Munster club SFC: Gleeson goal helps The Nire to victory

November 02, 2014

Maurice O'Gorman - The Nire and Waterford

The Nire (Waterford) 1-11

Ballylanders (Limerick) 0-7

Waterford minor star Conor Gleeson's first half goal proved decisive as The Nire saw off Ballylanders in a low-key Munster club SFC quarter-final in Kilmallock.

The result extends the Limerick champions' losing run in this competition to six years. With Shane Walsh and Shane Ryan to the fore, the visitors led by 1-7 to 0-3 at half-time.

Ballylanders introduced their top-scorer Kieran O'Callaghan for the second half, but he couldn't make a difference as Tommy Wall in The Nire goal kept the locals at bay.

The Nire will now meet Clare's Cratloe for a place in the Munster final.

The Nire - T Wall; J Walshe, T O'Gorman, T Cooney; D Wall (0-1), B Wall (0-1), S Lawlor; C Guiry (0-1), S Walsh (0-1); Michael O'Gorman, Maurice O'Gorman, J Barron (0-2); L Lawlor, S Ryan (0-2, 1f), C Gleeson (1-2). Subs: M Moore (0-1) for C Guiry (BC), J Guiry for J Walshe, K Guiry for Maurice O'Gorman (BC), D Ryan for J Barron.

Ballylanders - R Slattery; M Kelly, Shane Fox, G Casey; B O'Connell, D Kelly, S Walsh; J Murphy, T Lee; M O'Connell (0-1), J Barry Murphy (0-4, 2f), J Kirby; Steven Fox, E Walsh, D Frewen (0-2, 1f). Subs: K O'Callaghan for J Kirby, T Fox for G Casey, D McCarthy for D Kelly, J Lee for B O'Connell.

Referee - C Lane.

Most Read Stories