Na Fianna grab vital win

June 11, 2007
The Na Fianna football team had a hard earned win over Oldcastle in the third round of the Intermediate Championship played in Athboy. Na Fianna 1-9 Oldcastle 1-7 The winners, who were short half a dozen first team players due to injury and suspensions secured victory with a goal in injury time to see of the Oldcastle challenge. Na Fianna were first off the mark with points from centre forward Jamie Queeney (2) from a free and a 45' in the opening two minutes. Oldcastle settled and points in the 5th, 10th and 13th minute saw them take the lead before Na Fianna's Sean Griffin levelled the scores in the 21st minute. A further Queeney free in the 28th minute saw Na Fianna ahead but Oldcastle finished the half strongly with two further points to see the half time score at 0-4 to 0-6. Oldcastle started the second period with a good goal in the opening minute. A Queeney free in the 2nd minute and an Eamon Regan point in the 6th saw Na Fianna fight back. Oldcastle scored their final score of the half - a point in the 19th minute to go further ahead. Na Fianna were dominant at this stage but a series of missed scoring opportunities saw them struggling to narrow the gap. Points from Queeney (2 frees) and Robert Payne saw them just a single point in arrears going into injury time. In the 33rd minute Sean Griffin lofted a high ball into the Oldcastle square. It sailed over the heads of the forwards and defenders and deceived the keeper and ended up in the net to give Na Fianna their second win in the championship. Best for Na Fianna were Shane Geraghty in goal, Fergal Foran, Christy Cosgrave and Diarmuid Bailey in defence, Brian Queeney and Ronan McMahon ensured Na Fianna secured their share of possession around the middle while Sean Griffin, Jamie Queeney and Eamon Regan were in good form in attack. Na Fianna - Shane Geraghty, Davy Lyons, Fergal Foran, Daniel Gleeson, John Baldwin, Christy Cosgrave, Diarmuid Bailey, Brian Queeney, Ronan McMahon, Robert Walsh, Jamie Queeney (0-6 - from frees), Sean Griffin (1-1), Robert Payne (0-1), Eamon Regan (0-1), Colm Murphy. Subs - Jason henrick for Murphy.

Most Read Stories