Seven point win for hurlers

May 26, 2014

Monaghan 3-12
Sligo 0-14

Monaghan ensured that they will compete in the 2015 version of the Nicky Rackard Cup courtesy of a seven point defeat of Sligo at Sean O'Heslins Park in Ballinamore last Saturday afternoon. Comfortable throughout, the Ulster side always held the upper hand over their opponents. Keith Raymond's free taking abilities - he scored 0-7 from dead balls - threatened to spoil Monaghan's afternoon, but three goals, two of which came from the impressive Brian McGuigan, affirmed Monaghan's dominance. Kevin Crawley, stationed at centre-half forward, was also influential for Monaghan chipping in with 0-7, and his display played a big part in their success.

Scorers - Monaghan: Kevin Crawley 0-7 (6f), Brian McGuigan 2-1, Conor McKenna 0-2, Conor Boyle 1-1 Eanna Mac Suibhne 0-1. Sligo: Keith Raymond 0-9 (6f, 1 65'), Neil Hyland, Gary Waldron 0-2 each, Brendan Kenny 0-1 (f)

Sligo: Sean Hayes; Tom Brennan, Eolan McCarthy, Matthew Davey; Ethan McGowan, Benny Kenny, Ciaran Brennan; Neil Hyland, Liam Reidy; Diarmuid O'Connor, Gary Waldron, Keith Raymond; Gary Cadden, Kevin Gilmartin, Gerard O'Kelly-Lynch. Subs: Declan Reidy for McCarthy (43), Jonathan Durkin for O'Kelly-Lynch (45).

Monaghan: David McGahan; Cathal McAnespie, Peter Treanor, Shane McNally; Cormac McNally, Mark Treanor, Paddy Finnegan; Eanna Mac Suibhne, Trevor Hilliard; Conor Boyle, Kevin Crawley, PJ Boyle; Brian McGuigan, Aonghus Mac Suibhne, Conor McKenna. Subs: Christopher Morgan for McNally (28), Nathan Adair for PJ Boyle (47), Raymond McNally for Conor Boyle (70).

Referee: B Sweeney (Cavan)

Most Read Stories