Dunshaughlin win local derby

August 27, 2007
Dunshaughlin bagged themselves a further two points in this year's Senior Football Championship with a valuable win over neighbours and rivals Blackhall Gaels. Dunshaughlin 1-10 Blackhall Gaels 0-12 Despite holding a five point lead at half time, this titanic battle went down to the last kick of the game, Dunshaughlin coming out worthy winners. Dunshaughlin started very brightly, Cathal O'Dwyer opening the scoring with a point after three minutes. Niall Kelly followed up with two points straight after, one a splendid effort from a 45. After 10 minutes Dunshaughlin lead 0-3 to 0-0, but Blackhall Gaels worked their way back into the game and by the 21st minutes the scores were level 0-3 a piece. Conor Staunton added a point for Dunshaughlin two minutes later but Blackhall Gaels equalized almost straight away. As half time approached the team were evenly balanced, but Dunshaughlin upped the ante for what proved to be three vital scores. The outstanding Michael McHale collected a ball and pointed before Niall Kelly struck another over. In injury time added at the end of the first half, Dunshaughlin put together the move of the match - a long ball down the wing to Conor Staunton. Staunton turned his marker and centred a lovely punt pass straight into the path of the oncoming David Crimmins who burst through the centre, making no mistake with his finish to the net. This put Dunshaughlin into a deserved lead at half time, leading 1-6 to 0-4. The third quarter was all Blackhall Gaels as they outscored Dunshaughlin by six points to one, Trevor Dowd registering the Dunshaughlin point. The score was level 1-7 to 0-10 as the game entered the last quarter. Dunshaughlin wrestled back control of the game with points from Trevor Dowd and substitute Cillian Finn. Niall Kelly converted a free and Dunshaughlin led by three with five minutes left. Blackhall Gaels applied pressure as they tried to level the game up, but two frees from Tadgh Brosnan were not enough for the Batterstown/Kilcloon outfit as Dunshaughlin ran out one-point winners. Best for Dunshaughlin were Ray Maloney, Michael McHale, Martin Reilly, Trevor Dowd and Conor Staunton. Dunshaughlin: M. Aherne, F. Gogan, R. Maloney, D. Kealy, M. McHale, C. King, T. Johnson, N. Kelly, A. Johnson, D. Tonge, M. Reilly, T. Dowd, C. O'Dwyer, D. Crimmins, C. Staunton. Subs - C. Finn for A. Johnson, K. Ward for Gogan, A. Johnson for O'Dwyer

Most Read Stories