Munster club SFC: The Nire shatter Cratloe's double dream

November 16, 2014

The Nire's Conor Gleeson in action against Sean Chaplin of Cratloe

The Nire (Waterford) 1-13
Cratloe (Clare) 2-8
(After extra-time)

Cratloe's bid to become the first club since St. Finbarr's in 1980 to contest the Munster club football and hurling finals in the same year ended in a heartbreaking extra-time defeat to The Nire at Dungarvan.

Colm Collins' charges succumbed to late points from Jamie Barron and Brian Wall as The Nire reached their first provincial final in eight years. Their opponents in the decider will be Kerry's Austin Stacks, who also needed extra-time to see off Ballincollig in the other semi-final.

The sides had been level no less than seven times before Barron edged The Nire in front midway through the second period of extra-time. The county hurler then turned provider for Wall to kick the insurance point and end Cratloe's double dream.

There was nothing between the sides throughout. They were level on 1-6 to 2-3 at half-time with Cratloe's Cathal McInerney fisting home the opening goal after 11 minutes.

Minor star Conor Gleeson replied with a similar score for the Waterford champions five minutes later, only for Conor Ryan to respond immediately at the other end and restore the visitors' lead, 2-2 to 1-3.

However, points from Gleeson and Barron had The Nire level at the short whistle.

Shane Ryan and Brian Wall had early second half points for the winners, but Cratloe hit back with four-in-a-row per Cathal McInerney (three) and Podge Collins to take a two-point lead. But there was still time for Shane Walsh and Gleeson to force extra-time, 1-10 to 2-7.

McInerney and Walsh traded points in the first period of extra-time, but The Nire eventually prevailed thanks to efforts from Barron and Wall in the second period.

The Nire - T Wall; J Walsh, T O'Gorman, Maurice O'Gorman; S Lawlor, B Wall (0-3, 1f), D Wall; C Guiry, S Walsh (0-3); Michael O'Gorman, L Lawlor, J Barron (0-3); C Gleeson (1-2), M Moore, S Ryan (0-2, 1f). Subs: K Guiry for Michael O'Gorman (BC), J Guiry for J Walsh, D Ryan for M Moore, A Lawlor for K Guiry (BC).

Cratloe - P de Loughrey; S Chaplin, B Duggan, S O'Leary; D Ryan, M Hawes, E Boyce; J Galvin, F Lynch; C Ryan (1-0), S Collins, L Markham; C McInerney (1-6, 0-4f), C McGrath, P Collins (0-2). Subs: D Collins for E Boyce (BC).

Referee - D O'Mahoney.

Most Read Stories