Munster MFC: Tipp take last semi-final spot

April 25, 2018

Limerick's Michael O'Hanrahan with Kyle Shelly of Tipperary.
©INPHO/Oisin Keniry.

Tipperary are through to the Munster MFC semi-finals after they overcame 14-man Waterford in Lemybrien.

Matt O'Doherty's youngsters backed up last week's extra-time victory against Limerick with a solid 2-11 to 2-6 success this evening. Their reward is a home clash versus Clare while Waterford's wait for a first championship win since 2014 continues.

It looked like spectators at the scenic Kilrossanty GAA grounds were in for a tight contest when James Power goaled for Waterford on 10 minutes after Liam Fennell got forward to open their account. Power's strike left the scoreboard reading: Waterford 1-1 Tipperary 0-2.

But, as events transpired, it was the only time Waterford led in the game as Tipperary, inspired by Kyle Shelly, moved through the gears to hit an unanswered 1-4 and went on to lead by 1-9 to 1-2 at the break. The visitors' opening goal came from the boot of full-forward Shelly.

Waterford started the second-half brightly by tagging on a couple of points, however, the hosts were rocked by the concession of a second goal through Devon Ryan on 40 minutes before they were reduced to 14-men following wing-back Fennell's second yellow card.

But, to their credit, Tom Flynn's side never gave up and managed to outscore their opponents by 1-4 to 1-2 after the break with Aaron Ryan netting their second major on 58 minutes but it proved too little, too late at that stage.

Tipperary were guilty of many missed chances, but, with two play-off victories now under their belt, they can look forward to a last-four meeting with the Banner County which has been scheduled for Semple Stadium on Tuesday, May 8th.

Tipperary - C Scully; T McDonagh, S Lowe, C McDonagh; M O'Meara, G Meagher, J Ryan (0-1); K Hayes, K Ryan (0-1); M Hackett (0-1), D Ryan (1-0), E Daly (0-1); C English (0-5, 4f), K Shelly (1-0), S O'Connor (0-2, 1f). Subs: C Power for E Daly, R Byron for K Hayes, J Holloway for C English, D Farrelly for D Ryan, C Whelan for J Ryan, K Costello for M Hackett.

Waterford - N McSweeney; S Lennon, T Walsh, S Boyce; L Fennell (0-1), C Foley, A Behan; C Browne, L Walsh; H Griffin, J Power (1-4, 0-3f), S Ronayne; A Ryan (1-1), M O Floinn, N O'Keeffe. Subs: R Elliffe for C Browne, T Mooney for S Boyce, P Fitzgerald for N O'Keeffe.

Referee - A Long.

Most Read Stories