Raheen and Na Fianna GAA club notes

November 14, 2017


The numbers drawn in the Lotto draw which took place on Monday 06 November were 08 18 22 27. There was No Jackpot winner of €8,800 and Match 3 Winners (Donie Hunt C/O Geashill P/O; Breda Bracken C/O John Garry) (€100 Each). Next week's draw will take place in Doyle's, Killeigh on Monday 20 November 2017.



The Annual General Meeting of Raheen GAA Club will take place on Friday 24th November 2017 at 8pm SHARP in the Clubhouse, Geashill. ALL Players, Members & Officials are asked to attend.



Raheen GAA Club would like to extend our best wishes to Pauric Pierce who has decided to retire as a Referee with more than 10 years of service after taking charge of his final game last week the Div 1 League Final between Rhode and Ferbane.



Well done to current and former Raheen players Stephen Byrne, Eddie Kaye, Matthew O'Byrne, Karol O'Byrne, Garrett Garry & Shane Carroll who all completed the Westport Sea 2 Summit 56K adventure race last Saturday. It involved a 4k run, 8k cycle, 5k mountain climb of Croagh Patrick, 35k mountain cycle and a 4k obstacle run to the finish.


Na Fianna club notes


Na Fianna's one win on the field of play along with 2 walkovers secured their place in the Semi Finals of the Cross Border Floodlit Competition. It was St Josephs (Laois) who were their opponents in the Semi Final which took place last Friday evening in Portlaoise but it was St Josephs who march on to the final after surviving a brave comeback by Na Fianna to win by 4-11 to 5-06. Two goals in first half stoppage time saw St Josephs take a commanding lead at the break 4-03 to 1-02 with Na Fianna's goal scored by Fergal Dolan. St Josephs extended their lead with the first 2 points of the second half before a goal from Adam Mangan followed by 2 points cut the deficit for Na Fianna but this was wiped out with the next 3 points for St Josephs . Then in the final 10 mins Na Fianna stormed right back , firstly with 2-01 Adam Mangan & Oisin Henchy with the goals which cut the gap to 3 points before St Josephs hit back with 3 points, then in injury time a point followed by a penalty for Na Fianna which was converted by Morgan Tynan left just 2 points in it but there was time for no more with the final whistle blown straight from the kickout.

NA FIANNA: Martin Kelly, Eoin McGuinness, David Carthy, Mark Kelly, Jack Gorry, Adam Strong, Ryan Dunne, James Nolan (0-04), Morgan Tynan (1-00), Jacob Beatty (0-02), Ryan Strong, Barry Crombie, Oisin Henchy (1-00), Adam Mangan (2-00), Fergal Dolan (1-00).

SUBS: Jack Brickland (for Eoin McGuinness), Ciaran Murphy (for Fergal Dolan).



Na Fianna Football Club are holding a Year End Fundraising Progressive 25 Card Game on Thursday 30th November 2017 in Ballinagar Community Hall starting at 8:45pm. Ticket €10 Each available from any Committee Member, Team Managers or Selectors. Please come along and support.

Most Read Stories