have been scoring heavier than us but not getting the results.
They kicked 1-14 against the Dubs in Croke Park. Could have had a few goals too.
Definitely need to start improving our scoring averages as 12pts won't win many games this summer.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 27/03/2017 14:13:01    1971812

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "How do you know it's going to be against Dublin??
If Monaghan beat Dublin in clones it will be Monaghan v Donegal if they both win."
Dublin will remain unbeaten until August

gowna02 (Cavan) - Posts: 99 - 27/03/2017 14:13:26    1971813

Replying To gowna02:  "Dublin will remain unbeaten until August"
hardtimes
For the take down on Dara McVeety when in on goal, that was farcical. It was a stone wall penalty Deegan bottled it what's new.
Also Dara caught a kick out and got his mark as well as Joe Dillion.
We should watch the Donegal match and see how they managed midfield, they made no effort to field it but instead basket ball or volleyball style tapped it to their own man we fell down here sadly for Kerry took the majority of the breaking balls. We left one point behind us but taking a point from it in the end was fantastic. In the last 10 minuets of the first half we had 7 wides all of them scoreable.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 27/03/2017 14:33:34    1971824