Leinster MHC: Kilkenny and Dublin into last-four

April 15, 2017

Cats and Dubs go through

Kilkenny and Dublin are the first teams through to this year's Leinster minor hurling championship semi-finals.

Adrian Mullen scored the only goal five minutes into the second half as Kilkenny cruised to a 1-20 to 0-11 victory over Wexford at Nowlan Park. The Cats, who hammered Westmeath in the first round seven days ago,  had led by 0-10 to 0-6 at the break.

Dublin finished strongly at Parnell Park to edge out Laois on a 1-11 to 1-8 scoreline. Kevin Desmond and Oisin Bennett exchanged goals in the first half and the sides were level on 1-7 apiece at the end of the third quarter before Sean Currie pointed the hosts to victory.

In Newbridge, Joey Keenaghan's early goal proved decisive as Offaly overcame Kildare by 1-15 to 1-9, while Meath ended Westmeath's interests with an emphatic 2-18 to 0-6 victory in Ashbourne.

Leading by 0-12 to 0-5 at half-time, the Royals pulled away with goals from Nicky Potterton and Mikey Mullen as their hapless opponents could only muster a single point in the second half for the second week in-a-row.

Kilkenny - B Maher; T Ronan, M Carey, D Walsh; J Brennan, C Flynn (0-1f), J Molloy; N Brassil (0-1), N Brennan (0-1); A Mullen (1-9, 0-6f, 0-1'65), C Heary (0-1), E O'Shea (0-2); J Kelly (0-3), T Drea (0-1), S Ryan (0-1). Subs: J Ryan for C Heary, D Barron for J Brennan, R Connolly for S Ryan, R Hennessy for E O'Shea, J Roberts for T Drea.

Wexford - J Henebry; C Scallan, G Sheehan, C O'Connor; M Codd, J Myler, M Kelly; E O'Leary, S Wall (0-1); E Murphy, S Nolan, R Cody; K Firman (0-1), C Turner (0-1), R Banville (0-8f). Subs: D Doyle for C Turner, C McGuckin for R Cody, J Devereux for E Murphy, P Dempsey for J Myler.

Referee - S Stack.


Dublin - C O'Donoghue; A Dunphy, B McHugh, T Glynn; K Burke, L Walsh, M Grogan; B Coffey, D O Floinn; M Murphy, E Allen (0-1), E O'Neill (0-1); S Currie (0-7, 1f, 1'65), K Desmond (1-0), L Murphy (0-1). Subs: D Keogh for M Murphy, J Byrne (0-1) for E Allen, E O'Donnell for E O'Neill, B Ryan for L Murphy.

Laois - C Dunne; J Maher, D Breen, D Conway; R Murphy, P Delaney (0-1f), E O'Connor; PJ Daly, L Senior; J McCormack, J Keyes (0-1), D Comerford; O Bennett (1-6, 0-4f), C Comerford, J Phelan. Subs: B McGinley for J Phelan, C Duggan for J McCormack, E Gaughan for L Senior, C Rigney for PJ Daly.

Referee - K Brady.


Offaly - C Flynn; L O'Connor, C O'Meara, A King; C Guinan, B Keeley, P Cantwell; D Nally (0-3f), C Quinn (0-2); M O'Brien, O Hickey (0-2), C Langton; L Kavanagh, J Keenaghan (1-4), A Kenny (0-4, 2f). Subs: A Maher for M O'Brien, S O'Toole for L Kavanagh.

Kildare - M Doyle; E Prizeman, R Hogan, A Deegan; H Carroll, J Dolan, L Conroy; R Boran, R Monaghan; K Aherne (0-1), C Tobin (1-7, 0-6f, 0-1'65), L O'Flynn; B Stynes, D Doyle (0-1), B Tobin. Subs: J Burke for R Hogan, A Bergin for D Doyle.

Referee - B Redmond.


Meath - A Dunne; B O'Reilly, C Butler, S Coffey; J Connolly, D McGowan, B Kelly; E Fitzgerald (0-2), D Hennessy; J Ryan, T Fadden, J Leavy (0-1); B Dowling (0-1), M Mullen (1-11, 0-5f, 0-2'65), N Potterton (1-3). Subs: D Gilmartin for T Fadden, M Farrell for D Hennessy, V Ward for J Ryan, C O'Farrell for B Dowling, S Hogan for S Coffey.

Westmeath - B McHugh; D O'Loughlin, C Shaw, R Moore; C Flynn, C O'Brien, L Brodrick; F Heeney (0-1), E Ahearne; A Ennis, C McKeogh, R Coyne; K Carey (0-1), P Kane, S Broughan (0-4, 3f, 1'65). Subs: P Tormey for R Coyne, A Kennedy for P Kane, B McCarthy for K Carey, A Fagan for C McKeogh, E Burke for D O'Loughlin.

Referee - G McGrath.

Most Read Stories