Munster MHC: Montgomery's goal decisive for Deise

April 23, 2016

A general view of Walsh Park, Waterford.
©INPHO/Ken Sutton.

Waterford 1-20
Tipperary 1-17

Waterford will join Limerick and Cork in the last four of the Munster MHC following their three-point victory over Tipperary in Walsh Park today.

Dillon Quirke's fifth minute goal gave the vistors the perfect start but they turned around for the second-half facing a 1-6 to 0-11 deficit.

The Premier County were back on level terms within three minutes of the restart thanks to a converted Lyndon Fairbrother free but Neil Montgomery's 43rd minute goal sent the Deise on the road to victory.

Eoghan Murray top scored for the winners with 0-11 (4 frees and 1 sideline) while Fairbrother raised 10 white flags (7 fress and 2 65s) for the losing outfit.

The result means that Tipp will now face Clare in a play-off to determine who makes the semi-final stages.

Waterford - B Nolan; C Giles Doran, J Flavin, T Barron; M O'Brien, H Ruddle Redmond (0-5, 3'65, 2f), C Dalton; D Power, C Curran; N Montgomery (1-1), M Mahony, E McGrath; J Prendergast (0-2), E Murray (0-11, 4f, 1sl), T Douglas (0-1). Subs: D Guiry for M Mahony, C Kirwan for N Montgomery, J Reade for E McGrath, D McGrath for T Douglas.

Tipperary - C Barrett; C O'Dwyer, B McGrath, J Cahill; G Dunne, M Whelan, T Murphy; B O'Mara, J Morris (0-1); G Browne (0-2), D Quirke (1-0), M Kehoe (0-1); S Neville, C Darcy (0-3), L Fairbrother (0-10, 7f, 2'65). Subs: C Flanagan for B O'Mara, D O'Connor for J Morris, P Cadell for T Murphy.

Referee - R McGann.

Most Read Stories