Munster MFC final: Tipp comeback downs Kingdom

July 09, 2012

Tipperary's Colm O'Riordan and Cillian Fitzgerald of Kerry during the Munster MFC final at The Gaelic Grounds. ©INPHO
KERRY 1-14

Reigning All-Ireland champions Tipperary overturned a five-point half-time deficit to maintain their grip on the Munster MFC silverware against Kerry in the Gaelic Grounds yesterday.

The Kingdom led by 1-9 to 0-7 at the change of ends but Tipperary were boosted by two second half goals from Colman Kennedy and Tom Kirwan.

Mickey Ned O'Sullivan's Kerry team were on top in the first half exchanges and Niall Sheehy netted their goal.

Ian Fahy initiated Tipperary's second half revival with a point within seconds of the resumption and Kennedy then punched the ball to the back of the Kerry net.

Kirwan's 42nd minute goal made it 2-4 without reply and David Power's team went on to put provincial titles back-to-back.

Tipperary - E Comerford; D Cass, J Feehan, L Egan; K Fahey, D Fitzelle, B Maher (0-1); S O'Brien (0-2), I Fahey (0-4); J Lonergan (0-1), J Martin (0-1), G Henry; C Kennedy (1-3), P Quirke (0-1), T Kirwan (1-1). Subs: J Loughnane for Cass, C O'Riordan for Egan, TJ Ryan for Lonergan, M O'Meara for Martin, J Shelly for Kirwan.

Kerry - G Curran; C Ó Lúing, G Crowley, S O'Connor; B Crowley, J Barry, G Horan; E Ó Conchúir, K Murphy (0-1); D Foran (0-1), J Savage (0-4), C Fitzgerald (0-1); G O'Shea, N Sheehy (1-4), C Keane (0-3). Subs: S Moloney for O'Shea, G O'Sullivan for E O'Connor, E Doyle for Murphy, A Spillane for Foran.

Referee - C Lane (Cork).

Most Read Stories