Leinster club SFC: Rhode goals down O'Mahony's

November 09, 2014

Rhode's Niall McNamee. INPHO

Rhode (Offaly) 4-10

Navan O'Mahony's (Meath) 0-13

Two goals in either half proved decisive as a more clinical Rhode side recorded a flattering nine-point victory over Navan O'Mahony's at Tullamore.

Pat Daly's charges will return to O'Connor Park in two weeks' time to do battle with midland rivals Moorefield for a place in the Leinster final.

O'Mahony's had wind advantage in the first half, but were dealt an early setback when Glenn O'Connell pounced for a goal after just three minutes. The Meath champions had drawn level by the time Rhode managed their next score in the 17th minute.

But O'Mahony's then enjoyed their best spell which yielded five points from play in quick succession, including two from Stephen Bray, to take a 0-8 to 1-2 lead. However, a foul by Damien Moran on Brian Darby earned Rhode a penalty on the stroke of half-time, which O'Connell duly converted to give them a 2-3 to 0-8 lead at the short whistle.

Points from Niall McNamee, Conor McNamee and Anton Sullivan (two) pushed the Dowling Cup holders four clear on the restart as O'Mahony's continued to miss chances. However, four points without reply, including two Jake Regan frees, brought them level.

Rhode responded with scores from Anton Sullivan and O'Connell before Conor McNamee was sent off. But despite their numerical advantage, they finished the stronger with Niall McNamee and Brian Darby both raising green flags late on.

Rhode - K Garry; J McPadden, E Rigney, J Kavanagh; C Heavey, B Darby (1-0), E Byrne; A McNamee, C McNamee (0-1); N Darby, P Sullivan, G O'Connell (2-1, 1-0pen); P McPadden, A Sullivan (0-4), N McNamee (1-4, 0-1f). Subs: S Hannon for P McPadden, R McNamee for N Darby.

Navan O'Mahony's - D Quirke; B Dillon, N McKeigue, J O'Reilly; D Smyth; S Crosby (0-2), G O'Brien; C McGuinness, D Moran; S Gillespie (0-1), D Bray, A Forde (0-2); J Regan (0-5, 3f), S Bray (0-3, 1f), R O Coileain. Subs: I Matthews for D Smyth, S McGabhann for C McGuinness, D Maguire for D Moran.

Referee - J Hickey.


Most Read Stories