All-Ireland champions Tipp unveil pre-season training panel

November 29, 2016

Tipperary manager Michael Ryan celebrates.
©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

Tipperary senior hurling manager Michael Ryan has unveiled his pre-season panel.

With the Premier County opting out of the Munster Senior Hurling League for a second successive year, Ryan and his selectors Declan Fanning, John Madden and Conor Stakelum have assembled a strong group of over 40 players for winter training.

The reigning Munster and All-Ireland champions will be captained by Padraic Maher in 2017. The Thurles Sarsfields clubman takes over the role from his namesake Brendan Maher, while Seamus Callanan will act as vice-captain.

Meanwhile, the Tipp players and management team are set to travel to Miami next month for a team holiday.

Goalkeepers: Darren Gleeson (Portroe), Brian Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha), Daragh Mooney (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill).

Defenders: Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill), James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane), Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields), Seamus Kennedy (St. Mary's), Tomás Hamill (Moyne-Templetuohy), Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg), Donagh Maher (Burgess), John O'Keeffe (Clonoulty Rossmore), Willie Ryan (Clonakenny), John Meagher (Loughmore-Castleiney), Joe O'Dwyer (Killenaule), Alan Flynn (Kiladangan), Tom Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill).

Midfielders: Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh), Kieran Bergin (Killenaule), Michael Breen (Ballina), Daire Quinn (Nenagh Éire Óg), Stephen Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields), Sean Ryan (Sean Treacy's)

Forwards: John O'Dwyer (Killenaule), Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch), Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha), Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh), Niall O'Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs), Jason Forde (Silvermines), Sean Curran (Mullinahone), Aidan McCormack (Thurles Sarsfields), Steven O'Brien (Ballina), Andrew Coffey (Nenagh Éire Óg), Dylan Fitzell (Cashel King Cormacs), Paudie Green (Upperchurch-Drombane), Paul Flynn (Kiladangan), Stephen Quirke (Moyle Rovers), Tommy Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg).

Most Read Stories