Monaghan SFC final: Boyle wins it for Clontibret

October 05, 2014

Monaghan's Conor Mcmanus. INPHO

Clontibret 1-10
Scotstown 1-9

Clontibret have been crowned Monaghan senior football champions for the 16th time after avenging last year's heavy defeat to Scotstown with a dramatic victory at Clones.

Conor Boyle's injury-time point gave Dominic Corrigan's side the win after they had trailed by five points at half-time. They will now go on to face three-in-a-row Down winners Kilcoo in the preliminary round of the Ulster club SFC in a fortnight's time.

Pre-match favourites Scotstown looked to be on course to retain the Mick Duffy Cup when Darren Hughes' goal helped them to a 1-6 to 0-4 interval lead. However, Clontibret got themselves back into it when their captain and man of the match Conor McManus netted from a penalty six minutes after the restart.

A replay appeared likely until Boyle won it at the death for the Saffrons.

Clontibret - C Fadian; D Mone, P McGuigan, C Boyle (0-1); C Greenan, D Mooney, D Savage; V Corey (0-1), E Greenan (0-1); M Corey, C Lavelle, P Boyle; C McManus (1-6, 1-0pen, 0-2f, 0-1'45), B Greenan, R McGuigan (0-1). Subs: F Mone for C Lavelle, A Curran for P Boyle, JP Mone for D Savage, R Murphy for R McGuigan.

Scotstown - R Beggan (0-1f); D McArdle, P Keenan, M Duffy; J Turley, P O'Hara, P Sherlock; F Caulfield; D McCague; B McGinnity (0-1), S Carey (0-2f), O Heaphey (0-1); C McCarthy, D Hughes (1-3), K Hughes (0-1). Subs: M Treanor for O Heaphey, D Morgan for P Sherlock, N Corrigan for M Treanor.

Referee - D Lynch.

Most Read Stories