'Pollard win replay in a canter

November 03, 2005
Castlepollard were crowned senior hurling champions for a 14th time following their surprisingly comfortable victory over arch rivals Lough Lene Gaels in last Saturday's replayed final at a very wet Cusack Park. As a spectacle, the game was a major disappointment but 'Pollard certainly weren't complaining after they powered to a 2-9 to 0-4 win. An Alfie Devine penalty handed the blue and golds the early initiative, and a second goal from Brendan Murphy in the closing stages of the first half left the winners sitting on a commanding 2-5 to 0-2 lead at the break. On the restart, Derek McNicholas cut over a line ball from 40 metres out to give the Gaels hope, but Barry Kennedy quickly restored 'Pollard's nine-point cushion and they were never in any danger after that. Disappointment followed for the newly-crowned Westmeath champions on Sunday when they suffered a 1-10 to 2-14 defeat to Glenealy of Wicklow in the first round of the Leinster club championship.

Most Read Stories