U19 FL : Vincents/Curraha in to last four

May 16, 2017

St Vincents/Curraha 3-14   St Peters Dunboyne 4-6

St Vincents Curraha qualified for the semi-final of the under 19 league with a five-point win over St Peters Dunboyne at Curraha on Sunday morning. Despite the winning margin little separated the sides through-out the hour. Dunboyne were first on the score board with a well taken point by Lorcan Conway inside the first few minutes. St Vincents Curraha responded with a point by Ian Battersby and a brace of goals from a lively Conor Moriarty. Dunboyne hit back immediately and found the net themselves to leave a goal between the side.

The home side replied with Moriarty firing over three more points after some excellent approach play by Niall Murphy, Ryan Hand and Andrew Battersby. This put the home-side six points clear. Dunboyne up their game considerably and pressurising the Vincents Curraha defence in poor clearances resulting in two goals before the break. This left St Peters two points ahead on a score of 2-5 to 3-4 on the half hour mark.

With the wind at their backs in the second half St Vincents Curraha seized the opportunity. First Sean Keogh narrowed the gap with an excellent long range strike before Conor Moriarty completed his hat-trick of goals to propel the home side into a two point lead. This put the winners firmly in the driving seat and although Dunboyne tried desperately to respond they were met by a robust St Vincents Curraha defence lead by Niall Murphy, Ryan Hand and Andrew Moriarty. At centrefield  Brian Joyce and Jack Byrne began go gain the upper hand. This dominance provided scoring chances galore for Sean Keogh and Conor Moriarty who added four points each with Nigel Hand also raising a white flag to secure a five point victory.

St Vincents/Curraha: Evan Connor, Mark Phelan, Niall Murphy, Andrew Moriarty, Conor O'Farrell, Ryan Hand, Andy McEntee, Brian Joyce, Jack Byrne, Ian Battersby (0-1), Sean Keogh (0-5), Andrew Battersby, Nigy Hand (0-1), Conor Moriarty (3-7), Jack O Connor. Subs: Patrick McGill for J O Connor, Adam White, Niall McLarnon, David Morgan.

St Peters Dunboyne: Joe McSweeney, Oscar Braun, David O Keefe, Luke Bulger, Niall Carolan, Ben McBrien, Adam McCoy, Jack Donnelly, Cian Flynn, Daragh Nolan, Glen Mulvey, Ronan Duggan, Josh McCloskey, Gavin Prior, Lorcan Conway. Subs: Ciaran Kennedy, Daragh Gilmartin, Sean Nealon, Colm Doherty.


Most Read Stories