Tones beaten by Seneschalstown

August 15, 2005
Wolfe Tones slumped to their second defeat in the SFC when they went down to a hungrier Seneschalstown outfit in Simonstown. Seneschalstown 1-13 Wolfe Tones 0-11 Cian Ward, who was starting his first Championship match since Round 2, opened the scoring with a free kick after Alan Fox was fouled in the opening minute. Gordon Beggy then scored a superb point from play on four minutes to leave Tones 0-2 to 0-1 up but by the 12th minute Seneschalstown had taken a 0-4 to 0-2 lead. Fox and Dowd combined superbly on 15 minutes with Fox firing over before Seneschalstown hit two more points to lead 0-6 to 0-3. Darren McGrath then got his name on the scoresheet following good work by Dowd on 21 minutes. McGinn played in Ward who pointed and John Tiernan pulled the sides level just before the break. Over elaboration in the Tones full back line was punished when Seneschalstown pointed to take a one point lead at half time, 0-7 to 0-6. A long range free from Ward in the second minute levelled matters again but that was short lived as Seneschalstown responded with a Graham Geraghty goal after more confusion in the Tones full back line. This was followed by two more points before Captain Fox pulled one back on 13 minutes. A Tiernan free brought Tones to within a goal of their opponents but again overcarrying in the Tones defence was punished with an easy free kick which was converted to leave Tones 1-10 to 0-09 adrift. Ward and McGinn both scored excellent points as Tones applied pressure before 'keeper Nolan then made a super stop from point blank range but all to no avail as Seneschalstown tagged on three points to run out deserving 1-13 to 0-11 winners. In what was undoubtedly the Tones poorest performance in the championship this year the best on the night were Nolan, Fox and Beggy. Wolfe Tones - David Nolan, Richie Brady, Ciaran McLoughlin, Eoghan Harrington, Barry McGinn 0-1, Niall McLoughlin, Paddy Caffrey, Stephen Corrigan, John Tiernan 0-2, Stephen Sheppard, Alan Fox 0-2, Gordon Beggy 0-1, Darren McGrath 0-1, Tommy Dowd, Cian Ward 0-4. Subs - Joey McKeown for Caffrey, Ciaran Martin for Sheppard.

Most Read Stories