Maroon and white loss is blackhill's gain

December 08, 2006
Blackhill Emeralds may not always be smothered in silverware but is there a club in Monaghan more resilient or ambitious? Galway native John Costello doubts it. Blackhill folk can turn the leaf towards a new year content in the knowledge that over the past 12 months the Emeralds took several steps forward in its bid to climb the rankings in Monaghan football circles. 2006 saw the east county crew consolidate it's growing reputation for innovation, hard work and honest endeavour, on and off the field of play. In the Blackhill area, the mantra that if you're not going forward, you're in a state of stagnation is close to the collective heart. Nestling between Castleblayney and Donaghmoyne gaels can make life pretty difficult but those privy to the stoical gaeldom that is Blackhill will tell you that even allowing for finite resources, the Emeralds always make the best of their lot. Matters can be particularly challenging when comes to the numbers game but are all belonging to Blackhill Emeralds GAA complaining or looking for sympathy votes? No way. Instead, like a premature baby that grows up to be the strongest in the family, Blackhill GAA seems to be intent on thriving, ignoring the apparent adversities which befall them. Down the years Blackhill GAA has relied on the loyalty and sheer hard graft of a number of indigenous families. In more recent times, so-called 'blow-ins' have added greatly to the mix. For instance, Galway native John Costello worked manfully to underpin Blackhill's latter day re-invigoration during 2005. So much so that he was afforded the singular honour of being declared the club person of the year. Like so many of his ilk who go by the slogan 'do as I do, not as I say', the native Connachtman isn't someone who seeks out bouquets. But when they land at his door, he's suitably humbled. "It was a surprise but very much an honour all the same," John says of his award. "You're not involved in the GAA for what you can get out of it but it's always good to get a wee bit of recognition for whatever work you do and I appreciated the gesture." For years, it was too often left to the same coterie of faces to beaver away at the coalface of GAA affairs on behalf of the Blackhill club. Loads of effort had gone into the purchase and development of the club's playing pitch. And the completion thereafter of a hall, meeting room, changing rooms, showers and referee's room portrayed a real level of ambition redolent of a club with much greater resources. Over the next decade, new blood would come to help inspire, excite and rejuvenate the club even further at different levels. Like every club that has ever relied on so few to do so much, Blackhill needed new sources of energy, imagination and ideas. Men like John Costello duly came along to provide this valuable brio. It's not today or yesterday though that John climbed aboard the Good Ship Blackhill. He's been a trojan worker for the club's development committee for the past four years at least. And his involvement in Blackhill's promotion and development of its underage talent has been noteworthy down the years too. It has to be said though that it's been bricks and mortar rather than juvenile teams in the club that has tended to occupy more of his spare time. In specfic terms, John has put his shoulder to the wheel, big time, in helping the club realise its plans for a stand with concrete footpath surrounds and the extensive drainage of its playing field. Ahead is the construction of four new dressing-rooms which will push the club's expenditure on its burgeoning facilities well into the hundreds of thousands. "We're running into the fourth year of the development committee and everyone has put in a great effort. "It's been no one-man show by any means. We have always had a very active development committee with up to six people who have shown a lot of dedication to getting the work done," the former club treasurer insists. "We set out a five year development plan and were lucky enough to get money from the national lottery, the Ulster Council and from Croke Park over the years. "Last year we got 100,000 euros from the lottery plus generous grants from the Ulster Council and Croke Park. "So far in 2006 we have received 13,000 euros from the Ulster Council which again has been very helpful." Fulsome in his praise of the support rendered to Blackhill GAA by the community at large, John, who hails from Menlough (between Mountbellew and Athenry), in county Galway, reckons that the spirit among the people of his adopted parish compares favourably with that he has experienced anywhere else on his travels as a member of An Garda Siochana. " The support we got for our own lottery a couple of years ago showed up the great spirit that's in the area. "There's been a great resilience within the club over the years and although cups haven't always come our way, there's always been the ambition there to do better each year. "We carried out a house-to-house sale of the tickets and we got tremendous support among the general community. "It was a credit to the buyers and to the sellers that the club did so well financially from the lottery even though it has a very small catchment area. "It was always my preference, as a garda, to be stationed in a rural area and Blackhill has been a very enjoyable place to work and live. It's a very tightly knit community with a good social centre." Does the club have financial resources though to push on with their developments? "We are cutting our cloth to suit our means and we''ll be careful not to over-stretch ourselves. "Nobody I know likes having to go out and raise money but we have a lot of committed people who have enough interest in the club to raise the sort of money we need to advance our plans." Of course, in tandem with his work on Blackhill's development committee, John has busied himself working with the juvenile section of the club. "He is quick to point out that he gets almost as much out of the training sessions and general interaction with the youngsters as they get. "I think most people would tell you that the greatest satisifaction in terms of working at something in the club comes with helping out the underage teams. "Youngsters will always be keen to train hard and do their best and a mentor will get a great return on his investment of time spent with juveniles." It does though when such investment is rewarded not alone by the kind of appreciation symbolised by a club person of the year award and kind words from parents of the club juveniles but also with silverware. "We haven't done too badly recently with regards to winning things," John tells us. "A bit of silverware has come our way with the division three minor team winning out in the St. Dympna's Cup competition and we nearly had another cup but unfortunately the under 14 division three team lost out in the final to Corduff. "Our other underage teams have been regularly getting to semi-finals and finals in recent years which is a very good sign and hopefully a good omen for the future. " And the fact that there's been a noticeable increase in the population of Blackhill's catchment area must add to the optimistic feel about the club? "Certainly the population has increased but first thing's first. I think we have to concentrate on developing our facilities. Unless we develop our facilities we won't be able to cater for the growing numbers who will be playing for the club. Nowadays parents with kids expect the best of facilities no matter what sport their children are involved with. Maybe the development of what we can offer young and old is what we should continue to concentrate on. Like other clubs, we have to keep working at getting more and more parents involved." John is convinced that there is plenty of potential, on and off the field, down Blackhill way, something which, he suggests, is manifest in the sleeved-rolled-up way in which the plan for their training pitch has been hatched. "We have the capacity to cater for more members than we have at the moment. "We know we live in the shadow of Castleblayney Faughs and they're a model of how a club should operate and we respect everything the club has achieved and all credit to them. "But we're not in awe of them or their achievements; we intend to go our own way and to maintain our own identity," said John whose son Ciaran (14) is a keen underage player with Blackhill. Ever since becoming involved at committee level in Blackhill some five years ago, John says that the Emeralds have been marching towards more richer pastures, year on year. He noted the club's determined and gritty JFC campaign in 2006 and the improvement in their league position compared to yesteryear. John expects the club's premier team to continue to climb Monaghan football's rankings. "I'm personally very optimistic about the path the club is taking and the progress that is being made and the progress that can be made in the future." Our Year The year 2006 is almost at an end and little has changed in the small world of Blackhill Football. Our expectations of a Ward Cup semi final place for our Junior A's seemed possible early in the year but faded after a few bad defeats by Killeevan, Currin and Killanny. I'm not able to speak of the training but feedback had been very positive for Martin Kelly, Brian Woods and Martin Cashel. Our championship game against Aughnamullen in Castleblayney was a very exciting game of football and saw our players stand up and take pride in themselves and their jersey. We may have been a shade lucky with the result but it was a great performance by the team on the day and we came home with a one point victory. Our next championship outing against Drumhowan was a very poor performance even with some injuries on board the lads played very poorly and had conceded one goal and three points in the first five minutes and were defeated by nine points with Drumhowan's win never in any doubt. Our last outing in the championship was the biggest disappointment of all when we were well defeated by Killeevan. This must have been the most disappointing championship performance in years. When I look back at Aughnamullen championship game and the game against Killeevan it is easy to see the difference in commitment by the players. A settled team must be put together early in the year because it is the only way players will improve. I know sometimes this is easier said then done with injuries and absentees but we must have our subs filling these positions. Another issue arose when the players did not wear the correct jersey numbers for their positions which confused matters even more. Junior B's Our B team reached the semi final in the league and were defeated by Oram by one point in a close exciting game. They were also defeated by Aughnamullen in the Crawley Cup championship first round. Minors Pride of place must go to our minors who won the Division three13-a-side St Dympnas Cup for the second year running. They defeated Rockcorry in the final and all credit must go to the team and mentors Pauric Craig and Paul West. I do hope that more of these talented young players will be playing on our junior team next year. Our minors joined with Aughnamullen in the minor championship Division 1 under the name of Sarsfield Emeralds. They had a good win over Clontibret in the first round and were defeated in their next two games. Under 16's Our under 16's played in Division 1 in the league which proved a bit strong for our lads. They were also defeated by Donaghmoyne in the championship. We have some very good talented players a this stage and I know they well bring success to the club in the future. Under 14's Our under 14 team played in the Division 3 league and reached the final and were defeated by Corduff. A great effort was made by the lads and great credit must go to the team and its mentors on doing so well in the competition. Under 13's Our under 13 amalgamated with Aughnamullen and did very well in the Division 1 competition. They were defeated by Emyvale and Truagh which left them not qualifying for a semi final place. Under 12's Our under 12 team reached the semi final of the McGill Cup competition and were beaten by Killanny. Under 10's The under 10 panel are continuing to train every week and played a number of matches during the year. Our numbers at this age are on the decline and a big effort must be made to try and get more players and parents involved. I would like to thank everyone who was involved with our juvenile teams during the year as these young teams are a very important part of our club future. I have no doubt that our juvenile teams will bring more silver wear to the club in 2007. Philip Courtney Tournament The Philip Courtney tournament on the Bank Holiday August weekend was agin a great success. A very big thanks to all involved, especially the sponsors. The tournament raised over 5,000Euro for the sudden death syndrome Matter Hospital. Annual Sports Day Our sports day was a great success this year on the June Bank Holiday Monday. This day is a great occasion for the community. The Connolly and McBennett Cup were played for at under 10 and under 14 level. Development The Development committee has worked very hard during the year. Their work had certainly showed in the building of our new dressing rooms. We hope this development will be completed by the end of the year. Young At Heart The young at heart committee continued to do good work for the elderly in the community. Hopefully their new kitchens will be ready sometime next year. Blackhill Club Crest A club crest has been designed. The crest is on all correspondence and on our new sponsored jerseys and jackets. Person of the Year It is no surprise that Benny and John Fitzpatrick have been awarded this years Blackhill person of the year. There generosity to the club will always be appreciated. Votes of Sympathy I would like to offer my sympathy with any member who has suffered a bereavement during the year especially the Assistant Secretary, P.J Harkin, on the death of his mother Sarah. By Brendan Mac an Deanaigh

Most Read Stories