Cavan v Monaghan

Monaghan fans are relieved. They've dodged Longford in the qualifiers ;)

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 06/06/2017 12:10:29    1995501

Replying To cavan97:  "Monaghan fans are relieved. They've dodged Longford in the qualifiers ;)"
They should have Darren Hugest back fully fit by then :-)

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 06/06/2017 12:31:00    1995518

So is seanie playing leinster or ulster football for the championship

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 06/06/2017 13:19:50    1995555

Replying To MadgeKing:  "I seem to recall your boys getting whipped in Tullamore and Portlaoise in recent qualifiers- correct me if I'm wrong now. And drawing Longford last year proved too tough for you also. You aren't great playing against the Leinster teams so you better pull out all the stops on Sunday hey!"
Could be worse, we could be like Cavan and have problems playing Ulster teams!

Monaghan08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 188 - 06/06/2017 14:19:28    1995621

Replying To prideof85:  "So is seanie playing leinster or ulster football for the championship"
Wow that's a topical joke.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 06/06/2017 14:56:10    1995654

Replying To JonSmith:  "
Replying To FrDougalMaguire:  "Replying To foxes_denn: "Excellent post - the future is blue lads and so has the past. No matter how good Monaghan think they are, we must never forget that we are Cavan. We have all ireland medals in our blood and these Monaghan lads are nearly and never been men. I am predicting a 4 point win, Seanie will open up the monaghan defence and get 6 - 8 points. that is where our scores will come from

We can live in the past or face reality ! The last All ireland medals were so long ago that none of the team the played are still alive.
Our last silverware was 20 years ago !!

Monaghan have a better team. We are over training, unsettled and apparently lads leaving the squad.
I hope we win but honestly, I think we'll be lucky to get within 4 points of monaghan.

As for Seanie opening up the Monaghan defence, simple sweeper will KO Seanie as he will sit on the edge of the square and expect the ball on his chest.
Sj never has and never will win dirty ball nor chase it !!! Handy scores or frees are his specialty, but the modern game negates this type of player very easily.

All this BS about a derby game, our glorious past, it being in Breffni etc is all hype, building it up with no real substance behind it. We have about 6 good players and the rest are average.

Maybe I'm being negative, but show me the stats that say i should be any other way !!!"
You need to find more joy in the game than winning. The last two Monaghan games in the Championship have been outstanding for spectators, wonderful occasions.
Invest yourself emotionally, find a reason to be positive, talk up the players we have instead of knocking them from behind your keyboard, enjoy the build up instead of criticising the team and management at every opportunity. Go to Breffni to support your team, not to see them win. There's more to the game than winning. Enjoy it for God's sake and stop spewing negative bile at the game and the team you profess to support."
I see you're giving yourself a thumbs up Jon.

Sincere apologies if I have upset you with what is called " having an opinion", but to make you feel better and to avoid an glimpse of reality, here you go !

"Based on their form over the league this year, I believe Cavan will not only win ulster but should be favourites to win the all Ireland this year".

I hope this fits in with your blinkered view.

FrDougalMaguire (Cavan) - Posts: 152 - 06/06/2017 16:00:46    1995711

3 games won in Ulster since 2010 - says it all!

kupa (Monaghan) - Posts: 281 - 06/06/2017 17:30:22    1995794

Who is cavans top scorer in the league anyway

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 06/06/2017 18:52:45    1995870

Replying To prideof85:  "Who is cavans top scorer in the league anyway"
Your mother

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 06/06/2017 19:25:33    1995908

Jesus lads the the sight of the monaghan investec jersey now at this stage must be gut wrenching come on lads bring something different 3, 4 ulster u21 it has to come right for yous btw not to many takers on cavans top scorer maybe cavans top scorer left the panel as well did he !!!!!!!!!!!

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 06/06/2017 19:40:40    1995934

Futures blue lads just more white in it investec investec investec only back top 6 teams lads

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 06/06/2017 19:44:46    1995938

Does anyone speak Monaghan to translate what he's saying? It's primitive but I feel like he's trying to tell us something.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 06/06/2017 20:13:01    1995966

Replying To JonSmith:  "Does anyone speak Monaghan to translate what he's saying? It's primitive but I feel like he's trying to tell us something."
O me thinks you understand welll just cant believe its truth jon smith so again i ask who is cavans top scorer is it the kildare man another man that likes the white come on the the white and blue

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 06/06/2017 20:22:25    1995977

Replying To prideof85:  "O me thinks you understand welll just cant believe its truth jon smith so again i ask who is cavans top scorer is it the kildare man another man that likes the white come on the the white and blue"
There is one thing you need to count, it's the number of sams. It's easy too as you have zero and will always have zero. That's the sad reality for life as a Monaghan man.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 06/06/2017 20:39:18    1995987

U 21 titles minor titles it dont mean nothing come sunday evening a lot of pressure on cavan a lot to live up to we in monaghan have only had one ulster title and 1 minor title in recent years cavan men have been following u 21 and minor teams this last seven or 8 years so where are they where are the forwards lads 10 to 15 is what wins theres no pressure on cavan come on lads YOU HAVE TO DELIVER on this future bu##s&_t show us this talent argue mcveety brady dillon mckiernan clarke step up or shut up pressure is on cavan not monaghan

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 06/06/2017 20:54:48    1996005

Replying To prideof85:  "U 21 titles minor titles it dont mean nothing come sunday evening a lot of pressure on cavan a lot to live up to we in monaghan have only had one ulster title and 1 minor title in recent years cavan men have been following u 21 and minor teams this last seven or 8 years so where are they where are the forwards lads 10 to 15 is what wins theres no pressure on cavan come on lads YOU HAVE TO DELIVER on this future bu##s&_t show us this talent argue mcveety brady dillon mckiernan clarke step up or shut up pressure is on cavan not monaghan"
prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts:554 - 06/06/2017 20:54:48 1996005

That's some mouthfull i give you that much.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 06/06/2017 21:28:02    1996046

Replying To prideof85:  "Who is cavans top scorer in the league anyway"
Now this is silly. Typical monaghan man exposes his own weaknesses whilst trying to expose ours. Jack McCarron scored 3 29 in seven games greatly inflated by an extraordinary performance against Dublin. Minus that game he scored 3 18. Gearoid Mckiernan scored 2 17 having missed the majority of the Dublin game. Therefore they are almost equal in the scoring stats. Mcvitty scored almost as much as Mcmanus. Cavan had a number of other scorers who reached double figures. WHAT'S YOUR POINT?

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 06/06/2017 22:12:34    1996082

Replying To prideof85:  "U 21 titles minor titles it dont mean nothing come sunday evening a lot of pressure on cavan a lot to live up to we in monaghan have only had one ulster title and 1 minor title in recent years cavan men have been following u 21 and minor teams this last seven or 8 years so where are they where are the forwards lads 10 to 15 is what wins theres no pressure on cavan come on lads YOU HAVE TO DELIVER on this future bu##s&_t show us this talent argue mcveety brady dillon mckiernan clarke step up or shut up pressure is on cavan not monaghan"
Head on home Prideof85, its past your bedtime and you are annoying the neighbours.
I think mccarron and mckiernan both have genuine questions to answer on their ability to deliver under pressure. Mcmanus out on his own but obviously has not been at full tilt this year. Mcveety is quality playing in close to goal. If he makes it and starts in the full forward line then monaghan will have to reshuffle to cope with his pace, moving walshe back possibly. What is the view on mcdermott lads? I always thought him a very good player but he doesnt seem to be in the picture for a starting jersey. Him and mackey as impact subs?

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 06/06/2017 23:32:14    1996127

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Head on home Prideof85, its past your bedtime and you are annoying the neighbours.
I think mccarron and mckiernan both have genuine questions to answer on their ability to deliver under pressure. Mcmanus out on his own but obviously has not been at full tilt this year. Mcveety is quality playing in close to goal. If he makes it and starts in the full forward line then monaghan will have to reshuffle to cope with his pace, moving walshe back possibly. What is the view on mcdermott lads? I always thought him a very good player but he doesnt seem to be in the picture for a starting jersey. Him and mackey as impact subs?"
I think McDermott could start with Johnson the impact sub.

Won't set the world alight from play bit he is a ball winner and a very good free taker.

Mcvittys fitness is crucial for us IMO. Himself an McKiernan have a very good understanding and if we do get the best out of McKiernan, Monaghan will have their work cut out.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 07/06/2017 11:18:17    1996313

the reality is that monaghan would have had to stop improving and cavan would have had to improve for cavan to have a chance of winning. on league form only this is not the case as monaghan stayed in division one with no trouble and cavan couldn't beat roscommon.

The only advantage cavan have is it is at home but there will be such a good monaghan crowd there this will not matter as it hasn't mattered in the most recent history.

mon07 (Monaghan) - Posts: 139 - 07/06/2017 16:16:01    1996558