Cavan v Monaghan

Replying To patk:  "Hard luck yesterday lads, I knew we'd get nothing easy in Breffni and there was hardly anything between the teams in the end.

As long as the players don't drop the heads, there's still a good chance of a run in the qualifiers. Most of the tougher teams seem to be on the other side and ye should have a straightforward enough game up first, especially seeing as they have to play a replay."
Look let's call a spade a spade if you want to win an important match like Cavan V Monaghan to meet Down to start with your best 15 plain and simple. Do you think we started with our best 15 I for one Don't think so knowing it was Cavan's for the taking and I bet you Mattie knows so as well.
Do you think certain players should have been called in sooner well I for one say yes.
Should certain players have been left on for the whole match and up to a couple of minuets before the end well I for one don't think so.
Look I will be lambasted for this post but I don't care Cavan left this match behind them plain and simple and I am fecking disgusted with the result.

Don't ask me to pick the team but I am sure the genuine football people on here know who should have started and should have been removed over the 77 minuets. Because of what I do and see I cannot name my starting 15 I am sure you understand.
The one good thing next year the finger can only point at one man and thats not Mr Hyland.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 12/06/2017 20:23:28    1998729

How is it every year we are on here talking about if's maybe's and hard luck stories about games we should have won... How come we can never get a last minute goal to win a game or a late bust of points to see us home...? Monaghan always seem to struggle against us but how is it they don't loose to us too often....

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 12/06/2017 22:10:06    1998783

Replying To Sean.66:  "How is it every year we are on here talking about if's maybe's and hard luck stories about games we should have won... How come we can never get a last minute goal to win a game or a late bust of points to see us home...? Monaghan always seem to struggle against us but how is it they don't loose to us too often...."
Better team?

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 12/06/2017 22:27:47    1998789

Lads from the outside some Cavan followers are very hard on Mattie McGleenan. From talking to numerous people they reckon Cavan football is going nowhere under Mattie.
Mattie has got a baptism of fire as Manager playing division 1 and getting a tough draw in the first round of Ulster. This was going to be a difficult task for any manager never mind having to deal with numerous injuries during the year also the high level of drop outs from last years panel.
Fergal Flanagan, Jack Brady, Eugene Keating, David Givney and Michael Argue just to name a few. Cavan did admirably in the top division, but unfortunately from a Cavan point of view, failed to avoid the drop. The game against Monaghan was in the balance and if Cavan got a draw Monaghan would have no reason to complain.
The last week with the untimely death of Dominic Earley would have been tough on the whole panel. The players fought right to the end and just came up short.
Mattie from talking to people is a very positive person and is loving his time working with Cavan. He deserves a chance by supporters but also needs all players eligible to play for Cavan committing to the cause.
Monaghan have every player except maybe Chris McGuninnes who aren't part of the panel. Players have to step up and make sure their talent isn't wasted and want to achieve provincial success at Senior level. Mattie is the man to lead that but only if everyone buys into it.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 12/06/2017 22:48:26    1998801

From 05 to 2013 monaghan never got a lucky break either especially in ulster it takes a serious amount of experience and a super manager to get anything in ulster some day it will come and maybe sooner than later v corey p finlay d clerkin e lennon never got an ulster medal till they were over 30 only player that i know over 30 is c mackey you need a serious blend of experience and youth to even get to an ulster final 2019 cavan ulster senior champions possibly good luck for rest of qualifiers watch for the lesser leinster teams as we found out last year v Longford monaghan hit the post to possibly win ulster in 07 v tyrone but hi thats football

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 12/06/2017 23:23:34    1998827

where have all the u 21 players gone? as a meath man, if meath had won 4 u21 leinster titles in a row we would expect an all ireland senior final appearance at least as well as a few leinsters. why are cavan people putting down the team so much? cant understand how u lads put your team down so much, its total opposite in meath

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 685 - 13/06/2017 00:09:13    1998836

Replying To dickie10:  "where have all the u 21 players gone? as a meath man, if meath had won 4 u21 leinster titles in a row we would expect an all ireland senior final appearance at least as well as a few leinsters. why are cavan people putting down the team so much? cant understand how u lads put your team down so much, its total opposite in meath"
Well, last year it was all Terry Hylands fault, if only we had someone else then the great u21 players wouldn't be wasted, and we'd be able to march on Ulster.Today however it's a different story, standard of club football, lack of Ramor players on the team, no amalgamated teams said someone else, I've seen a few mention argues absence even tho he was never a regular starter, goalie not a club goalie said another fella.

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 13/06/2017 03:03:36    1998849

Cavan just don't have the forwards. We need to concentrate on getting some young players into the panel and getting a forwards coach and keep at it until we have somebody who can take scores
It's the same story year in year out and if we don't do something soon it will be another 20 years and no ulster title.

marita (None) - Posts: 467 - 13/06/2017 08:16:19    1998868

Replying To seanorinn:  "Look let's call a spade a spade if you want to win an important match like Cavan V Monaghan to meet Down to start with your best 15 plain and simple. Do you think we started with our best 15 I for one Don't think so knowing it was Cavan's for the taking and I bet you Mattie knows so as well.
Do you think certain players should have been called in sooner well I for one say yes.
Should certain players have been left on for the whole match and up to a couple of minuets before the end well I for one don't think so.
Look I will be lambasted for this post but I don't care Cavan left this match behind them plain and simple and I am fecking disgusted with the result.

Don't ask me to pick the team but I am sure the genuine football people on here know who should have started and should have been removed over the 77 minuets. Because of what I do and see I cannot name my starting 15 I am sure you understand.
The one good thing next year the finger can only point at one man and thats not Mr Hyland."
Sean you heavily criticised posters last year when we were critical of Hylands selection in the championship, especially when he saved 3 subs to use in the last 5 minutes in the Drawn game against Tyrone. Give Mattie a chance, i don't agree with a lot of the selection but no point slating a guy yet

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 13/06/2017 09:19:32    1998880

Where's DeanMartin to spread the love???

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 13/06/2017 09:21:01    1998882

Lads we are simple not good enough. Number 1 we don't have the players to compete at a high level.
We are a top 12/15 team at best.
The defensive mentality that's been instilled this past 5 years is very hard to break overnight.
The tactics of lateral backward play while playing with the wind is something you wouldn't expect from u16s.
The big players like McKeirnan , Clarke Johnston failed to shine again.
I'd actually would have taken those 3 off at half time along with McEnroe .
Faulkner is a centre half back because he got skinned in the corner.
Apart from Mackey there are very few positives and it would be a blessing to go out in the next round and save the genuine supporters the agony of watching such mediocre clueless football.
I honestly didn't believe we could get any worse but we were a total embarrassment on national tv especially with out tactics playing with the wind.
I feel sorry for the players who put in such a huge effort and feel lads like jack Brady givneyband keating tierney ect have the right idea.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 13/06/2017 10:00:55    1998899

Replying To cavan97:  "Sean you heavily criticised posters last year when we were critical of Hylands selection in the championship, especially when he saved 3 subs to use in the last 5 minutes in the Drawn game against Tyrone. Give Mattie a chance, i don't agree with a lot of the selection but no point slating a guy yet"
Sean you heavily criticised posters last year when we were critical of Hylands selection in the championship, especially when he saved 3 subs to use in the last 5 minutes in the Drawn game against Tyrone. Give Mattie a chance, i don't agree with a lot of the selection but no point slating a guy yet
cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts:325 - 13/06/2017 09:19:32 1998880

I am 100% behind the man and I certainly am not slating him. He is working with what he has, next year he will be working with his own team for he will have been able to watch a lot of county games over the next few months and maybe find new players that suit his style of game. I am saying and I will not change my opinion on this we left that game behind us Sunday unfortunately so please god come this time next year we will be advancing into the simi final off Ulster after winning back promotion to Division 1.

I would like to make this very clear I am not slating Mattie or Lorcan or any of the back room staff or players for that matter.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 13/06/2017 10:06:44    1998902

Faster ball into inside forward line, no losing ball on 30to 40 yard area, run at back line to draw fouls, put pressure on players who are on yellows, Wylde was on yellow yet wasn't pressured. Good team with a few changes can have a good run. Nice to see a few of the young lads like Connolly coming on!

fifty (Mayo) - Posts: 108 - 13/06/2017 10:16:55    1998909

Replying To seanorinn:  "Sean you heavily criticised posters last year when we were critical of Hylands selection in the championship, especially when he saved 3 subs to use in the last 5 minutes in the Drawn game against Tyrone. Give Mattie a chance, i don't agree with a lot of the selection but no point slating a guy yet

I am 100% behind the man and I certainly am not slating him. He is working with what he has, next year he will be working with his own team for he will have been able to watch a lot of county games over the next few months and maybe find new players that suit his style of game. I am saying and I will not change my opinion on this we left that game behind us Sunday unfortunately so please god come this time next year we will be advancing into the simi final off Ulster after winning back promotion to Division 1.

I would like to make this very clear I am not slating Mattie or Lorcan or any of the back room staff or players for that matter."
Fair enough, I read it wrong, Sean. Sorry

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 13/06/2017 10:25:22    1998915

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Lads from the outside some Cavan followers are very hard on Mattie McGleenan. From talking to numerous people they reckon Cavan football is going nowhere under Mattie.
Mattie has got a baptism of fire as Manager playing division 1 and getting a tough draw in the first round of Ulster. This was going to be a difficult task for any manager never mind having to deal with numerous injuries during the year also the high level of drop outs from last years panel.
Fergal Flanagan, Jack Brady, Eugene Keating, David Givney and Michael Argue just to name a few. Cavan did admirably in the top division, but unfortunately from a Cavan point of view, failed to avoid the drop. The game against Monaghan was in the balance and if Cavan got a draw Monaghan would have no reason to complain.
The last week with the untimely death of Dominic Earley would have been tough on the whole panel. The players fought right to the end and just came up short.
Mattie from talking to people is a very positive person and is loving his time working with Cavan. He deserves a chance by supporters but also needs all players eligible to play for Cavan committing to the cause.
Monaghan have every player except maybe Chris McGuninnes who aren't part of the panel. Players have to step up and make sure their talent isn't wasted and want to achieve provincial success at Senior level. Mattie is the man to lead that but only if everyone buys into it."
Two days on from the match (and of course the whole league) I have to agree with you. the expectation in cavan is ridiculous when you sit and think about it. Five of the same starter since the monaghan game in 2015, 3 of the subs that day didn't feature sunday. even since last year in a promotion year we're down 7-8 players from the first round game against Armagh. That's been pretty much the turnover since 2011. Therein lies a large portion of Cavans problem. To be able to put a team out and run a settled Monaghan squad to 3 points is a decent result. tbf i don't think even Tyrone or Donegal would manage that. However our longing for success will still remain.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 13/06/2017 10:48:30    1998938

Replying To JamsieMac:  "Well, last year it was all Terry Hylands fault, if only we had someone else then the great u21 players wouldn't be wasted, and we'd be able to march on Ulster.Today however it's a different story, standard of club football, lack of Ramor players on the team, no amalgamated teams said someone else, I've seen a few mention argues absence even tho he was never a regular starter, goalie not a club goalie said another fella."
That is some trash of a post. So because Hyland didn't pick U21s last year they have all suddenly decided not to play football anymore or drop of the face of the earth? If they are good enough and willing to give the commitment they would be on the panel.
Regarding the game Sunday it was very disappointing. We went down to Roscommon in the Last league game knowing a win at a minimum would give us a chance of survival pending other results, and Sundays performance was a mirror image of that game. No attacking threat. Roscommon wound the clock down by holding possession over and back on our own 45 and Cavan did not press past that line. It looks like the team are afraid to push out even when we are behind. The system is dictating the play, not the scoreboard or the conditions. A perfect example of this was on Sunday again. Cavan went into the match with a game plan of pack the defence and go on the counter attack, and hell or high water would not change that plan. Not even a Gael force wind would change it. This shows a complete over reliance on the system and not playing to the conditions. There needs to be a balance, and going back to the roscommon game the same thing happened. We played a rigid system against Kerry/Monaghan etc and reaped reward, but when we put ourselves into a position of staying up and needing to win, we kept to the same system. There needs to be a broader approach on tactics taken by the management. Wind/No wind they will play the same way and you don't need to be a intercounty player to know that doesn't work.

ballygowanwater (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 13/06/2017 11:16:10    1998950

Replying To seanorinn:  "Sean you heavily criticised posters last year when we were critical of Hylands selection in the championship, especially when he saved 3 subs to use in the last 5 minutes in the Drawn game against Tyrone. Give Mattie a chance, i don't agree with a lot of the selection but no point slating a guy yet

I would like to make this very clear I am not slating Mattie or Lorcan or any of the back room staff or players for that matter."
Sean we did not leave this behind us, we were actually lucky not to have been beaten by a lot more. Monaghan missed 3-4 easy chances in the last few minutes to put daylight between the teams. Don't let a ball off the post deceive you.
It was clear in those last few plays that Cavan had run out of road. Gearoid was out around half forward, totally spent, directing traffic. A tired effort that dropped into Beggan's hands was the outcome of his sole possession of note at that key time. His shadow aka McAdam was still running strong.
For Duffy's point on the run, Cavan lost the ball to O'Connell 40 yards from the Monaghan goal. He left Killian Clarke for dead over 30 metres before passing to Duffy, who himself blew Gerry Smith and Niall Murray out of the water with a huge run and point. An emphatic Game Over. Watch it again and see.
I was amazed at this because it mirrored completely the closing stages of the 2015 match. Then, as on Sunday, Cavan's fitness, mental strength, or both, was found lacking for the last key plays of the game. Remember Argue and Gearoid allowing Walshe to waltz in for a score at the death?
Plus ca change

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 13/06/2017 11:23:05    1998954

How many forward players have walked away from the Cavan squad in the past 3/4 years....?? I wouldn't blame any forward for not wanting to play in that team the way they set up... Mattie came with the idea of fast flowing attacking football but it may take him time to get the slow sterile idea imposed on the team by the previous management out of the players minds... His honeymoon period is now over and people will expect a change of tactics with new younger players introduced...

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 13/06/2017 11:28:57    1998958

Replying To Sean.66:  "How many forward players have walked away from the Cavan squad in the past 3/4 years....?? I wouldn't blame any forward for not wanting to play in that team the way they set up... Mattie came with the idea of fast flowing attacking football but it may take him time to get the slow sterile idea imposed on the team by the previous management out of the players minds... His honeymoon period is now over and people will expect a change of tactics with new younger players introduced..."
In fairness Sean, you could have Usain Bolt in a Cavan Jersey and the ball wouldn't go in any faster. Cant fathom how everything on Sunday had to go through Moynagh

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 13/06/2017 11:50:01    1998974

What do you mean working with what he has. Next year is no different. Its not like soccer when you can transfer players in. This is his team and he has had ample opportunity to pick players he wanted.

ballygowanwater (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 13/06/2017 13:03:00    1999023