All square in north Meath battle

April 25, 2005
Drumconrath 0-7 Castletown 0-7 h/t 0-2 each In a tough hard hitting encounter a Wayne Reilly pressure kick from 47 metres after a foul on his brother Paddy seen Drumconrath snatch a well dissevered draw in a tense North Meath IFC derby. Castletown started very strongly and points from James Finnerty and Barry Smith led 0-2 to 0-0 after 10 mins and could have been futher ahead but for some gallant Drumconrath defending notably by Kevin Flanagan, Wesley Byrne and Terry Skelly. Paddy Reilly and Austin Hickey slowly began to get into the game at midfield for Drumconrath but for most of the game Castletowns Mick Hickey was the dominant player in this area. Two Wayne Reilly points leveled the game and Drumconrath should have gone in ahead at the break but for a couple of wides from frees by the same player and a good effort by Hickey came back off the post. Castletown where dealt a blow when Brendan Carry got sent off just on half time. Drumconrath dominated the 3rd quarter with Austin Hickey now in command around the middle but the reds forwards never functioned as a unit, points from play from Wayne Reilly, Ronan McGahon and Paul Tighe where answered by a point by Keith Ginnety  to leave it 0-5 to 0-3 as we entered the last quarter. A good spell from Castletown seen them level the game but a Shane Byrne point put the Reds ahead. Again Castletown leveled this time with a long distance free from keeper Jonathon Ginnety and went ahead as Hickey was harshly penalized for picking the ball off the ground as time ran out. One final attack seen the dramatic equalizer as the spoils were shared. Best for Drumconrath Kevin Flanagan, Pete McMahon, Terry Skelly, Austin Hickey and Paul Tighe. Drumconrath: Sean Kane; John McDermott, Kevin Flanagan, Peter Tighe; Terry Skelly, Pete McMahon, Wesley Byrne; Paddy Reilly, Austin Hickey; Ronan McGahon (0-1), Wayne Reilly (0-4), Jamie Myles; Shane Byrne (0-1), Sean Reilly, Paul Tighe (0-1). Subs; Leighton Irwin for S Reilly (inj), Alan Byrne for McDermott, Ollie McMahon for S .Byrne.  Castletown: Jonathon Ginnety; Joey Carry, Noel Farrelly, Francis Bellew; Aidan Carry, Derek Clarke, Stephan Duffy; Mick Hickey, Brendan Carry; Damien Ginnety, Francis Hoey, Keith Ginnety; Wayne Donegan, Barry Smith,James Finnerty; Subs; Alan Smyth for Hoey, Kenny Smith for Donegan, Aiden Young for Smith, David Gargan for Finnerty, Jon Metry for D Ginnety

Most Read Stories