Rackard Cup round-up: Donegal and Tyrone advance

May 16, 2015

The Nicky Rackard Cup.

Donegal and Tyrone successfully negotiated their respective Nicky Rackard Cup quarter-final hurdles today.

Ronan McDermott bagged four goals as Donegal claimed Monaghan's scalp in Clones on a scoreline of 6-12 to 2-13.

McDermott's first goal arrived in the first-half but the men from the north west trailed by 1-5 to 1-10 at the break.

As things turned out, however, the Farney County had no answer to a second-half Donegal goal rush which saw McDermott (3), Ciaran Mathewson and Sean McVeigh raise green flags.

Meanwhile, in Swords, Matthew Mulgrew was on target with 1-5 as Tyrone scored a 1-21 to 0-20 extra-time victory over Fingal.

In what was a repeat of last year's final, John Matthew Sheridan forced extra-time for the Dublin outfit but, in the end, Mulgrew's contribution proved to be a vital ingredient in the Red Hands winning formula.

Donegal - P Burns; J Downey, J Donnelly, M Callaghan; C McDermott, J Boyle (0-1), N Cleary; D Cullen, S McVeigh (1-2); J O'Loughlin, K Campbell (0-4), E McDermott; C Mathewson (1-4, 0-3f), R McDermott (4-0), B Lafferty (0-1). Subs: C Kilgannon for J Downey, S Gillespie for J O'Loughlin.

Monaghan - K Hanniffy; B Flanagan, K Crawley, C McKenna (0-1); D Crowe (0-1), A Kenny, P Treanor; M Murphy, E MacSuibhne (0-1); N Garland (2-0), M Treanor, R Meegan (0-6, 5f); F Rafter (0-1), S Lambe (0-3), J Guinan. Subs: C Meegan for M Treanor, P Dowdall for E MacSuibhne, T Forde for F Rafter, H Byrne for R Meegan.

Referee - A Nash.


Tyrone - J Devlin; C McNally, M O'Gorman, M Grogan; P McHugh, D Begley, T Morgan; R Devlin, A Kelly (0-1); M Mulgrew (1-5), S Og Grogan, C Cross; C Grogan (0-3), D Casey (0-10, 5f, 1'65), G Gilmore (0-2). Subs: J Kelly for G Gilmore, R Kelly for S Grogan, G Gilmore for A Kelly.

Fingal - K McLoughlin; N Feeney, I Kennedy, G Morris; P Quinn, N Ring, A Morris; D Hattie (0-1), R McGarry; J M Sheridan (0-8, 5f, 2'65), S O'Brien (0-2), C O'Flynn (0-2); D Butterley, P McAllister (0-3), E O'Connor (0-3). Subs: B McCarthy (0-1) for D Butterley, P Graves for S O'Brien.

Referee - P Murphy.

Most Read Stories