Ulster Club JFC: Title number three for Rock

November 27, 2016

Former Tyrone player Ciaran Gourley featured for Rock.
©INPHO/Morgan Treacy.

Despite a brave effort from Blackhill, Tyrone outfit Rock were crowned Ulster Club Junior Football champions for the third time in their history at Pairc Esler today on a scoreline of 1-12 to 0-14.

A last gasp free from the Monaghan side's Dermot Daly sent the decider to extra-time after the sides finished level on 0-9 apiece at the end of normal time.

With the game delicately poised, Aidan McGarrity's goal, which arrived early in extra-time proceedings, swung the contest in Rock's favour.

During the regulation period, the winners trailed by 0-5 to 0-6 at half-time but the sides were deadlocked at 0-7 each entering the final 10 minutes.

Up stepped the impressive Conor McCreesh to put the Red Hand County men in front in the 57th minute and McGarrity doubled their lead two minutes later via a free.

Points from Aaron Kenny and Daly salvaged a draw for Blackhill but their luck ran out in extra-time.

Rock - S Donaghy; P Ward, N Mullan, N McWilliams; C McWilliams, S Mullan, C Gourley; D Carroll (0-2), E McWilliams; T Bloomer, E Ward, C McCreesh (0-5, 4f); R Crilly, A McGarrity (1-5, 0-3f), P Ward. Subs: A Girvan for E Ward, P Ward for N Mullan (BC), E Ward for P Ward.

Blackhill - M Shevlin; A Kenny (0-1), D Courtney, T Courtney; T Geehan (0-1), R Courtney, J Daly (0-2); A Courtney (0-1), D Daly (0-2f); H Byrne (0-1), P Donnelly, C Courtney; M Geehan, D Woods, C Woods (0-5). Subs: P Murphy for M Geehan, A Burns (0-1) for D Woods, E Byrne for C Courtney, M Comiskey for P Murphy, S Courtney, D Woods for M Comiskey, T Forde for A Kenny (BC).

Referee - D Mullan.

Most Read Stories