Cavan V Westmeath

It's my opinion John.
I think it's madness going to NY at this time.
I don't agree with Dara O'Shea either.
Go to NY when we're out of the C/ship.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 29/03/2015 16:06:42    1707813

Well done to the players and mgnt. Mission accomplished as far as my league expectations went. After the Galway win today we are in with a real chance in bonus territory. Progress by any criteria.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 460 - 29/03/2015 16:12:41    1707823

Galways win today moves Cavan up to 3rd spot.... If Roscommon fail to win in Mullingar and we beat Meath then we are promoted... All to play for next w/e...!!!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 29/03/2015 16:28:47    1707837

fredflint

Another devastating result for Mowbar today, Galway beating Roscommon. If these terrible results continue Cavan may get promoted. Even worse people with be giving Terry Hyland credit. At least Cork won, the saviours of football.

Galway winning is a great result for Cavan for the door is wide open for promotion. With Cork winning I don't understand the relevance to be honest.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 29/03/2015 16:33:23    1707844

Hard to believe we're now one win away from playing division 1 football, but realistically I'd be far happier in division 2 for another year, I just don't think we're near ready for division 1, lets remember its not so long ago we got tanked by Armagh and Roscommon, neither world beaters. We're on the right track though and I definitely see promotion being on the cards next year, we need another 12 months to beef up physically, Tyrone (who will be relegated from division 1 today) were far superior to us in the physical stakes in the mc kenna cup final, so we need to be realistic, we're just not ready yet.

Oh, Fredflint and Mowbar, seriously lads yous are like two children with all the bickering that goes on between yous. It's laughable.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 29/03/2015 16:37:28    1707851

Its not long ago we tanked Monaghan and they now have 8 points in Div1. Glass half empty thinking yet again.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 29/03/2015 16:42:44    1707864

jaysus i don't buy into this this "not ready for div1" idea. Are we afraid to find out, afraid to win even afraid to loose. In theory if we were to follow the last few years of the u21 setup we should be pushing like hell to get up there (in theory). Of course there are great teams up there but are we happy with the mediocrity of div2 and just sit on our laurels. You've gotta pit yourself against the best, you need to find out even if its only to learn. We might even find out that the type of game we need to play needs to change to mix it with the big boys. But hell lets go find out instead of peering over the fence.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 29/03/2015 16:46:11    1707871

I'm sick to death of hearing that line " were not ready for division 1"
rubbish if we get promoted were ready.
life is to short to be letting opportunities slip buy. You take them when they come your way.
Cavan deserve to be in that division its where we belong and its where we will be this time next sunday.
remember tyrone armagh and derry will be in divison 2 next year. are time is now.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 29/03/2015 16:49:06    1707876

Cavan_Slasher

It's my opinion John.
I think it's madness going to NY at this time.
I don't agree with Dara O'Shea either.
Go to NY when we're out of the C/ship.

You disagree with Jim McGuinness, Eamon Fitzmaurice, Jack O'Connor all of whom have brought their teams on training camps pre championship. Do no alarm bells ring there Slasher?!

Yes it would be much better to go on a holiday after the exit from the Championship when the team can use the extremely rare opportunity to spend a period of days together doing something productive like sight seeing and drinking rather than training and match preparation.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 29/03/2015 16:55:45    1707885

fredflint

Its not long ago we tanked Monaghan and they now have 8 points in Div1. Glass half empty thinking yet again.

The Monaghan that dumped us out of Ulster in 2013? You know, when it REALLY mattered. Please don't mention McKenna cup or All Ireland reserve titles. Please. Just don't.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 29/03/2015 17:31:15    1707923

Then again I suppose it is another 11 months until the start of next years league, plenty of time to improve, on second thoughts, it might not be such a bad thing, all depends how we improve between end of league and championship, we all saw the collapse that happened last year, hopefully not a repeat of that.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 29/03/2015 17:32:57    1707929

Thanks for making my point John.

You don't need to go to America to train.
I don't recall Jim Mc Guinness etc making the journey to the U.S. for a training camp but maybe you can enlighten me as to when this was done.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 29/03/2015 18:14:27    1707977

Div 3 when Meath and Monaghan both went up we tanked them. Glass half empty miserable git

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 29/03/2015 18:21:42    1707986

fredflint

Div 3 when Meath and Monaghan both went up we tanked them. Glass half empty miserable git

Haha, you're a sad sad man fred. Life is dull when an anonymous poster on a GAA forum can evoke such crankiness in you. Have yourself a drink and take a break from hoganstand. It's not doing your blood pressure any good.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 29/03/2015 19:18:41    1708030

I'm happy out Ned. You keep working on your inferiority complex. Monaghan are no better than us.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 29/03/2015 19:59:53    1708059

Fredflint: we are a lot better then you. We are second in division one, we are playing the cream of Gaelic football and coping quite well. We won't win an all ireland but we are one of the top 5 teams in the country. Cavan are not, as seen by the amount of defections this year.

room2 (Monaghan) - Posts: 96 - 29/03/2015 20:59:58    1708103

We will see in breffni. The day Cavan fear Monaghan it will be a cold day in hell.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 29/03/2015 21:44:56    1708139

I'm sorry but how are Cavan as good as Monaghan?

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 29/03/2015 22:00:20    1708160

ziggy320001

I'm sorry but how are Cavan as good as Monaghan?

We are not as good as Monaghan, but it doesn't mean we wont give them a game.
There has been very little between both team in championship over the years. Monaghan will definitely be favorites based on their performances in Div 1 this year, and from the amount of players we have lost due to injury and personal commitments.

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 30/03/2015 09:54:22    1708205

fredflint

I'm happy out Ned. You keep working on your inferiority complex. Monaghan are no better than us.

Haha, laughable once more. Fred, just stop with the trash talk and preserve the last few threads of credibility you have left as a poster. People from other counties are even beginning to laugh at you. But of course you Know you've lost the debate when you resort to insults because you've run out of logic.

Honestly, there is more to life than policing this forum and saving it from the "glass half empty" brigade.

On Monaghan though, 1-14 we are much of a muchness. The difference is they have a marquee forward. He was the difference in 2013, who knows what'll happen this Summer? Absolutely no fear though.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 30/03/2015 10:00:45    1708214