Raheen and Na Fianna GAA club notes

July 17, 2018


The numbers drawn in the Lotto draw which took place on Monday 09 July 2018 were 04 14 19 22. There was No Jackpot Winner of €4,000 and 8 Match 3 Winners (Tony Purcell, Killeigh; Eddie Kaye, Cloneygowan; Clare O'Connell C/O Joe Plunkett; Deirdre Feery C/O Tullamore Hardware; Adela Coughlan C/O High Chap; Mick Kaye, Cloneygowan; JJ Malone, Ballinagar; Breege Lynam C/O Geashill Shop) (€25 Each). Next week's draw will take place in Hamilton's, Geashill on Monday 23 July 2018.


Raheen Senior Footballers will be trying to follow up their 3rd Rd win over St Rynaghs with another win against Ballycumber in the 4th Rd of the Senior B Football Championship this Saturday (21 July) @ 6pm in BNM O'Connor Pk, Tullamore. All Support would be appreciated.


Na Fianna U15 Footballers No 2 side got their Championship campaign off to a winning start with what proved to be a big margin against Shamrocks only team last Wednesday evening in Geashill on a scoreline of 4-12 to 3-03. It was Shamrocks who took the early advantage as they opened the scoring with 1-02 to 0-01 inside the first 10 mins. On 12 mins Na Fianna struck for their first goal when Geordi O'Meara's high ball was punched to the net by the in-running Ronan Daly. The remainder of the half saw Na Fianna add 4 points to Shamrocks 1 to lead 1-05 to 1-03 at the break. The second half there was only team in as Na Fianna dominated from the throw in starting with a point followed by the second goal within the first min with the goal a quick 1-2 between Geordi O'Meara and Ronan Daly with the later finishing the shot to the left corner of the net. Over the next 15 mins Na Fianna added 4 points with Shamrocks getting a goal against the run of play. Then on 19 mins Ronan Daly completed his hattrick for Na Fianna with the deftest of flicks over the keeper into the net. Na Fianna added a point before getting their 4th goal on 27 mins when Ciaran Murphy chipped a shot over the shoulder of the keeper into the top corner of the net followed immediately by the final point from sub Danny Gorman. Shamrocks got a consolation goal in the last min but it was too little to late.

NA FIANNA: Cian Malone, Eamon Bolger, Brian Malone, Sean Flood, Dylan Cahill (0-01), Ben Colton, Aaron Gorman, Geordi O'Meara (0-05), Cathal Young (0-01), Jack Cleary, Ronan Daly (3-01), Robbie Gallagher (0-02), Daragh Crilly, Shane Corcoran (0-01), Eoghan Hyland.

SUBS: Stephen Hackett (for Brian Malone), Danny Gorman (0-01) (for Dylan Cahill), Ciaran Murphy (1-00) (for Daragh Crilly), Cein Gorman (for Eoghan Hyland).


Na Fianna U13 Football No 2 Team face Tullamore No 2 team in the final round of the Championship this Wednesday (18 July) @ 7:30pm in O'Brien Pk, Tullamore where a win for Na Fianna would seal their place in the Semi Final / Final. All Support would be appreciated.



Na Fianna U13 Footballers will hoping to repeat the success of their U15 counterparts when they take on Rhode in the League Final this Friday evening (20 July) @ 7:30pm in Ballycomman. Best of luck to Players & Management. All Support would be appreciated.  



Most Read Stories