Byrne hits late winner for Ballinlough

June 09, 2008

Peadar Byrne was outstanding for Ballinlough
A superb injury time point from Peadar Byrne was the decisive score as Ballinlough withheld a late Castletown rally to secure victory in this Intermediate Championship clash played in Carlanstown on Sunday. Ballinlough 1-9 Castletown 0-11 Ballinlough have continued to show signs of steady improvement during the year and their performance throughout the majority of this contest was impressive. However, they were somewhat fortunate that their inability to turn possession into scores wasn't punished, as Castletown missed an opportunity to draw the match with an injury time free. Ballinlough struggled to match Castletown's intensity in the early stages and last years finalists took a deserved lead, 0-3 to 0-0, after 7 minutes. Ballinlough's defensive unit tightened up considerably for the remainder of the half and also launched numerous attacks. The winners got off the mark with a goal in the 15th minute when Peadar Byrne finished off a move instigated by Padraig Ryan after an excellent interception in his own full-back line. Three pointed frees from Kevin Devine and a Ken Rothwell point gave "The Reds" a 1-4 to 0-5 lead at the interval. Ballinlough started the second half in impressive fashion and extended their lead by, 1-6 to 0-5, after 35 minutes courtesy of good points from Kevin Devine and Ronan Mc Guinness, following good approach play from Rothwell. The winners then enjoyed a period of complete dominance as Seamus Fagan excelled around midfield, however they failed to increase their lead; after 45 minutes they still only led by four points, 1-7 to 0-6. Ballinlough were left rueing numerous missed scoring opportunities as the inevitable Castletown fight back gathered momentum; they outscored the winners by five points to one between the 45th and 60th minutes. The sides were level 1-8 to 0-11 entering injury time however; Byrne had the final say as his magnificent left-footed point proved to be the final score of the match. Ballinlough will be delighted that they have now defeated the three previous intermediate finalists on route to booking their place in the knock-out stages of the championship. Lorcan Maguire was their outstanding performer, others to impress were Benji Smyth, Padraig Muldoon, Seamus Fagan, Conor Briody and Kevin Devine. Ballinlough: B Balfe; B Smith, P Muldoon, P Ryan, E O' Reilly, L Maguire, R Farrell, Cian Mallon, S Fagan, Colm Mallon, P Byrne (1-1), C Briody (0-1), K Devine(0-4) , K Rothwell (0-2), R Mc Guinness (0-1). Subs: S Byrne for Briody. A more economical Bective outfit took the honours in the Junior D championship clash played in Cortown on Friday evening. The first half was an even affair, but superior fitness told as Bective ran out comfortable winners. Bective 2-7 Ballinlough 1-2 Despite falling behind to an early point, Ballinlough responded well and took the lead when Jamsie Esmonde netted after good work from Michael Reilly and Adam Kellett. Ballinlough then missed numerous scoring opportunities as Bective hit three successive points, Ballinlough's only response came when Esmonde split the posts from a tight angle just before the break. The sides were level 1-1 to 0-4 at half-time. Bective took control in the second half as Ballinlough struggled to gain possession around midfield. The concession of two late goals proved costly as Bective ran out deserved winners. Best for Ballinlough were: Shane Smyth, Gene Fitzgerald, Jamsie Esmonde and Robert Stephens. Ballinlough: J Farrell; S Smyth, K Mc Guinness, B Smyth, G Fitzgerald, J O' Keffee, K Mallon, C Maguire (0-1), S Byrne, D Mc Namee, J Esmonde (1-1), M Reilly, A Kellett, R Stephens, N Finlay. Subs: D O' Reilly for Byrne, M Mc Keown for Finlay, Finlay for Mallon.

Most Read Stories