Dunshaughlin edge out Duleek

April 16, 2007
A strong second half showing from Dunshaughlin bagged them their first two points in this years Senior Football Championship, as this Group A match-up with Duleek went all the way to the wire. Dunshaughlin 0-11 Duleek 0-08 Getting off to a good start, Dunshaughlin opened the scoring through a free from captain Niall Kelly, swinging over an effort from the right hand side with his left foot. Duleek, whose movement in the forward line was creating space and causing the Dunshaughlin rearguard some concern, replied with two points of their own before Richard Kealy levelled the game at 0-2 apiece. Cathal O'Dwyer converted a free before Duleek hit a purple patch in the second quarter scoring three points without reply to lead by two as halftime approached. Duleek should have had a bigger advantage at this stage but they missed a string of scoreable free to let the Black and Amber side off the hook. But Dunshaughlin showed some character, and through some determined pressure and hard work managed to get two points in as many minutes from Anthony Johnson and David Tonge to go into the break level at 0-5 apiece. Dunshaughlin got off to the better start in the second half with the lively Conor Staunton getting two points. But Duleek weren't going to give up easily and scored another point of their own to which Cathal O'Dwyer replied to with another converted free kick. Dunshaughlin were creating chances but were very wasteful in front of the posts and the number of wides were building up. Entering the last few minutes there was nothing between the sides and points from Richard Kealy, Caoimhin King and Niall Kelly opened up what turned out to be the winning margin. Duleek piled on the pressure as they went in search of scores to try and draw level, but Eamonn Barry's charges were frustrated by some excellent defending from a very familiar Dunshaughlin defense. In the end Dunshaughlin held on to get a valuable win and give Leo Turley his first Championship win as Dunshaughlin manager. Best for Dunshaughlin were Kenny McTigue, Denis Kealy, Anthony Johnson, Raymond Maloney and Richard Kealy. Dunshaughlin: Ronan Gogan, Ferghal Gogan, Kenny McTigue, Michael Aherne, Denis Kealy, Michael McHale, Caoimhin King, Anthony Johnson, Cillian Finn, David Tonge, Niall Kelly, Richard Kealy, Conor Staunton, Raymond Maloney, Cathal O'Dwyer. Referee: Joe Curley

Most Read Stories