Cavan v Monaghan

Not at all confident with this match. Managers first taste of Ulster championship. He should know Monaghan inside out but total respect for O'Rourke and Monaghan. They are a tough team with lots of skill and lots of experience of big games and big intensity. If we played to our full potential and Monaghan didn't then yes we have a good chance but how many times have we played like that? Monaghan are 4/7 to win with us 15/8. Speaks for itself.

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 24/05/2017 11:30:37    1990177

I for one am confident of a Cavan victory if as stated earlier we get the important match ups and tactics right.Memories of the 80s abound when a cock of the walk Monaghan Ulster champions team landed to Breffni and left with their tails between their legs,even Nudie was quiet after that one.Cavan had no chance that time either.

celt2018 (Cavan) - Posts: 160 - 24/05/2017 13:44:38    1990251

Replying To celt2018:  "I for one am confident of a Cavan victory if as stated earlier we get the important match ups and tactics right.Memories of the 80s abound when a cock of the walk Monaghan Ulster champions team landed to Breffni and left with their tails between their legs,even Nudie was quiet after that one.Cavan had no chance that time either."
this is not the 80's , there are very few " surprises" in Championship football these days.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 24/05/2017 16:36:55    1990330

Replying To celt2018:  "I for one am confident of a Cavan victory if as stated earlier we get the important match ups and tactics right.Memories of the 80s abound when a cock of the walk Monaghan Ulster champions team landed to Breffni and left with their tails between their legs,even Nudie was quiet after that one.Cavan had no chance that time either."
I'd love to know what you're basing your confidence on?

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 24/05/2017 18:50:36    1990394

Replying To Ned_Stormcrow:  "I'd love to know what you're basing your confidence on?"
Your forcing me out of my self imposed exile here lads. If you are so sure your own county are going to lose to their arch rivals, whom they drew with only three months ago, then go away and put the Monaghan jersey on. At least then we can spot you in your local where we can all wait in line for our 'i told you so'. Since when are a team with big hearted but workhorse like players such as Gavin Doogan, Drew Whylie, and Neil MacAdam unbeatable. Take your home county bashing and while your at it take the rest of your gang of glass half empty brigade over to the Monaghan forum. There is where you will find the rest of your new counties supporters.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 24/05/2017 22:07:40    1990440

Replying To sceptical:  "Your forcing me out of my self imposed exile here lads. If you are so sure your own county are going to lose to their arch rivals, whom they drew with only three months ago, then go away and put the Monaghan jersey on. At least then we can spot you in your local where we can all wait in line for our 'i told you so'. Since when are a team with big hearted but workhorse like players such as Gavin Doogan, Drew Whylie, and Neil MacAdam unbeatable. Take your home county bashing and while your at it take the rest of your gang of glass half empty brigade over to the Monaghan forum. There is where you will find the rest of your new counties supporters."
Well fair play sceptical, can never understand the need to keep putting your County Down again and again, if mattie had to keep k Clarke in the full back line trough out the league and falkner hadn't got injured we might still be in div 1, and if he selects the team right we can win this.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 24/05/2017 22:33:00    1990446

Replying To blueman1903:  "Well fair play sceptical, can never understand the need to keep putting your County Down again and again, if mattie had to keep k Clarke in the full back line trough out the league and falkner hadn't got injured we might still be in div 1, and if he selects the team right we can win this."
Blueman - If I did the Euromillions on Tuesday night, I might have won it...

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 25/05/2017 09:54:47    1990526

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Blueman - If I did the Euromillions on Tuesday night, I might have won it..."
And your point is? Yes if you had done the euro millions you might have won, someone has to win why not you? It has been one in Ireland a few times , so best of luck keep doing it and keep supporting cavan.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 25/05/2017 10:14:35    1990533

Replying To sceptical:  "Your forcing me out of my self imposed exile here lads. If you are so sure your own county are going to lose to their arch rivals, whom they drew with only three months ago, then go away and put the Monaghan jersey on. At least then we can spot you in your local where we can all wait in line for our 'i told you so'. Since when are a team with big hearted but workhorse like players such as Gavin Doogan, Drew Whylie, and Neil MacAdam unbeatable. Take your home county bashing and while your at it take the rest of your gang of glass half empty brigade over to the Monaghan forum. There is where you will find the rest of your new counties supporters."
Agreed!

The Monaghan team us full of work horses with a couple if skilful players who make the difference when they are let.
We didnt let them in the league and no reason why we should let them in 3 weeks time.

Nobody on here is saying we will beat Monaghan easily but anyone with the slightest bit of pride in their county is optimistic and realised that we have a chance as we are not up against world beaters.

If you feel the need to constantly knock the county team, maybe consider focussing that energy on suggesting what they should be doing differently. I've seen plenty of criticism but nothing constructive - a clear indication of keyboard warriors and nothing more!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 25/05/2017 11:16:13    1990568

Sceptical....Read the posts correctly and go back into your self imposed exile.

Nobody is so sure of anything, the majority of supporters know that its a local derby and anything can happen, but its the posters on this forum who disrespect Monaghan I have issues with. Cavan had a decent league, albeit we got relegated, we failed to beat Roscommon who were the only team in Division 1 not win a game until then. Monaghan have been very competitive in Division one for the last few years, and indeed, very competitive in Ulster. Cavan have been very disappointing in Ulster, and more so, when the heat is on and the going gets tough, they failed to deal with the pressure. Monaghan are indeed favorites for this game, but as I said, its a local derby so anything can happen.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 25/05/2017 11:25:26    1990572

nobody is "so sure " our own county is going to lose. Don't denigrade true Cavan supporters who genuinely have suffered over the years and who know through bitter experience that Cavan has only won an Ulster title ONCE in 47 years. We have been beaten by Monaghan the last 2 times we met in Ulster. We got relegated this year. Monaghan did not. Monaghan had a good league campaign and performed well against Dublin. Monaghan have won the Ulster title twice in recent years. Monaghan have one of the top forwards in the country. Their Goalkeeper is arguably in the top 2 of keepers in the country. They are physically strong, fit and fast. They have improved from last year . Despite all this sceptical your are "confident" of a Cavan victory and belittle True Cavan supporters who question where this "confidence" comes from. Of course Cavan have a chance and I really hope we do win but my head says we will lose. There is nothing wrong with thinking like that and it certainly doesn't make me any less of a supporter.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 25/05/2017 12:30:34    1990599

Replying To blueman1903:  "And your point is? Yes if you had done the euro millions you might have won, someone has to win why not you? It has been one in Ireland a few times , so best of luck keep doing it and keep supporting cavan."
My point is..you're talking nonsense and a lot of if's and but's.

Theres nobody running their County down, lads are simply stating the obvious facts, Monaghan's form and track record over the last few years has been a lot better than Cavan's, so people who think Cavan have a god given right to beat them are purely mistaken.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 25/05/2017 12:33:37    1990602

Replying To cavanman47:  "Agreed!

The Monaghan team us full of work horses with a couple if skilful players who make the difference when they are let.
We didnt let them in the league and no reason why we should let them in 3 weeks time.

Nobody on here is saying we will beat Monaghan easily but anyone with the slightest bit of pride in their county is optimistic and realised that we have a chance as we are not up against world beaters.

If you feel the need to constantly knock the county team, maybe consider focussing that energy on suggesting what they should be doing differently. I've seen plenty of criticism but nothing constructive - a clear indication of keyboard warriors and nothing more!"
Exactly what I'm talking about...very disrespectful to Monaghan, they are far from a 'Team full of workhorses, with a few skillful players'. If thats the case, what are Cavan? When did we beat that Monaghan team last ? We drew with Monaghan this year, lost by 5 points to them last year. They've been playing Division One Football for a few years now, and have done more than hold their own. They've won an Ulster Title in recent times.
Now, compare them to Cavan, haven't won anything since 1997, relegated from Division One in their 1st year, beaten by a very poor Roscommon Team, which co-incidentally was their only win in the Division.
Now remind me again, where the optimism and positivity should come from?

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 25/05/2017 12:40:20    1990611

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Exactly what I'm talking about...very disrespectful to Monaghan, they are far from a 'Team full of workhorses, with a few skillful players'. If thats the case, what are Cavan? When did we beat that Monaghan team last ? We drew with Monaghan this year, lost by 5 points to them last year. They've been playing Division One Football for a few years now, and have done more than hold their own. They've won an Ulster Title in recent times.
Now, compare them to Cavan, haven't won anything since 1997, relegated from Division One in their 1st year, beaten by a very poor Roscommon Team, which co-incidentally was their only win in the Division.
Now remind me again, where the optimism and positivity should come from?"
Lost by 5 points to them last year? What match? Explain.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 25/05/2017 12:58:02    1990627

Replying To s goldrick:  "nobody is "so sure " our own county is going to lose. Don't denigrade true Cavan supporters who genuinely have suffered over the years and who know through bitter experience that Cavan has only won an Ulster title ONCE in 47 years. We have been beaten by Monaghan the last 2 times we met in Ulster. We got relegated this year. Monaghan did not. Monaghan had a good league campaign and performed well against Dublin. Monaghan have won the Ulster title twice in recent years. Monaghan have one of the top forwards in the country. Their Goalkeeper is arguably in the top 2 of keepers in the country. They are physically strong, fit and fast. They have improved from last year . Despite all this sceptical your are "confident" of a Cavan victory and belittle True Cavan supporters who question where this "confidence" comes from. Of course Cavan have a chance and I really hope we do win but my head says we will lose. There is nothing wrong with thinking like that and it certainly doesn't make me any less of a supporter."
Thanks for letting us know why monaghan are vastly superior to your own county. I feel so well informed after that. Please go away until after the game is over unless of course you might decide to write something positive rather than pointing out how we are stupid to be bigging up our own counties chances. Also, lads pathetically trying to twist words by suggesting anyone said monaghan were workhorses. No one said that. They are not however unbeatable

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 25/05/2017 15:13:28    1990691

We should respect our neighbours and next opponents, but FFS lets not turn this place into a Monaghan appreciation thread. They have been well able to talk for themselves over the last few years and now even have Dick Clerkin in the Indo. We sound afraid in ourselves just now. When has that ever happened to Cavan men before a Monaghan match? Maybe a bit of verbal faction fighting is what's needed.. that's half the craic anyway as we all know the football itself is usually trash. Some Cavan supporters are talking it all down but I hope that as the big day draws closer the masks will slip and the slagging starts hell for leather! I remember quite well that 1987 match that someone mentioned before. Just like now Cavan were being written off against a fancied Monaghan who had won Ulster 2 years previous but they battled to a win. The Farney Army was much smaller back then and they couldn't get out of Breffni quick enough. 30 years on its time for a repeat.

Back in real time, Mattie McGleenan has big decisions to make in his half forward selection, where to play Killian Clarke and how best to use McKiernan. Any word on McVeety injury or the Argue situation? Rumour has it that Darren Hughes will tog out.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 25/05/2017 16:01:20    1990711

Replying To sceptical:  "Thanks for letting us know why monaghan are vastly superior to your own county. I feel so well informed after that. Please go away until after the game is over unless of course you might decide to write something positive rather than pointing out how we are stupid to be bigging up our own counties chances. Also, lads pathetically trying to twist words by suggesting anyone said monaghan were workhorses. No one said that. They are not however unbeatable"
Cavan for Sam

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 25/05/2017 18:14:19    1990763

Replying To s goldrick:  "Cavan for Sam"
Though that was probably your attempt to sarcastically belittle the teams aspirations to do well this year I'm gonna give you the benefit of the doubt and say well done for showing such enthusiasm but perhaps we should concentrate on beating monaghan in three weeks first. On a more serious note. I do believe that we can beat monaghan or any other team in Ulster when we play to our potential. Lads like you are of absolutely no benefit to the counties chances. Every positive poster must be constantly reminded of past failures and reasons to be gloomy. Even if you are convinced that you are right please return to your lair until at least the quarter final has been played.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 25/05/2017 22:25:42    1990845

If anyone thinks we are a better team than Monaghan they are deluding themselves - the facts speak for themselves ie Division 1 for the last number of years and mostly finishing in the top half , consistently getting to Ulster finals . We are simply not on the same level at the moment. What players do we have , for example , to compare to McManus , McCarron , Drew Wylie , the Hughes brothers , etc. - the answer is we don't - simple as that. Having said that we are capable of beating them on a given day if a lot goes right for us and wrong for them . I just hope that July 11 th is one of those days !

tenyearplan (Cavan) - Posts: 147 - 25/05/2017 23:39:17    1990872

It's a roll of the dice between these sides, as it always is, so there's neither a case for extreme optimism or pessimism. Cavan have definitely had the beating of Monaghan every single occasion they've clashed in the last five years or so, so why write us off? Derbies are great levellers no mater what the current opinion or wisdom on either team is, or their displays in Division 1 or whatever - it doesn't matter a ha'penny damn when 15 Cavan lads and 15 Monaghan men go at each other.

Then again, if we have the beating of them so often, why do we do it so seldom? That's where the shortfall has been in my opinion, most noticeably under Hyland when we had them beat at Breffni before typically going all negative and trying to play silly buggers with the ball. Let's have no small-time mentality and inferiorty complex this time. I expect everything else to be more or less even in this game - not because we're as good as them but because it's a derby - so this mentality will be the deciding factor in the final quarter I think. And failing that, even a broken clock gets it right twice a day and we're due a win over them by now so let's just wait and see!

RighteousMelody (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 26/05/2017 00:50:37    1990883