Wexford dethrone holders

June 14, 2007

Wexford top scorer Darren Foran evades Meath's Paul Collier during last nights Leinster JFC semi final at Pairc Tailteann
Wexford ended Meath's two-year reign as Leinster junior football champions when they recorded a 2-14 to 2-9 extra-time victory in Wednesday night's semi-final at Pairc Tailteann. Meath looked set for victory when TJ Garry slotted home a penalty in the dying minutes of normal time, but there was still enough time for Paddy Sinnott to reply with a pointed free which left the sides level on 2-7 to 1-10. Despite having their top scorer Darren Foran sent off, Wexford's superior fitness stood them in good stead in extra-time and they sealed their place in the final with a late goal from Paddy Byrne. Scorers - Wexford: D Foran 1-3, P Sinnott 0-5, P Byrne 1-1, D Farrell 0-3, J Mernagh and P Atkinson 0-1 each. Meath: JL Magee 0-4, B Meade and TJ Garry 1-0 each, M Burke, J Quinney, JB O'Reilly, P Clinton and C O'Connor 0-1 each.

Most Read Stories