Sligo clinch Division 3 crown

May 10, 2004
Sligo..........3-12 Tyrone.........1-8 Paul Seevers scored an impressive 2-7 as Sligo powered to an impressive victory over Tyrone in the National Hurling League Division 3 final at Ballyshannon. The veteran forward converted two penalties in the 24th and 34th minutes to put the Yeats County on the road to an historic victory. Tyrone, who were bizarrely asked to play at the same time as their football counterparts met Derry in the Ulster championship, got off to a great start when Peter O'Connor goaled in the third minute. The Red Hands were 1-2 to 0-1 to the good before Michael Gilmartin brought Sligo back into contention with a superb solo goal. And Severs' double strike had them 3-3 to 1-6 in front at the interval. Sligo took complete control after the restart with Seevers and Keith Raymond hitting some excellent scores. Tyrone's misery was completed when centre Ryan Winters was dismissed with 10 minutes remaining. Sligo - M Gorman, F Coyne, J Burke, J Quinn, R Haughey, D Collery, K Raymond 0-1, E Gallagher, P Seevers 2-7, P Barry, M Burke 0-2, J Carroll 0-1, B Brett, F Cretaro 0-1, M Gilmartin 1-0 Tyrone - P Daly, C Hughes, D Maguire, G Byrne, B Daly, R Winters, S O'Neill, P Hughes, T McIntosh 0-1, R McCallan, J O'Neill, P Lavery 0-6, P McErlean, G McGettigan, P O'Connor 1-1. Subs: C McErlean for McGettigan, P Devine for McCallan Referee - JA Gribben (Down)

Most Read Stories