Tipperary SFC final: Stalemate in Leahy Park

December 21, 2014

John Ryan of Loughmore with Dan Lonergan of Cahir

Cahir 1-10
Loughmore-Castleiney 2-7

Cahir and Loughmore-Castleiney will have to meet again to decide the destination of the Tipperary SFC silverware this year after today's final at Leahy Park ended in a draw.

An attendance of 1,550 turned up to see holders Loughmore-Castleiney come from behind to snatch a draw and the replay is scheduled to take place next Sunday.

There was a hint of square ball about the game's first goal which arrived courtesy of Robbie Costigan and parachuted Cahir into a 1-2 to 0-1 lead but Liam McGrath and Cian Hennessy replied for the reigning champions and they trailed by 2-2 to 1-6 at the break.

Loughmore-Castleiney held a slender 2-6 to 1-8 lead on the three quarter hour mark but the sides were deadlocked when the final whistle was blown.

Meanwhile, Drom and Inch qualified for the Intermediate football final with a 2-8 to 0-8 semi-final replay victory over Borrisokane and Moycarkey-Borris got the better of Fethard in the Senior Football Relegation final on a scoreline of 2-9 to 1-4

Cahir - B Enright; M O'Connor, G Hally, C Casey; S O'Connor, A Casey, R Costigan (1-0); E Kendrick (0-1), L Casey; B Hickey (0-3f), P O'Flaherty (0-1), S Murphy; P Whelan (0-3f), D Lonergan (0-2), J McGrath. Subs: E Donaghy for M O'Connor, N McKenna for S Murphy.

Loughmore-Castleiney - D Brennan; L Egan, W Eviston, T McGrath (0-2); T King, C McGrath, J Ryan; N McGrath, D Kennedy; A McGrath, C Hennessy (1-1), L Treacy (0-2f); L McGrath (1-0), E Sweeney, J McGrath (0-2f). Subs: J Nyland for E Sweeney, J Meagher for L Egan, E Connolly for D Kennedy.

Referee - P Russell.

Most Read Stories