Cavan v Monaghan

Replying To sceptical:  "Now this is silly. Typical monaghan man exposes his own weaknesses whilst trying to expose ours. Jack McCarron scored 3 29 in seven games greatly inflated by an extraordinary performance against Dublin. Minus that game he scored 3 18. Gearoid Mckiernan scored 2 17 having missed the majority of the Dublin game. Therefore they are almost equal in the scoring stats. Mcvitty scored almost as much as Mcmanus. Cavan had a number of other scorers who reached double figures. WHAT'S YOUR POINT?"
Why are you cherry picking stats?

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 07/06/2017 20:40:04    1996664

Replying To Iamlegion666:  "Why are you cherry picking stats?"
Explain? He asked who our top scorer was. I merely pointed out how Mckiernan is nearly on a par with McCarron in this year's league stats. Now people have rightly pointed out how Johnston seems to have lost the scoring touch. Monaghan lads use that as evidence that cavan don't have the forwards to win Sunday. Mcmanus had a pretty poor league also. Therefore by your own crowds logic you are also going to struggle for scores?

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 07/06/2017 21:46:08    1996688

The big problem for Cavan is they will have to deploy 3 to 4 players to look after McManus and jack. There next problem will be what to do with Mc Carthy. I have only named 3 players here and it will take most of the Cavan defence to look after these 3.

K Hughes is going to have the game of his life to make up for the black card he should not have got.

mon07 (Monaghan) - Posts: 139 - 07/06/2017 21:46:27    1996689

Replying To mon07:  "The big problem for Cavan is they will have to deploy 3 to 4 players to look after McManus and jack. There next problem will be what to do with Mc Carthy. I have only named 3 players here and it will take most of the Cavan defence to look after these 3.

K Hughes is going to have the game of his life to make up for the black card he should not have got."
Well that's optimism for you. Why not take the third Monday in September off while your at it. No one is gonna mark Mckiernan, Mcvitty, mackey, Johnston, etc.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 07/06/2017 22:25:04    1996706

Replying To sceptical:  "
Replying To mon07:  "The big problem for Cavan is they will have to deploy 3 to 4 players to look after McManus and jack. There next problem will be what to do with Mc Carthy. I have only named 3 players here and it will take most of the Cavan defence to look after these 3.

K Hughes is going to have the game of his life to make up for the black card he should not have got."
Well that's optimism for you. Why not take the third Monday in September off while your at it. No one is gonna mark Mckiernan, Mcvitty, mackey, Johnston, etc."
The difference is we have equally as good defenders so 1 on 1 with a sweeper not 2 on 1 and a sweeper.

mon07 (Monaghan) - Posts: 139 - 07/06/2017 22:43:41    1996713

God help us. Monaghan could have 10 free men. It will be a turkey shoot for ye.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 08/06/2017 01:30:49    1996742

Replying To mon07:  "
Replying To sceptical:  "[quote=mon07:  "The big problem for Cavan is they will have to deploy 3 to 4 players to look after McManus and jack. There next problem will be what to do with Mc Carthy. I have only named 3 players here and it will take most of the Cavan defence to look after these 3.

Well that's optimism for you. Why not take the third Monday in September off while your at it. No one is gonna mark Mckiernan, Mcvitty, mackey, Johnston, etc."
The difference is we have equally as good defenders so 1 on 1 with a sweeper not 2 on 1 and a sweeper."]Ah here would Ya quit mckiernan is miles better a midfielder than any of the Hughes brothers and also don't say Colin Walshe would mark mcveety cus Dara is different class we mighened have a McManus or a top class forward but yous most definitely don't have a mcveety a mckiernan or a Killian clarke and Killian would most surely do a job on McManus because wouldn't get a ball on Killian he's one of the best man markers in the country in my opinion behind lee keegan another shercock man... Imagine if he had to stay where he was for a couple more years yous would be starting to look for the key to the back door

Cavanlife (Cavan) - Posts: 54 - 08/06/2017 02:45:05    1996743

He deliberately tripped a player. It's a non debate in terms of being a black card.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 08/06/2017 07:57:14    1996752

Replying To mon07:  "
Replying To sceptical:  "[quote=mon07:  "The big problem for Cavan is they will have to deploy 3 to 4 players to look after McManus and jack. There next problem will be what to do with Mc Carthy. I have only named 3 players here and it will take most of the Cavan defence to look after these 3.

The difference is we have equally as good defenders so 1 on 1 with a sweeper not 2 on 1 and a sweeper."]Maybe you have. However, without the ball yous were pretty defensive in your last game in the championship. Sorry for reminding you of another little fact. Last year your brilliant defence failed to handle a division 3 forward line and robbie Smith ran riot against you at home. Go back to your own forum and send a few lads over who can give a few digs without making a fool of themselves.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 08/06/2017 09:29:36    1996782

You heard it here first....Cavan will deploy a very defensive system on Sunday, the aim being to stop McManus & McCarron. They've been deploying those tactics in training for the last 6 weeks, so it will be up to Monaghan to break them down, and in my opinion, if Cavan keep their discipline, they could win this game.

But, there's a lot of gibberish coming from a lot of Cavan supporters. Monaghan are among the better teams in the Country, they've held their own in Division One for a few years and won two recent Ulster Titles. Cavan have won nothing since 1997, we are on par with Tipperary & Clare as it stands, both better known as hurling strongholds. I'm afraid thats where Cavan Football is at the moment, and unless that get a good run in this years Championship, we'll still be on par with them. Outside of Cavan, nobody actually cares about Cavan Football, we are not a threat to any of the bigger teams, they view us as they view the likes of Westmeath, Laois etc - if even we beat Monaghan on Sunday, Tyrone and Donegal will see it as a very comfortable Ulster Final for them. So take off your blue blinkered glasses and get to grips with the fact that Cavan Football is where we belong, in the 2nd tier of Gaelic Football.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 08/06/2017 12:28:16    1996882

Well said Cavanblueman but Cavan deploying a defensive system is hardly a surprise as they have been at it for the last 5/6 years...!!!

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 08/06/2017 13:43:52    1996921

They weren't defensive in 2016.. They wouldn't have conceded 5 -17 against Tyrone if they were..

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 08/06/2017 13:56:38    1996932

Replying To sceptical:  "
Replying To mon07:  "[quote=sceptical:  "[quote=mon07:  "The big problem for Cavan is they will have to deploy 3 to 4 players to look after McManus and jack. There next problem will be what to do with Mc Carthy. I have only named 3 players here and it will take most of the Cavan defence to look after these 3.

The difference is we have equally as good defenders so 1 on 1 with a sweeper not 2 on 1 and a sweeper."]Maybe you have. However, without the ball yous were pretty defensive in your last game in the championship. Sorry for reminding you of another little fact. Last year your brilliant defence failed to handle a division 3 forward line and robbie Smith ran riot against you at home. Go back to your own forum and send a few lads over who can give a few digs without making a fool of themselves."]It didn't take a lot to get under your skin now did it and its good to see Johnson getting in the excuses early.

mon07 (Monaghan) - Posts: 139 - 08/06/2017 17:04:20    1997026

Replying To mon07:  "Well that's optimism for you. Why not take the third Monday in September off while your at it. No one is gonna mark Mckiernan, Mcvitty, mackey, Johnston, etc."
The difference is we have equally as good defenders so 1 on 1 with a sweeper not 2 on 1 and a sweeper."]Maybe you have. However, without the ball yous were pretty defensive in your last game in the championship. Sorry for reminding you of another little fact. Last year your brilliant defence failed to handle a division 3 forward line and robbie Smith ran riot against you at home. Go back to your own forum and send a few lads over who can give a few digs without making a fool of themselves."]It didn't take a lot to get under your skin now did it and its good to see Johnson getting in the excuses early."]Johnson is very cute in what he said now Monaghan thinking they're gonna be all Ireland semis, now yous will get big heads going into the game and yis will get the shock of ur lives. He knows yous are desperate under pressure he's playi mind games clearly now ur players will be feeling the pressure cus everyone is on about yous as all Ireland contenders but yis need to get ur heads out of the clouds and realise yis are only the 4th best team in Ulster

Cavanlife (Cavan) - Posts: 54 - 08/06/2017 18:58:15    1997064

Cavan team named.

1. Raymond Galligan (Lacken)
2. Padraig Faulkner (Kingscourt)
3. Killian Clarke (Kingscourt)
4. Niall Murray (Cavan Gaels)
5. James McEnroe (Ramor United)
6. Conor Moynagh (Drumgoon)
7. Gerard Smith (Lavey)
8. Liam Buchanan (Ballymachugh)
9. Gearoid McKiernan (Swanlinbar)
10. Cian Mackey (Castlerahan)
11. Conor Madden (Gowna)
12. Martin Reilly (Killygarry)
13. Niall Clerkin (Shercock)
14. Niall McDermott (Ballinagh)
15. Sean Johnston (Cavan Gaels)

16. James Farrelly (Kingscourt)
17. Jason McLoughlin (Shannon Gaels)
18. Fergal Reilly (Castlerahan)
19. Tomas Corr (Denn)
20. Ciaran Brady (Arvagh)
21. Thomas Galligan (Lacken)
22. Ryan Connolly (Drumlane)
23. Joe Dillon (Kingscourt)
24. Caoimhin O'Reilly (Butlersbridge)
25. Joshua Hayes (Cootehill Celtic)
26. Dara McVeety (Crosserlough)

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 08/06/2017 22:24:32    1997131

Good luck to the lads and the new management on Sunday. The closer this game gets the more confident I'm starting to feel. Monaghan are raging hot favourites in most peoples' eyes. Some of their supporters are unusually confident going into this, almost to the point of losing the run of themselves. Now I know genuine football people will be expecting nothing easy but it still reflects what a lot of people in Monaghan are thinking. They've been building nicely in Division 1 for a while now. They've added some new forwards to take the load of McManus. Achilles heel sorted! They're on the up and up, next level here they come. Cavan on the other hand are average at best, relegated, no forwards, where's the scores going to come from? They cannot possibly beat Monaghan and this game is just an inconvenience to the Farney. Get it out of the way and roll on to bigger and better venues. Hopefully some of that pressure gets to their squad as it invariably can with football teams. Monaghan may be nervous going into this and if they're not they should be.
I honestly don't know what Cavan team will turn up. Could be awful or could be sublime if their League form is anything to go by. But there's certainly a vibe coming from them of a team steely determined, going about their business under no illusions of the task ahead of them. The myth that we don't have footballers? We're missing a talisman but we certainly have footballers. And we certainly have players capable of scoring. It's just that we've been inconsistent and on any given day we could have no one to multiple players racking up the points. There's nothing like the sight of a Monaghan jersey to raise our ruff and if it clicks for us on Sunday then our dear neighbours will be unpleasantly surprised. Our new manager is a bit of a maverick too. God knows what plan he may have but one thing about him is he is not afraid to try anything and he is certainly a very shrewd football man. He will have learned an awful lot from the league and I really hope he's a success here. Terry got a lot of unfair criticism while here but in fairness most of his successes were in League and we always seemed flat come Championship. Hopefully with our new man and new methods we will see a change from that and a massive improvement in the team from League to Championship. And what better way to announce a new era than Sunday in a packed Breffni!

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 08/06/2017 22:45:20    1997146

Where is Dunne?

McGiolla (Cavan) - Posts: 42 - 08/06/2017 23:13:00    1997156

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "Cavan team named.

7. Gerard Smith (Lavey)
11. Conor Madden (Gowna)

19. Tomas Corr (Denn)
26. Dara McVeety (Crosserlough)"
If Dara McVetty is fit to play any part we have the following options to come into the game

Fergal Reilly, Ciaran Brady and Joshua Hayes for defence Tomas Corr midfield and Dara McVetty, Joe Dillion, Caoimhin Reilly and Ryan Connolly in attack,

Breffnisbest (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 09/06/2017 10:23:31    1997218

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "Cavan team named.

7. Gerard Smith (Lavey)
11. Conor Madden (Gowna)

19. Tomas Corr (Denn)
26. Dara McVeety (Crosserlough)"
If that team beats monaghan i will eat my aul lads briefs (happily)

gowna02 (Cavan) - Posts: 99 - 09/06/2017 10:29:55    1997222

Replying To gowna02:  "If that team beats monaghan i will eat my aul lads briefs (happily)"
Full forward line is all I,d be worried about, I would love to see joe dillion and dara mcvitty in there, and maybe figs in at corner back.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 09/06/2017 10:38:36    1997225