Schools: 4th Division 2 title for St. Dympna's

November 11, 2017

Anna Keogh (St.Dympna's) breaks up this St. Seachnall's attack as Isla Brennan and Keva McTigue close in during the Division 2 camogie final at Lomans Park. TO VIEW A SELECTION OF PHOTOGRAPHS FROM THIS GAME CLICK HERE

St. Dympna's NS Kildalkey claimed the  Allianz Meath Cumann na mBunscol  Division 2 camogie crown in a low scoring encounter in the third final of the day at Trim.

St Dympna's Kildalkey 2-1 St. Seachnall's NS 1-1

Neither school could break the deadlock in the opening half as the teams went in scoreless at the break. From the second half throw in Lucy McMahon found the Seachnall's net for the game's opening score. The impressive Sinead Cooke tied the game up at 1-1 each with five minutes to go but a goal from a long range free courtesy of Leah Barnwell gave Dympna's their 4th Division 2 camogie title.

After the game St. Dympna's joint captains Leah Barnwell and Sarah McNally were presented with the Division 2 camogie cup by Meath senior camogie stars Marie and Áine Keogh.

St. Dympna's Kildalkey: Orla Fagan, Emma Donoghue, Roisin O'Donnell, Abbie Duignan, Sarah McNally Grace O'Neill, Caoimhe Swords 1-0, Leah Barnwell 0-1, Anna Keogh, Lucy McMahon 1-0, Emma Lyons. Subs: Ella Blake, Elle Potterton, Amy Fitzgerald, Ellen Johnston, Ava Marie Geoghegan, Maedhbh O'Connor, Blessing Odukoya, Chloe Corrigan, Shannon Curley, Ava Fox.

St. Seachnall's NS: Aisha Saadon, Grace O'Connor, Sophia Capraro, Erin Gray, Isla Brennan, Molly O'Connor, Keva McTigue, Sinead Cooke 1-1, Lucy Boyle, Ellen McEntaggart, Abbie Roche. Subs: Annie Lynch, Anna Duffy, Ellen O'Donoghue, Ellie Sherlock, Roisin McKissock, Sophie Reilly, Aine Neary Burton.

Referee John Byrne

Most Read Stories