Leinster MHC round-up: Kilkenny and Dublin to meet in decider

June 23, 2018

Wexford's Darragh Furlong and Kevin Byrne of Dublin.
©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan.

Kilkenny saw off the brave challenge of Offaly at O'Connor Park today to secure their place in this year's Leinster MHC final.

The Conor Kelly captained Cats overturned a two-point half-time deficit to run out 0-24 to 2-13 winners in the first of today's semi-final matches.

Ciaran Teehen's 18th minute goal boosted the underdogs into a 1-10 to 0-11 lead at the halfway stage but the visitors asserted their authority with three unanswered points straight after the resumption.

The Black and Ambers were five points to the good (0-20 to 1-12) before DJ McLoughlin pounced for the Faithful County's second three pointer in the 50th minute.

To their credit, the hosts made Kilkenny battle all the way but they just came up short.

Kilkenny's reward is a final date with Dublin who got the better of Wexford by 1-22 to 3-13 in today's second semi-final which was played at Innovate Wexford Park.

The visitors took the spoils after producing a strong finish in which they outscored their hosts by 0-6 to 1-0 in the final 10 minutes.

The team in sky blue had led by 0-13 to 1-8 at the change of ends but a goal from substitute Josh Sheil parachuted the Model County into a two point lead midway through the second-half.

The young Dubs refused to panic, however, and fought back to restore parity by the 50th minute before going on to close out the deal.

Kilkenny - J Brennan; J Young, P Dempsey, J Harkin; P Moylan, S Staunton, H Walsh; C Kelly (0-12, 10f), C Rudkins; D Maher (0-1), C Brennan (0-5), C Kenny (0-2); E Guilfoyle (0-2), G Murphy (0-1), J Buggy. Subs: C O'Leary for P Moylan, J Doyle (0-1) for J Buggy, C Korff for C Rudkins, K Hogan for G Murphy.

Offaly - S Loughnane; A Brazil, A Flanagan, L Nolan; B Egan, D Maher (0-2), L Egan; E Houlihan, A Walsh; C Kiely (0-6, 4f, 1sl), C Sampson (0-1f), C Donoghue (0-2); C Teehan (1-1), DJ McLoughlin (1-1), D Flanagan. Subs: S Mulrooney for L Nolan, M Dillon for A Walsh, J Screeney for C Donoghue.

Referee - C Mooney.


Dublin - J Lambert; F Murphy, E Carney, K Byrne; C Hogan, A O'Neill (0-1), I O'hEithir; D Leavy (0-2), D Power (0-1); C Murray (0-1), P Christie (0-1), C Foley (0-1); L Dunne (0-11, 7f, 2'65), L Swan (1-0), D Purcell (0-4). Subs: S Fenton for C Murray, A O'Toole for P Christie.

Wexford - D Hayes (1-0f); F Roche, R Scallan, N Rowesome; C Brown, D Codd, E Doyle; C Molloy, J Kirwan; O Whitty (0-1), T Murphy (0-1), R Lawlor (1-0); AJ Redmond (0-7, 6f, 1sl), Z Firman (0-1), D Cantwell. Subs: D Furlong (0-3) for O Whitty, J Kehoe for J Kirwan, J Sheil (1-0) for D Cantwell, P O'Connor for C Brown, P Whitty for D Furlong.

Referee - J O'Brien.

Most Read Stories