All-Ireland IHC final: Gleeson fires Tipp to title

August 31, 2013

Tipperary captain David Young raises the All Ireland IHC Cup at Nowlan Park
Tipperary 2-14
Kilkenny 2-11

Tipperary withstood a late Kilkenny rally to be crowned All-Ireland intermediate hurling champions at Nowlan Park this evening.

Two Ruairi Gleeson goals either side of half-time proved decisive as the Premier County gained a measure of revenge for their seniors' Allianz League final and All-Ireland qualifier defeats to the Cats at the same venue earlier this year. Tipp led by 2-10 to 1-7 entering the final quarter, but were left hanging on for victory after Jonjo Farrell's second goal for Kilkenny with four minutes remaining cut the gap to just two points.

The visitors signalled their intent with three early points from Willie Ryan and Niall O'Meara (two). Kilkenny hit back to level the game at 0-5 each after 23 minutes before Gleeson raised his first green flag in the 26th minute.

But on the stroke of half-time, the hosts replied with a goal of their own through Farrell to leave just the minimum in it, 1-6 to 1-7, at the short whistle.

Former senior Timmy Hammersley registed the first score of the second half before Gleeson's second major in the 37th minute propelled the Premier into a 2-8 to 1-6 lead. They extended their advantage to six points before Farrell's second goal left it 2-11 to 2-13 and set up a grandstand finish.

But it was that man Gleeson who made sure of Tipp's victory with a crucial point in the final minute.

Tipperary - D Egan; S O'Brien, M Butler, T Treacy; J O'Keeffe, D Young, P Heffernan; B Fox (0-1f), W Ryan (0-1); O Quirke, T Butler, N O'Meara (0-4); R Gleeson (2-1), D O'Hanlon (0-1), T Hammersley (0-5, 2f, 1'65). Subs: J McLoughney for O Quirke, P Molloy for D O'Hanlon, C Kenny (0-1) for M Butler, P Shortt for P Molloy.

Kilkenny - R O'Neill; S Cummins, M Walsh, S Prendergast; L Harney (0-1), P Hartley, M Moloney; B Kennedy, D Langton (0-1); B Beckett, R Hickey (0-5, 3f), C Phelan (0-1); J Brennan (0-1), J Farrell (2-0), D Walton (0-1). Subs: J Lyng for B Beckett, P Holden (0-1) for D Walton, S Donnelly for J Brennan.

Referee - T Carroll.

Most Read Stories