Aughlisnafin club notes

January 30, 2012
The club held its Juvenile Presentation Evening last Saturday in The Lodge, Castlewellan. The kids were treated to a slideshow of photographs from many of their matches, tournaments, the training session with Kevin McKernan, the trip to Croke Park and their participation in G-Day which incidently will be aired on TG4 this Sunday at 8 pm. Conor Laverty was the invited guest speaker and he spoke very well and at length about the importance of playing gaelic games and enjoying what they have to offer. He remarked how refreshing it was to see every singly player wearing their own GAA club or county colours and how it will always promote your club or county wherever you may go. He spoke breifly of his Kilcoo & Down career and noted that he has kept an eye on the Fin club's progress over the past few years. He acknowledged the tremendous effort being put in by all of the club's coaches, team mentors and indeed the parents whose continued support makes it all possible. He re-iterated the club's coaching and youth officer Gerard Lenaghan's call for more help on the ground and stressed the importance of a strong youth policy such as that which has served the likes of Kilcoo, Burren and Mayobridge and other top clubs so well. Conor presented everyone with their certificates for their participation for the club's teams at the various grades. He congratulated the U12s on being runners up in the East Down Division 3 East division and presented the medals provided by the East Down Board to all those who took part.

The juveniles are chomping a the bit to get going again for the new season and there will be a registration evening for all players this Thursday evening in the Fin Hall from 8.15 to 9 pm. New members welcome. The club will be fielding u14s boys, u14 girls, u12s, u10s, u8s & u6s teams. There will also be a Spring nursery coaching programme for ages 3 - 7 which will place emphasis on fun and games to help with balance, control and co-ordination to develop the skills for playing gaelic games.

The Senior Mens and Ladies Presentation Night and Dinner Dance was also held in the Lodge later in the same evening. Pete McGrath was the invited guest speaker and spoke of the importance of the club developing and maintaining a strong spirit. He admitted he did not know an awful lot about Aughlisnafin GAC but over the course of the evening, having spoke to various club officials and from the slideshow of photographs of the clubs matches, functions and fundraising activities over the course of the season, he did sense that the Fin club had a strong spirit and togetherness. He remarked that while the senior team is the shop window of the club it is important that the ladies and youth also gain the recognition they deserve and are promoted in equal measure. He spoke of the importance of discipline in all that you do and setting an example to the younger members of the club. Pete was roundly applauded and was presented with a memento by Brendan Scullion who was the club's acting MC on behalf of the chairman Joe Scullion who was overseas on vacation. The senior team manager Emmett Devlin also delivered an excellent speech which was cutting edge stuff with a few jocular comments thrown in which were well received. The county secretary Sean Og McAteer also took time out of a hectic schedule to call in to wish the club well. Pete was then asked to present the various awards. For the Seniors - Players' Player, Francis Boden. Manager's Player, Francis Boden. Best Trainer, Christopher Doran, Most Improved, David McAleenan. Supporter of the Year, Brendan Scullion. For the Ladies, Players' Player, Niamh Flanagan. Manager's Player, Jody Rice. Best Trainer, Aine McClean. Most Improved, Fionnuala Travers. Supporter of the Year, Martin Flanagan. Club Person of the Year, for the second time in the club's recent history, was shared by Rory Murphy and Maurice McClean. Both lads are senior players but do tremendous work behind the scenes. Rory is the club treasurer and was invloved in several of the club's most notable fundraisers and Maurice McClean was ever present in coaching the juveniles while assisting in the mentoring of the u10s and u12s in tournamaents and league matches over the course of the season. Thank you to everyone who attended and to Bilbos for the catering, The Lodge for hosting the function and Magiggs for the music. It was a great evening and nights craic.

The club will be celebrating a mass in St Mary's, Church of the Immaculate Conception, Aughlisnafin at 7.30 pm this Thursday night. We would encourage as many of our members and indeed Friends of the Fin to come along.

The ladies football coaching for Aughlisnafin & Dundrum girls aged 7 - 14 will be held this Sunday in Dundrum with time to be confirmed. Changed due to the Fin club mass. There were 18 girls out last Thursday night, 11 from the Fin and 7 from Dundrum which was excellent considering it was a cold evening. We hope many more can come along this week.

Senior training will commence soon and all players will be informed by text when details are known.

The club managed to sell 48 County/Club draw tickets which is a considerable achievement and thanks to all those who bought tickets which raised much needed funds for both club and county.

The club can now be followed on twitter @AughlisnafinGAC for all the latest news.

The results from the poker night will be in next weeks notes.

Lotto 7, 11, 19, 23. Mrs Scullion, Noeleen Walsh and Mary Brannigan all matched 3 numbers and share £50. Jackpot mow £1,550.

Most Read Stories